Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tanglewood Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2013

no matter what anyody thinks about tanglewood it is a great school and i would recomend that anybody looking for a school to go there they have amazong teachers who take time to help either before or after school as well as have days deticated to letting parents come and visit and though they may have fights every school does and they have a strong and wonderful leadership in the building they have assemblys just to talk to the kids about grades and where we stand as well as incintives for the student who obey the rules


Posted December 23, 2011

Tanglewood is thhe most unfair school in greenville!!!! The principal is the worst of all she walkes around eating cupcakes just looking for trouble!!!!!! AND I HATE THE P.E. TEACHER!!!!! She just thinkes the world belongs to her!!!


Posted May 12, 2010

Tanglewood Middle School has been said to have a bad reputaion. That may be true but all schools have difficulties. Administration, parents, and students are all trying to relieve us from that reputation. Bad things do happen at Tanglewood but bad things happen at every school. While there are problems there is also a lot more good. People only focus on the bad things and don't take time to notice the greatness that the school has. So many people give Tanglewood bad crticism that it really does not deserve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2010

I use to go to Tanglewood Middle School and it was great. Now I am in high school but when I went there it was a great school. I had a lot of fun in that school and felt very safe. The teacher's there are great. I went since 6th grade and to me the school got better every year. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

Tanglewood is on the move upward with clear directions and leadership. Implimenting new programs and adjusting others will bring Pride in the school once more. Come and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Tanglewood has a lot of wonderful things going on. PBIS is being implemented and parents are more concerned and involved. The new principal and administration are really a plus in the right direction. Students are getting used to a different, yet positive school environment. It's a hidden/unrealized jewel in Greenville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

I go to Tanglewood this year. I'm in the 7th grade and will go to the 8th grade next year! The teachers are wonderful! They are all helpful. Even the teacher I don't have want to know how I am and how my grades are. We have wonderful principals, They work hard to keep everyone in line. Teachers are willing to stay after and help you with your work. Middle school is hard and the stuff at tanglewood are there and ready every morning to help you learn and do whatever they can to help you. I'll cry the day I leave. I'll cry this next week when I have to leave my 7th grade teachers. I alway feel safe at the school! We do have a new school, It's our first year in it. I LOVE TANGLEWOOD!!!!!!! I will always love it!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2004

I agree this school is horrible. It is racially biased and unacceptable if you would like your child to have a good education. I removed both of my children from this school. These people are trained to look the other way on most situations. They have multiple fights daily as well as less than adequate facilities. Please don't misunderstand that some of the teachers at this school are very concerned for the students, others it is apparent they are not. Please find a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

My daughter attended Tanglewood Middle School for two years. (We moved-job transfer) The building was very old. I hear they are getting a new school built. The teachers at Tanglewood really care about the students. My daughter's math teacher was very concerned when my child's grade dropped. We had several conferences. Her teacher volunteered to stay after school and tutor her for free. When I couldn't get off work to pick her up, the teacher brought her home! My daughter's other teachers were great also. Middle school is a tough time for kids. The administration did an excellent job of monitoring the kids behaviors. When you are dealing with that many kids, you have to choose your battles. My daughter felt safe at Tanglewood. She has not had such a caring & involved staff at a school since.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2004

Students go wild. No dicipline except if they are caught red handed others not diciplined if they are smart enought to outwit teachers and believe me thats not hard I have a child that attends there it is a terrible school and needs to be tore down.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
40%
Writing

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students49%
Female56%
Male45%
African-American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White60%
Subsidized meals51%
Full-pay meals44%
Disabled16%
Not disabled59%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English47%
Not migrant49%

Math

All Students46%
Female51%
Male42%
African-American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White43%
Subsidized meals49%
Full-pay meals33%
Disabled8%
Not disabled57%
English language learners51%
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant46%

Science

All Students39%
Female36%
Male43%
African-American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
White42%
Subsidized meals43%
Full-pay meals24%
Disabled8%
Not disabled48%
English language learners39%
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant39%

Social Studies

All Students46%
Female54%
Male42%
African-American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals22%
Disabled15%
Not disabled55%
English language learners60%
Proficient in English43%
Not migrant46%

Writing

All Students49%
Female63%
Male40%
African-American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White51%
Subsidized meals51%
Full-pay meals44%
Disabled10%
Not disabled61%
English language learners51%
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
African-American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White68%
Subsidized meals56%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabled21%
Not disabled65%
English language learners71%
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant58%

Math

All Students51%
Female42%
Male58%
African-American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White54%
Subsidized meals52%
Full-pay meals44%
Disabled10%
Not disabled58%
English language learners79%
Proficient in English40%
Not migrant51%

Science

All Students58%
Female57%
Male59%
African-American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White68%
Subsidized meals57%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabled17%
Not disabled66%
English language learners74%
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant58%

Social Studies

All Students47%
Female43%
Male50%
African-American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White62%
Subsidized meals47%
Full-pay meals56%
Disabled21%
Not disabled52%
English language learners57%
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant47%

Writing

All Students56%
Female67%
Male47%
African-American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White61%
Subsidized meals55%
Full-pay meals67%
Disabled19%
Not disabled62%
English language learners62%
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students44%
Female48%
Male41%
African-American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White61%
Subsidized meals43%
Full-pay meals57%
Disabled16%
Not disabled49%
English language learners41%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant44%

Math

All Students42%
Female47%
Male37%
African-American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White57%
Subsidized meals40%
Full-pay meals57%
Disabled16%
Not disabled46%
English language learners48%
Proficient in English40%
Not migrant42%

Science

All Students41%
Female45%
Male37%
African-American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Subsidized meals37%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled44%
English language learners28%
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant41%

Social Studies

All Students58%
Female60%
Male56%
African-American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Subsidized meals58%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled44%
Not disabled61%
English language learners62%
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant58%

Writing

All Students52%
Female59%
Male45%
African-American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White70%
Subsidized meals51%
Full-pay meals58%
Disabled17%
Not disabled58%
English language learners48%
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 36%
Hispanic 26% 7%
White 19% 53%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (864) 355-4512

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44 Merriwoods Dr
Greenville, SC 29611
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 355-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Legacy Charter School
Greenville, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT