Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Westminster Catawba Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 470 students

Our school is best known for being a vibrant, Christ-centered community.

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Rock Hill

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

I am a student in 9th grade at WCCS. I think that it's a good school with a good environment. The teachers are nice and are good at teaching their subject. Because the school isn't as large as some other public schools, I am able to get to know the other students better. I feel like I'm learning a lot in my classes, and I am able to get to know my teachers as well. I think that Westminster Catawba Christian School is a great school with a friendly environment for the students there.


Posted February 8, 2014

I am a WCCS parent of three children spanning from grade school to high school. We have been at the school for over nine years, and all of our children have been at WCCS since Kindergarten. We are very well-informed about what is offered at other schools in the area, and I can honestly say that the academics, environment, and integration of a Christian world view at WCCS are outstanding. The teachers are phenomenal, dedicated, well-qualified individuals who love the Lord and love the kids. Most of them have Master's degrees, and some at the high school level have doctorates. The high school honors classes have been excellent. The school has improved tremendously in the last year under the leadership of the highly-qualified interim head of school, and the new head of school has an excellent track record of exceptional leadership at another competitive private school in the area. As parents, we are excited to see what additional positive changes will come under the incoming head of school. WCCS is filled with great kids, kind, smart teachers, and caring administrators who make sending your kids to school a joy for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Thank God for the wonderful changes at WCCS. We have been at WCCS for our entire school experience (10 years so far) and although we went through a trying time under the previous administration where we were concerned about the school, we couldn't be happier now. The academic standards under the new administration are higher than they have ever been, and they even have a highly qualified former university professor teaching the AP and Honors math courses. The current administration is very focused on providing a top quality education in a strongly Christian environment and you can see the results in the attitudes and behavior of the students. I would not hesitate to recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

WCCS has academic standards set very low. I have seen students struggle when they get to college because they are not prepared to handle the academics at a higher level. From the administration on down, there is a notion that they are doing you a favor by allowing your child to attend WCCS and assumptions are always made that parents or children are the ones with problems, not the school. The administration and particularly the board, fails to honestly assess their strengths and weaknesses, instead they simply decide that everything they do is good and if people fail to recognize it then they must be stupid. Enrollment has declined by over 50% in the last 5 years so the school focuses on new families that are new to the community or church to replace the ever turning revolving door that exists at the school. I do not recommend WCCS nor do I see Christian characteristics coming from either the administration or support staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

The kids at my school are friendly and welcoming. The teachers are really nice and take the time to explain difficult things. The teams are good--the volleyball team just won the state championship. The Bible instruction is helpful and the teachers are good at helping us understand hard concepts. The play was amazing. Kids from here get into really good colleges.


Posted October 14, 2013

WCCS recently hosted Pastors Appreciation Day during chapel. It was amazing to see over 30 pastors from different churches attend the chapel service, and then gather with students from their congregation to pray with them. I am so glad that WCCS addresses students spiritual needs while at the same time offering strong academic training.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

A fresh breeze is blowing at Westminster Catawba Christian School with the change in administration. There has been a return to Christ-centered values and solid teaching. The academic focus has produced increased scores on national exams. There has always been a sweet spirit on the elementary campus and now we feel that same camaraderie and trust on the middle and high school campus. The students are wonderful kids who are valued. Teachers put forth significant effort to meet individual needs of their students. We truly believe the Lord has called us to be here. We know there is always room for improvement, but I am so very grateful for this place!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2013

WCCS is a problematic institution. It is surprising that it has muddled through the dirt thus far. The problem is quite obvious. Instead of dealing with parenting or faculty concerns, depending on who you are, any genuine concerns that the leaders don't want to hear are covered up, marginalized, ignored, etc. In other words nothing ever gets dealt with leaving the school always in damage control mode. The other problem is too much negative church control. The administration constantly has to play politics between the church and board not allowing them the opportunity to lead. The best solution is for.someone .someone to for.someone to buy out the school from the church like several other christian schools have done and watch wccs take off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

Westminster has been a school where our children have thrived. As any parent knows, each child is unique and the interests and God-given talents they possess are better developed when they are given an opportunity to express them in a supportive community. My children have attended WCCS for 6 years and in that time I have seen them grow leadership and character through the classes, Bible studies, student government, the stage, sports and a terrific Odyssey of the Mind program. I am also a huge fan of the school's emphasis on expanding my kids global view. A student exchange program that brings foreign students to study at WCCS brought 13 students from China, South Korea, Vietnam, & Spain last year and international missions opportunities are offered annually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

Our family moved here two years ago from a wonderful Christian school. We chose WCCS for our son for a couple of reasons. The main reason was that WCCS is a Christian school. We wanted him to stay in an environment that teaches a Christian world view rather than a secular one. The other reason we selected WCCS was that our previous Head of School impressed upon us the importance of choosing an accredited school with SACS and ACSI. Lastly, the tuition was not nearly as much as the Christian schools in Charlotte. Our daughter, who tried a year of public school her freshman year, is now attending WCCS as well. She said it feels like she came back home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

My youngest child will graduate from WCCS this year. Both of my children went all the way from preschool to graduation there, and I am so thankful. My husband and I have enjoyed a wonderful partnership with the school and have never had a moment of regret with regards to sending our children there! They have received a well-rounded education in a safe and nurturing environment. Because of the size, they have established meaningful relationships that will last a lifetime. Thanks to WCCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Westminster Catawba Christian has outstanding Christian teachers. We moved our three children to WCCS this year. Our expectations have been exceeded. The teachers provide a strong academic class setting and a biblical world view. The children are taught in a loving environment. The people at WCCS have been a huge blessing to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Our first year at WCCS has been outstanding! The teachers here are so caring and have really made our experience here so great. Our son is learning so much and enjoys going to school. He can't wait for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

I am a former graduate of Westminster. I believe that I'm entitled to dedicate one of my first sentences of this review to explain how upset I am by this school, and how much it has declined since I started there. I began attending Westminster when I was in 4-year old kindergarden. I attended for my entire schooling, and also graduated there as I stated before. I used to love this school. I made many friends throughout the years who I still am contacted with today. What I am here to write about is the administration. I cannot explain how this school and its administration irritates me. The administration has completely fallen and lost all track of caring for students and having a godly attitude in anything that they do. I beg of you to not send your children here, because you will definitely regret it. I absolutely despised my Junior and Senior year, as I learned absolutely nothing. Very few good teachers remain. Be weary.


Posted December 4, 2012

My family has been committed to a Christian education for our children. After our experience at WCCS we are now rethinking our commitment. Our children have attended WCCS since preschool and all seemed to be well at the school until the current administration entered the picture. We have since experienced poor teaching practices, favoritism of students and teachers, and morally bankrupt leadership. We have been required to hire private tutors for certain classes because of the poor teaching. Enrollment has dropped drastically low, way lower than the number you have listed on your website. Good teachers remain, but many have been let go replaced with poor teachers that fall in line with the administration's agenda. If we could start over we would have attended public school. It couldn't be any worse than our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

I am a student at WCCS. I have been at this school my whole life. I used to love it. The students are very close because of the size of the school. The teachers used to be close to the students. If you had a problem you could always go to one of the teachers you were closest to and get help. Then the new administration came. Now many of the wonderful teachers are gone, replaced by poor teachers. They are not aloud to be as close to the students. There have been many incidents between students. The administration doesn't do anything about it. The teachers let the students get away with things they do just like the administration such as bullying. The administration, I know for a fact, has threatened people too. They have coaches that definitely do not show Christian characteristics making some students scared and not want to play sports. The dress code is different now because the old one was not even enforced and neither is this one. There is so much more negative than positive at this school now. I wish I could warn you more about it. Christian school? It either needs to live up to its name or remove the Christian part. That is going down hill fast. I am ready to leave.


Posted November 24, 2012

As a former student, I have to say that WCCS really prepared me academically for college-level work. I currently attend a state university and the work here is nothing compared to the rigorous work I did in my high school years. Unfortunately, their science and math department is a bit lacking. Teachers are highly critical of the theory of evolution and they will probably shove Young Earth Creationism down your throat every chance they get. However, you WILL learn how to write, study, work hard, and organize yourself professionally. The school is also terribly lacking in diversity of opinion within the student body. Like any high school there are tons of bullies, cliques, and very hypocritical "two-faced" individuals who ridicule anyone who is "different" which can really wreck one's spiritual life after years of dealing with it. Students will have some tearful Christian "revivals" one day and then be calling each other names and going out getting wasted and partying the very next. Luckily, there are a few teachers who are incredibly friendly and supportive and make the long, hard journey worth it all.


Posted September 15, 2012

There is an astonishing level of immoral activity on the part of the "leadership team". How this school retains the title "Christian" I find hard to understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

I can only speak to the Westminster Campus since my children have only attended there; they are in their third year at WCCS. I have had firsthand experience in some of the classrooms and also have come to know some of the teachers personally and I can tell you these people love the Lord and they are dedicated to teaching our children. I see them working long hours and continue to display the fruits of the spirit to all they encounter. They are concerned about each child and how they themselves are affecting the children and the people around them for Christ. If you are looking for an elite private school makes parents feel like their child will only be groomed to be leaders of a worldly culture(because they pay tuition), this may not be the school for you. If you are looking for a school that focuses on the glory of God and creating leaders for Christ, and academics, then WCCS is for you. PTL!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

My daughter is now going onto her 4th year at WCCS. I have found the teachers and principal to be great stewards of God's word. If your desire is to have your child get a good Christian Education, then this is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 53%
Black 2% 36%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 2% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 96% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Clemson University
Winthrop University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • No
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SBACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our vision at WCCS is to be a vibrant, Christ-centered community celebrating the image of God in every person, nurturing the heart, educating the mind and inspiring the pursuit of God's unique purpose.
School leaders can update this information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Clemson University
Winthrop University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 2%
4 year college - 96%
Military - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2650 India Hook Rd
Rock Hill, SC 29732
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 328-5461

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






New Hope Carolinas
Rock Hill, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT