Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Peters Catholic School

Private | PK-6 | 114 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $161,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2013

Committed to each child, a warm and encouraging environment for young children. A place where love and discipline go hand in hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

Our children have attended St. Peter's since k4. One has already graduated and now attends Cardinal Newman. Our other child is graduating this year. I can tell you the St. Peter's is the best education for the dollar when you compare private education. The school gets better every year. Programs have been brought in from USC, Junior Achievement, The Ballet school, the USC Music School. They have an Art Program that is outstanding! I am a very proud parent of St. Peter's. The academics are great as measured by the national test scores. St. Peter's is a secret in Columbia for the best education. We need to get the word out and let others benefit from our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

Our daughter has been at St. Peter's since K4 and is finishing 5th grade this year and will proudly graduate next year. The academics have been great as her standardized test scores have been as high as the 12th grade level. The teachers are challenging, but fair The atmosphere is a terrific combination of discipline and caring for evreryone. The older students take care of the younger students and the teachers know evreryone in the entire school not just thier own class. The religious teaching has been very good for both Catholic children and non-Catholic children. At St. Peter's our daughter has not encountered things that she might at others schools such as bad language, drugs, bullying and a lot of kids that mis-behave. Respect for yourself and others is very apparent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

After my first visit to St. Peter s, I knew that I had found the perfect school for my daughter. While I am not Catholic, having my daughter attend a Christian school that is also academically competitive was a major factor in my choosing St. Peter s. My daughter is learning so much; but more importantly, she is getting the education in a traditional Christian environment. The teachers and staff at St. Peter s are exceptional. And because of the small class sizes, all the teachers and staff at St. Peter s seem to know all the students. In today s climate, even the school-wide celebration of holidays like Christmas and Easter at St. Peter s is something we do not take for granted. My daughter absolutely loves going to St. Peter s. Not once have I regretted sending her to St. Peter s Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

My child has attended St. Peters for over 5 years and during that time, we have watched him grow into a mature young adult. This school places a strong emphasis on personal growth, responsibility, structure, and most importantly, faith and spiritual development. The current principal has done a great job guiding this school over the past three years and improved the curriculum, structure, and morale. She is a compassionate administrator who is willing to both listen and work with the students (and parents) on any issue. The school is also in a great location in downtown Columbia. I would highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

I am currently the parent of 2 children in this school and have been involved with this school for many years. This is truly a faith filled, nurturing, academically excellent environment for the students. ALL the teachers take every aspect of the child's growth seriously as they provide a rigorous learning environment. The school DOES use (this has never changed) the ITBS (not IBTS as the last review stated) testing in the fall so teachers can use those test scores to help individualize instruction for the remaining part of the year. Our current principal is amazing and has taken this school is a direction that fosters learning and excellence in all areas of child development. I highly recommend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I was a parent of a child here from k5 until 6th grade. So I have much experience with the school (including 3 principals). First the positives, the school curriculum is very strong in most classes. The accelerated reader program is great and really encouraged my child to read more and more. Most teachers are very committed (esp. the 4,5,6 grade group). The classrooms are extremely well behaved with a great spritual and ethical atmosphere. I really enjoyed most years. The bad: math in the lower grades was just OK, they have moved from the nationally recognized IBTS scores which is one reason I enrolled my child. I am not impressed with how they compare to other terrible South Carolina schools. Now my biggest complaint.. the current principal HAS NOT taken the school in a good direction. From changing the IBTS, to generally not caring what parents have to say or think. This has gone from a great school with an engaged parent population, to one where there is one person who toots her own horn (a lot) but doesn't engage her stakeholders. I can't believe this is good for any organization. I used to recommend this school to all my friends, now I can no longer do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My son has been a student at St. Peter's for six years now. Although we are not Catholic, we chose St. Peter's for the small size, great location, nurturing environment and academic program that includes music, art and Spanish language instruction. The music program is a cooperative program with the USC Music Education Department and is a real jewel in the programming at St. Peter's. The current principal arrived in May of 2009 and has taken the school in a great direction, improving morale all around, delevoping the curriculum to meet (or exceed) state standards and enforcing high standards for behavior and acheivement in a loving and compassionate way. My son is thriving in this atmosphere and making great progress in all areas but particularly writing and math. He will be wel prepared for middle school no matter where he goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

We have sent our daughter to St. Peter's for two years and have been very pleased. Yes, there have been some problems with past administration and funding, but all schools face this whether public or private - especially in the ecomomic climate of the past few years. We've known the staff to be caring and NOT overly harsh with the students, and we are very pleased with what our daughter is learning. And as far as not following SC state curriculum, I have seen little or no evidence that it's worthy to do so...our public schools are terrible and among the worst in the country - not an example to be following. We truly love the spiritual enviornment and structure the school provides and are happy to support the St. Peter's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I am very pleased with St. Peter's. There is a new energy and excitement with the new principal this year. I have seen many positive changes. This is our third year at St. Peters. The teachers are outstanding and very caring. I am always treated like a customer, with excellent customer service and response. Regarding homeless population- Yes, I was very worried about this before my children started school. I feel very safe with them at St Peters. There is a fence around the school (homeless are not on the grounds) and the front door is always locked. Visitors must be let in by office staff. I am very pleased with St Peters and would highly recommend to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I am a retired education administrator and teacher who is working as a volunteer at St. Peter's school. The school has a new principal for 2009/2010 as well as two new teachers and a librarian. All are great additions to the staff. This is a wonderful school with small classes and nurturing teachers. There is an air of high expectations and infusion of new curriculum initiatives under strong leadership for this school year.


Posted January 5, 2008

I'm relieved to see other parents expressing some concerns about this school. I wondered whether I was being overly critical. The downtown location is convenient for parents who work downtown, and the children do get first-hand exposure to homeless people who loiter on the sidewalks surrounding the school. There really wasn't much leadership under the former principal so there was little change for years. There is a new principal now, but she seems to be off at conferences every-other week. We'll see how the school evolves over the ensuing years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2007

I second the concerns expressed by other parents and former parents of students at St. Peters. The parents who stay seem satisfied, but there is a high degree of student churn and parents who expect more from a school quickly realize St. Peters is not a good choice. Being a private school, they don't follow the SC state curriculum, and they don't take the PACT. So, I know several students who, when they left for public school, had to re-take their most recent grade. Ouch. And parents pay for this sub-par education. Well, we did too until the deficits became obvious. The school boasts about their students' standarized scores, but since the parents who send their children there tend to have bright kids, it makes sense. Just because the kids are bright doesn't mean the school is helping them grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My child attended St. Peters from first through fifth grade. The quality of instruction is very uneven and teacher-dependent. There are some fine teachers, and some truly incompetent ones. The overall tone of the school seems negative (obsessioin with silence, punishment) and defensive. We left with a very bitter taste in our mouths. I recommend St. Peters only as a last resort (and there are always other options).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

St. Peter's has had its problems being an inner city school with no real 'neighborhood' but it is now under new leadership with a new principal, new construction is underway , and the overall academic excellence in a very small setting remains strong. St. Peter's builds character and the teachers seem to really love the children. My niece has been there 3 years and it was a good fit for us. I strongly recommend this school. Ina Fort
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

This school is has a great approach to academic, but seem to be pretty desperate for money. The overall quality is decreasing slowly but surely. There is no way to retain the current teacher talents with this type of strain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

This is a very good school. My child along with others are very happy with the school. Hope that this sad person did send their child to the below adverage public school in the area where guns, drugs, and fights are the norm for the public education system. This school is in the heart of the down town of Columbia. We Do Not have the need for a police officer to be stationed at the school, as all public schools have.That in it self shows the great love for each other and teachers that come from this school. The only spirit when you walk through the doors is happiness and friendliness which can be seen every day at this fine school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

I know that a lot of parents are unhappy with St. Peter's, but I and my children have had nothing but positive experiences with the school. The K4 & K5 programs are fantastic, with great and caring teachers. I like the school's small size, too. My only hope is that the school keeps the wonderful teachers that they have left (I understand several good teachers were let go at the end of the school year). Parents need to get more involved as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 50%
Black 26% 43%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Two or more races 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1035 Hampton St
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 252-8285

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hall Institute
Columbia, SC



Islamic Academy of Columbia
West Columbia, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT