Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-12|Private
903 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Porter-Gaud School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
I would like to say thanks facetiously to the Spanish teacher who is truly cruel and not a good teacher at all. She is married to the Admissions man so she gets away with this type of behavior.

Porter-Gaud School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
I have a great amount of disrespect for the Spanish teacher. She is married to the Admissions Director and there is a lot of inbreeding in the school. Somebody is related to somebody...they are all related in some way. I do not think this is good.


Porter-Gaud School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
It is COMPLETELY unreasonable and my son stays awake until 2 in the morning (as a freshman) to complete homework. Also, they have no comprehension about a student coming from another school. They think that student should be in the same place as the other students. Ain;t gonna happen.

Porter-Gaud School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
The amount of homework and the lack of respect only teaches them to hat the school even more. This is an unreasonable school. They need to individualize more....they only individualize when YOU PAY for tutoring. In a school that charges this much money, there should be NO TUTORING. The teachers should make sure the kid understands.

Porter-Gaud School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
Respect for one another is a joke. They have no respect for kids, how can they teach respect. This is especially true of the Spanish teacher. She is very disrespectful to parents and students.


Porter-Gaud School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
I believe they talk about it in Chapel mostly, but kids really cheat and the language is horrible for a Christian based school. I am horrified that my sone has to go through this. We do not have those kinds of things go on in our home.

Porter-Gaud School 1

Posted January 24, 2016
- a community member
My son started this year after going to another school across town. It has been very difficult in transition and the staff did VERY LITTLE to help my son. I think I made a BIG MISTAKE.

Porter-Gaud School 1

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
I would have to say, I agree with the other kids at school. We don't know what it is like in a any other school cause we go here and have all our lifes


Porter-Gaud School
Grateful to: Student

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Okay, we all agreed that we would write something. I guess I mostly agree with the other kids. I really don't have anyone to thank- maybe my parents for paying and helping me get through.

Porter-Gaud School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 12, 2015
- a student
They have favorites. They do NOT teach. Oh, Hyde will tell you the teachers care, but they don't- believe me! He needs to get a life. I can only think of three teachers my whole time here that I liked.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Porter-Gaud School
300 Albemarle Road, Charleston, SC  29407
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (843) 556-3620
Last modified Porter-Gaud School is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Top