Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sedgefield Intermediate School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
Our son attended Sedgefield Intermediate School in 2006-2009 and our daughter is in her second year at the school. I cannot say enough good things about this school and its staff. My children have had an amazing experience here. Not only did they receive great educational instruction they also learned values that will serve them well in life. My son was in the honors program and it was a fantastic educational experience that has lead him through his years of school. Both of our children have enjoyed the library and after school clubs. The principals during our time there were great leaders. The current principal Mr. Eddings is always involved around the school helping the children and you can tell he truly cares. I loved having the opportunity to help in the classroom and at school events. The teachers are top-notch. Our time at Sedgefield Intermediate has been wonderful and I would not hesitate to recommend Sedgefield Intermediate School.

Sedgefield Intermediate School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
Mrs. Hohorst has taught both my children. She is an amazing teacher who is impacting children's lives in a remarkable way.


Sedgefield Intermediate School 4

Posted November 23, 2014
- a teacher
My school is great because we have 50 dedicated teachers, a new administration and a program that supports confidence and success with all of the students. Grades are improving and discipline problems are down.

Sedgefield Intermediate School 3

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
Well, last year I had a major problem with the teacher. Mrs. Garvin. I explained to her on meet the teacher night the issues my child has, and was brushed off. Well, her grades, from the first progress report, until the 3rd quarter were failing. Kept asking, writing notes, and emails, and got responses that had nothing to do with what I was asking. The final straw? I wrote her a note specifically asking the different things I wanted to know. Also let her know I've never had a teacher act like I was attacking her when I'm just trying to figure out the prob in class. She put my 8 yr old in front of the class, and read the note out loud, to the ENTIRE class. Which humiliated and embarrassed her to no end. The principal actually sided with the teacher!!!! I cantacted the board of Ed. And removed her from class. She did great in the new class.

Sedgefield Intermediate School 1

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
I have very little respect for the principal of this school. My daughter had sever eczema, and was constantly the target of bullying and teasing from the other children. When she spoke up to these children, it often resulted in a shouting match in which she was punished but the other child was not. When I held a conference with the principal, my daughter, and my daughter's teacher and brought this up, the principal looked at my daughter and told her that she brought too much attention onto herself because she scratched her skin all the time. My daughter, with severe eczema, was basically told she should not scratch her skin (not because it can cause bleeding or worsen the itching, but) because it drew attention from the other kids who were teasing and bullying!


Sedgefield Intermediate School 2

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
I am not as impressed as the above parents. I am open to the idea it might be isolated but i am not going to be convinced at my child's expense. I have spoken to my child's teachers on numerous occasions regarding my involvement and keeping me informed to no avail. My childs grades are dropping at an alarming rate with no contact or apparent concern from the teachers. Everytime i am at the school I am greeted with wonderfully gracious smiles but I need them to part their teeth and talk to me abt my child, so that i as the parent can correct the situation at home. For future or tenative parents: you must do more than talk to the teachers, you must randomly come to the classrooms. You must insist on getting a weekly report if not daily! which the latter of the 3 I did not.

Sedgefield Intermediate School 5

Posted July 10, 2006
- a teacher
Sedgefield Intermediate is an outstanding school full of dedicated teachers and administrators. It was wonderful teaching there. Excellent support creates excellent students! What a great school!

Sedgefield Intermediate School 5

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
This is a wonderful school for children to attend. I have had 2 children go through this school already one that is currently there and other child that will start here next year. The teachers as well as the staff have a great concern and nuturing ablity for these children. Also they make sure the parents are welcomed and informed. It is a great school experience for the child as well as the parents.

Nearby schools

Sedgefield Intermediate School
225 Garwood Dr, Goose Creek, SC  29445
(843) 820-4090
Last modified Sedgefield Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top