Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Griggs Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 528 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2014

I love Griggs Road. We left Charlotte b/c of overcrowding, teachers who just don't really care and my kid being overlooked so none-learning students could get more attention. Love the small town community and teachers (minus 1 or 2), principal and staff are wonderful. Always greeted with a smile by front desk, principal seems to k ow almost every students name and friendly to me when I visit. Mrs. GLEN always smiling when you enter. My son's teachers always take time to answer my emails and offer help, I love that they offer tutoring classes. Just wish some of the parents would take responsibility for their own children's actions and discipline when needed, teachers ARE NOT babysitters. Overall a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Griggs Road Elementry is a great school with great Teachers. My son has Mrs. Peterson this year and we are off to another great start. The office staff is so helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

This school is the best, I couldn't be any happier with the Griggs Road! The teachers and staff are so friendly and great with the children. Both my children wake up happy to go to school and learn. My son has progressed greatly duue to the awesome teachers that he has had. The only thing I would want more of is, after-school programs such as music lessons, specialty classes. I would even pay for them if they were available. My vote is for Griggs!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

Despite a great beginning, this school did not live up to it's reputation for us. I have a straight A student and teachers during our first couple of years really worked with him and encouraged his abilities. Too bad this year we had a teacher that saw him as a chance to relax and let him float along. His scores were still high but we saw a 50% reduction in his growth rate when compared to his first three years there. We opted to choose private school next year. In doing so, we needed to get transcripts and letters of recommendation. The mood definitely changed after that - no longer were we welcomed with hellos and smiles, it became forced kindness or simple silence. What a shame. We did have some great teachers but ran into a poor one this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Griggs Road Elementary is special-mainly due to the love and attention given by the staff. Your child is not only learning but also being given the love that you would give at home. The first thing your child is given at birth--is love and attention--and it goes on at tis school. I am never worried about leaving my child at school-because I know they will be given what we give at our home. How great a feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Absolute BEST Teachers & Staff! Just like Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

My son's Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Adams was the best teacher ever, and her assistant, Mrs. Deal was awesome also. They use positive reinforcement vs. negative punishment whenever possible. The staff and parents are friendly but clickish. A lot of pressure on the test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My son is in the Developmental Kindergarten for special needs children, and I couldn't be more thrilled with the teachers. Not to mention, I have been trying to find a program for my son for 2 years in York County, and went through Psychologists, Play Therapy, the list goes on. When my son started this year, I tried not to get too excited for fear of another failed attempt to help him, but Ms. Gibson and her Assistant Teachers have exceeded my expectations and my son is thriving. Also, they have an Autism Specialist on staff. The program slowly integrates my son into mainstream, which has been wonderful. My only qualms were with the Speech Department. My son tested at a 3 yr.old level and was denied treatment. However, those are state-regulated guidelines and would be the same at any school in S.C.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Just like most people, at first look I was impressed with this school. Parent involvement is high here and there is beautiful artwork gracing the halls as proof of artistic achievement, however if your child has special needs, then theres a good chance that this school will disappoint you. Some of the teachers do not seem to want to accomodate a child that requires a little extra assistance. Everything is rosy at this school until you disagree with the powers that be and then your liable to see it rear it's ugly head!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

I was impressed with Griggs when my son started Pre-K, I found his teacher and assistant did great with all the children in his class. I never had to worry that he wasn't going to like school. They made it fun and enjoyable and he LOVED going, however I was not so lucky in his kindergarten teacher. I found her to be condescending to me as a parent and less than supervisory with the children. My son grew to hate getting up in the morning, he refused to work (learn) for her, yet would continue to do wonderfully for me. I have since had to pull him out of Griggs Rd. and put him in another school and he is flourishing there as well. Be aware parents that even in the best of school districts,& the best of schools there are teachers that underestimate their power on our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

One of the best public elementary schools in the state if not the nation! Continues to accumulate Palmetto Achievement awards for high academic standards. Has always exceeded the No Child Left Behind standard. Has a strong, five days a week, 'Gifted & Talented' program that would rival any private school, grades 3-10. Administrative leadership, led by Mrs. Pam Cato, Principal, is outstanding, kids are their number one priority instead of just trying to look good on paper. In my opinion, this is the 'why' they achieve such high academic standards. Another great attribute to this school is its Parent Teacher Organization. The parents here get involved. It shows in the schools grounds beautification program and extracurricular activities such as Santa's Shop, book fairs and field day, the end of the year 'fun-for-all.' You can't do any better for an elementary school or school district in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I have been involved with Griggs road for 2 years now.I am amazed daily at the level of this school.The staff is incredible.They truley care about your children and do their best to provide the children with a great education! I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this school! I know alot of children in alot of different schools and the children in griggs are way ahead of what other children are learning.As a parent you can be as involved as you want to be. This is deffintly a school worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

I would just like to say that this is the last year for my son at Griggs Road. It is an excellent school since pre-k until 4th grade. I have enjoyed the years here. The teachers are excellent and have always had great leadership. Thank you for making the years at Grigg Road some wonderful years and adding much success to my son's life. Thank you and we will miss you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

From the front secretary to the cafeteria workers, this school has highly impressed me. My son's kindergarden teacher and assistant are so very organized in everything. I don't mind paying for snacks considering they consists of anything from poptarts to chicken rice soup, or hot macaroni and cheese! Again, I am highly impressed with the overall organization and friendliness of everyone I've met so far here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students96%
Female94%
Male100%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Subsidized meals90%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%

Math

All Students87%
Female85%
Male91%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%

Science

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female89%
Male93%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals83%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%

Writing

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals90%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students92%
Female88%
Male96%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals99%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
African-American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant95%

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
African-American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female95%
Male96%
African-American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%

Writing

All Students87%
Female95%
Male79%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students86%
Female91%
Male83%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled70%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant86%

Math

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled50%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant84%

Science

All Students75%
Female79%
Male73%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant75%

Social Studies

All Students85%
Female75%
Male95%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals87%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant85%

Writing

All Students84%
Female91%
Male79%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled50%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 53%
Black 8% 36%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Griggs Rd
Clover, SC 29710
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 222-5777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT