Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Flowertown Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
My oldest daughter moved to Flowertown during 4th grade and also completed 5th grade here. My youngest went to K here. We were very happy with this school. We were happy with the teachers, staff, security & communication. I found both the staff and students to be polite. My children felt welcomed here and did very well. As a military family that has experienced many schools, this was one we were sad to leave. I was always confident that my children were in a good environment when I sent them to school every day.

Flowertown Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I LOVE this school! This will be my son's 6th year at this school (K-5), and each time I've moved I made sure to stay in their zone. They have GREAT teachers and staff. They encourage parent involvement and volunteering. The Gifted program is FANTASTIC!! I love how they are in a classroom of their own and the teachers can really feel free to challenge them without the fear of leaving other students behind. Even in the normal classes, they really try to teach to each child's level and set individual goals for learning. Great clubs, activities, and rewards for good behavior. Bullying is NOT tolerated. The few instances my son had with a bully was dealt with swiftly. Communication is fantastic. The school puts out a monthly newsletter. Communications folders with grades, behavior, and upcoming events are sent home weekly, and teachers also send e-mails weekly with that week's general instruction plan. Homework grids sent home each week have all their assignments, tests, and due dates clearly mapped out. I can go on and on. BEST school ever!


Flowertown Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Very nice staff and my son's teachers are over the past few years are the best. Office staff is great.

Flowertown Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Should not be force to give this school even one star. First and ONLY year my child will attend FES changing schools at the end of the year!! My child has been bullied since day ONE and nothing has been done to end it! MY child has started to stand up for himself and guess what he now gets in trouble! YUP that's right he has been written up because he has had enough when the adults who are supposed to protect him failed to do so. Calls I have made to the school go unreturned but they never fail to reach me when my son is written up. The school seems to protect the bully for some unknown reason. AVOID THIS SCHOOL!!!

Flowertown Elementary School 1

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
If I could give 0 stars I would have. Don't send your kids to this school, quite possibly the worst in DD2. These kids have no respect for authority and no discipline. The administrators coddle this behavior instead of dealing with it. Stay away and find a different school.


Flowertown Elementary School 1

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
The vice principal yelled and called us repeated because we dropped our children off at the front of the school. You are only allowed to drop them off in the back until the bell rings. Both time we did this the bell was ringing in 2 minutes from when we dropped them off. This school is not as good as the test score say. A 1st grade teacher told me my child was rude because she didn't say ma'am to her. Very disappointed and pulled our children out of the school.

Flowertown Elementary School 3

Posted March 14, 2013
- a parent
I like this school, but I had a bad experience with a Kindergarten teacher who had a negative attitude with my child. It is full-day kindergarten and very busy. The pressure is on for these kindergartners to be ready for testing in first grade. I think the focus should be on the children not testing. Working with the ones that need extra help should be important, not just deciding to hold children back to keep test scores high. Studies show that holding back children is not that effective. My child in third grade had a fabulous teacher and loved participating in the town Council.

Flowertown Elementary School 3

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
Very unimpressed with all the security I encountered when I dropped my daughter off late, I was told I could walk her back to her classroom, if I waited to be escorted by an administrator. This is my third child to attend, and I have never had this problem before, they simply had you sign in. There was also an administrator stationed in the main hallway, and one outside the front door, all looking very official with walkie-talkies. All this seemed like a bit much too me. Posting here, and writing a letter to DD2 Officials.


Flowertown Elementary School 2

Posted March 08, 2011
- a parent
My two children attended this school, my oldest had not so great of teachers for four years. I was reteaching many of the fundamental facts when we got home, due to lack of proper teaching and some teachers on cell phones. My other child, did well, got lucky and had great teachers. I ended up taking them both out and it was the best decision I've ever made. If you like your kids to learn touch points for addition and ryhmes for multiplication, then you'll love this school...if you like them to learn it the old school way, then find a different school. Also, one more note, they definatly teach for the tests. On a positive level, great ART, MUSIC, DRAMA AND PTA, though.

Flowertown Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
I am impressed with this school. The teachers are awesome, the environment is warm and inviting. I always feel welcomed when I am there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Flowertown Elementary School
20 King Charles Circle, Summerville, SC  29485
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (843) 871-7400
Last modified Flowertown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top