Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Island Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
JIES is such a neat school! The principal is a nice and knowledgeable person. During the times I have spoken with her at school events, she seems like she's an advocate for the children. The teachers are too. Our kids are thriving in this environment! They always come home excited about the fun STEAM stuff they do in class! They are becoming well-rounded learners. We are excited about the new school year! I am proud to call JIES our home!

James Island Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a teacher
What a great school. They truly love students and teach them social skills.It goes above and beyond.


James Island Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2016
- a teacher
This is a great STEAM school that does have resources for students who qualify that are low or high. This is the most diverse school in the district and that shows in the diversity in gifted students. There are so many positive things happening at JIES. Go check it out before making a decision.

James Island Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 10, 2016
- a teacher
We are all very proud of Dr. Davis Fickling!! She is an extraordinary Principal! Congrats on receiving your Doctorate!

James Island Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 10, 2016
- a teacher
This school is full of teachers who are there on their own time for hours. This school has the hardest working staff in the district.


James Island Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a teacher
This school is on the cutting edge of technology, and science. They love getting students excited and the students love learning even when it is difficult.

James Island Elementary School 2

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
JIES was great during the 1st year my child attended. Her teacher was phenomenal!! Informative, connected, available & showed genuine interest in my childs education & well being. The past 2 years/teachers have gone from bad to worse. The teachers are cracking jokes & literally laughing aloud during one IEP plan meeting. The principal was there yet when her supervisor asked if my child had an IEP & she replied, "No" Her teacher offers no positive feedback. The data clerk is not responsible or professional. The school has programs for overachievers yet JIES has no programs for students with learning disabilities.

James Island Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
The whole staff goes above and beyond. We love the steam days! Please continue the great work!


James Island Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
This is a great school. The teachers were wonderful and caring. The outdoor classroom is a plus.

James Island Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
This school has a bunch of awesome teachers and staff that develop honesty, integrity and fairness in its students! They are: Principal Fickling, Ms Boyd, Mrs. Mayshack, Mrs Williams, Ms Harley, Mrs. Boyd, and Mr. Harrington. They all went above and beyond with my family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Island Elementary School
1872 Grimball Rd, Charleston, SC  29412
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. (843) 762-8240
Last modified James Island Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top