Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
1-12
Private
Charleston, SC
Students enrolled: 903
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Porter-Gaud School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
It depends on the teacher. The Honors Spanish teacher is lousy, SOME English teachers are good, girls health teacher is EXCELLENT. Honors Biology teacher, not so good. Technology department- IFFY. Final results, there are good and not so good teachers and I would go so far as to say they have some LOUSY teachers. The elementary school and middle is about the same. Elementary principal is very stubborn.

Porter-Gaud School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
HOMEWORK is ridiculous. Take honors history- at least 4 hours every night. Not to mention all of the other subjects. My son would stay up until 2: 00 am EVERY night.


Porter-Gaud School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Students are completely frustrated. Too much stress on them, too little time spent with the one on one instruction (if any.) They frustrate kids to where they just give up. NOT a healthy EMOTIONAL environment.

Porter-Gaud School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
There is no respect for students. They truly pressure students and the stress is unimaginable. FEW teachers have any compassion for the nature of the child/student.

Porter-Gaud School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Teachers should LEAD with compassion. They do NOT. STRESSING students is the operative word. There is no empathy for the students time nor stress on them. Half od the kids cannot get their homework completed.


Porter-Gaud School 1

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
not really a good school. Not all that it is cracked up to be. Would not recommend. We went here for 12 years and there were plenty of issues.

Porter-Gaud School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
I can't go there. I am on brain drain. There is an unsurmountable amount of work and we even had it over the summer. Go figure.

Porter-Gaud School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
Yea, to get through the day of bullying, drug use and other harassment- not to mention the boring teachers.


Porter-Gaud School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
Are you kidding???? They put videos together of teachers and pass them around. Again, are you kidding?

Porter-Gaud School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
Had trouble with bullying. I am Jewish. Went to guidance early in my middle school years. They do NOTHING. I had plenty of harassment. No one cared. Though they act like the do. They really don;t. They pretty much want C-A-S-H!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Porter-Gaud School
300 Albemarle Road, Charleston, SC  29407
(843) 556-3620
Last modified Porter-Gaud School is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Porter-Gaud School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top