Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert Smalls Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

This school has brought me the best years of my life. The teachers are for the most part good and most understand the kids in their class. The teachers care about the students and the students aspirations. It might not be the best "number wise" but the students that do care excel.


Posted December 4, 2013

this school is ok I mean its not the best school ever. if your thinking about enrolling your kid to RSMS then its a bad idea. school levels are low. I like that we get a little freedom but its like a good looking prison. my school can improve by letting up a little bit and let kids be kids but with rules. at the most this school is a 1 and a half star rating in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

I attended this school for 2 years. I loved most of my teachers, they always went the extra mile to help me with any of my concerns. Personally my favorite teachers were Mrs.Harding & Mr.Mcpherson. Sadly I moved and could not attend this school anymore .


Posted March 23, 2012

My son is in his 2nd year at Robert Smalls. He loves it! He has been on the honor roll the entire time. Teachers are always willing to stay after school for extra help if he needs it. We get newsletters every week telling us what's going on. Awesome teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

This school has some really dedicated folks - the principals, APs, guidance, teachers, school improvement folks, parents and students. Looking forward to hearing more great things about Robert Smalls students.


Posted May 17, 2011

I DONT EVEN KNOW WHERE TO BEGIN! I HAVE HAD ALOT OF PROBLEMS IN THE ONE YEAR THAT MY CHILD HAS GONE TO ROBERTS SMALLS. I HAVE ALL THE TEACHERS EMAILS AND WORK NUMBERS AND YET I ONLY EVER HEAR FROM 2 OF THEM. I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO GET AHOLD OF THE PRINCIPAL OR ANY OF THE TEACHERS DURING SCHOOL HOURS. WHY IS THIS? ESPECIALLY WHEN THE TEACHER HAS CALLED ME BECAUSE OF MY CHILD INTERUPTING CLASS BUT I HAVE TO WAIT FOR SCHOOL TO BE OUT TO BE ABLE TO REACH HER.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

The school does an excellent job of encouraging good behavior. Students get caught in making "GOOD CHOICES" and are rewarded with RAP stickers. After they earn a specific number of stickers they get to attend the "GENERALS" LOUNGE. They also do an excellent job of encouraging parent/family involvement through their various and creative FAMILY nights - SCIENCE NIGHT, HUMANITIES NIGHT, THE ARTS NIGHT(Holiday Hoopla) etc. The office staff are kind, helpful and pleasant when you visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

There are technology classes and lunch is 30 minutes long.


Posted July 16, 2007

not too pleased. Kids only get 23 minutes for lunch! do not feel school is safe enough. no computer or technology classes offered. Beaufort county schools are the worst! no field trips offered!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

My son attended RS this year and had an outstanding experience. Progress reports went out every 2 weeks and parents were mandated to sign them. If I needed to contact a teacher, I just e-mailed them and instantly received a reply. There were plenty of opportunities for volunteer work, there were fliers sent out constantly asking for parents to help. I feel my son received an excellent education, one teacher even switched him to a different class because he felt my son needed to be more challenged. Parental involvement in any school is a must. Kids need to be monitored by both teachers and parents. Teachers teach, parents parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

Robert Smalls is very great. There are many nice students there. I dropped my purse one day in the hall and two students picked it up. I went to each class and every student was very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

I have been very pleased with the classes my daughter is taking, their level of challenge and homework. She is doing very well and loves her teachers. My concern is the lack of contreol maintained over the children between classes. The few times I have been in the school during the dayI have seen kids running and horsing around, without any hint of worry. They are not being held accountable for their behavior. This needs to be firmly addressed and corrected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

I couldn't agree more with the previous review. Control seems to be a major issue as well. I went to a conference right after school was let out and was almost knocked to the ground by students running at full speed down the hall ways, not a teacher in sight. A whole lot different from when I was in middle school. -Concerned Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

The quality of the education received is directly dependent on parental involvement. Push communication with teachers, because it won't happen automatically! This school is bad about communicating with parents and planning conferences last minute so that you can't possibly attend. Discipline is an issue because there are kids there that don't want to be there. They make it harder for everyone else. The school has a lot of security workers, and a fairly good system for communication with each other. I just really had issues with how little communication and opportunities for parental involvement the school has. I even asked HOW I could help, how I could volunteer, but it fell on deaf ears.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students71%
Female76%
Male68%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals84%
Disabled18%
Not disabled77%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant71%

Math

All Students70%
Female73%
Male68%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled6%
Not disabled77%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant70%

Science

All Students49%
Female40%
Male57%
African-American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White61%
Subsidized meals39%
Full-pay meals76%
Disabled9%
Not disabled55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant49%

Social Studies

All Students74%
Female82%
Male67%
African-American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant74%

Writing

All Students68%
Female78%
Male57%
African-American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled24%
Not disabled73%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students59%
Female63%
Male57%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White69%
Subsidized meals54%
Full-pay meals77%
Disabled15%
Not disabled66%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant59%

Math

All Students56%
Female55%
Male56%
African-American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White67%
Subsidized meals49%
Full-pay meals77%
Disabled5%
Not disabled62%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant56%

Science

All Students59%
Female69%
Male52%
African-American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White68%
Subsidized meals52%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabled11%
Not disabled66%
English language learners55%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant59%

Social Studies

All Students57%
Female59%
Male56%
African-American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White64%
Subsidized meals51%
Full-pay meals77%
Disabled11%
Not disabled63%
English language learners55%
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant57%

Writing

All Students60%
Female71%
Male52%
African-American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabled11%
Not disabled67%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students66%
Female74%
Male59%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White73%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabled12%
Not disabled74%
English language learners62%
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant66%

Math

All Students65%
Female70%
Male60%
African-American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White73%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabled12%
Not disabled73%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant65%

Science

All Students63%
Female65%
Male60%
African-American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Subsidized meals58%
Full-pay meals80%
Disabled20%
Not disabled70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant63%

Social Studies

All Students73%
Female78%
Male70%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant73%

Writing

All Students71%
Female74%
Male69%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled6%
Not disabled80%
English language learners54%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 36%
White 35% 53%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43 Wk Alston Rd
Beaufort, SC 29906
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 322-2535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT