Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alice Drive Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

There used to be 3 school districts but now only one. They no longer use the grading system 1-5. It is back to letter grades. We have throughly enjoyed Alice Drive Elementary. My boys have done great! They have been challenged in areas where they needed to be. It helps to be a parent who voluntaries at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

I don't know who told the person who said there was only 1 school district for grades 3 and under but there are 3 districts; District 17, 80 and 2 in Sumter SC. What people need to remember is schooling is a give and take and should be 50% teacher/staff and 50% parental involvement. If you are uninvolved in your child's education you are going to get what you give. A lot of parents want to talk about how bad the schools are here, but those are likely the ones who ARE uninvolved in their child's education and expect the schools to raise their children and provide them with the morals and values that they should have been provided at home.


Posted April 26, 2013

There's only one public school system in Sumter, SC. For grades 3 and under, students will taught a standards base curriculum and grades a number system of 5-1. Why did they have to change the grading system too? You can't grade students like a customer satisfaction survey. Students are crying because the Honor Roll for them is gone and the highest number isn't given to a student for each assessment, because it would indicate they have mastered everything for the year. The district has tried to justify and explain generic benefits, but the daily reality is that students and parents don't like nor understand it.


Posted May 31, 2012

As a new military family moving to the area, do you research like we did... Alice Drive has a track record of success in the area, and the state. I toured the best public and private schools, and there appeared to be nepotism within the private system. All in all, children in the schools in the Sumter area need additional guidance and assistance from families. Plain and simple. The track record, coupled with the neighborhoods, make Alice and Millwood the best options...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

I have to say this is the best school my children have ever attended. We recently left ADE and my children miss it dearly. The teachers are great and the staff as well they have after school care, Pre K and a 3 yr old program run by the some of the best teachers I know. I only gave 3 stars for principal because I have not worked with the new one that started at the beginning os this year. If you are moving to sumter this is a great school for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Before moving to Sumter I heard bad things about SC schools but we had to move and place our kids. I did tons of research before deciding on a home/neighborhood (school choice is rarely an option here). Placing our chidren in ADE has been a good thing, have had excellent teachers, great communication and I often walk the halls just to see if the other school staff recognize me as a parent. We love the fact that people know our children's names, the crossing guard says good morning to them by name and they are not just a number here as in so many larger school systems. The teachers have good communication with parents (though some parents could care less-so sad) and each time I need to speak to someone/teacher/admin...they are very kind and receptive. Preschool is available (half day) for free here if you sign up in time, they do semi-annual home visits and have a great program. Unfortunately, there is no actual gymnasium at this school. I can't say enough good about the teachers here and though the principal seemed out of reach at first, has been wonderful to our family. We Will miss them next year when we move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

these kids meet the challenge to exceed expectations, to reach for the best inside themselves. and they are a group of neat kids I love seeing in my neighborhood.


Posted May 29, 2008

My daughter has attended ADE from 2nd -- 5th grades and has done very well. The parent involvement seems to be high with the PTA doing so much for the children & teachers. She has so many wonderful memories here. Her most important influence though was Mrs. Dave' in Chorus and Spring Fling. Through these programs, our daughter has realized her vocal talent and interest in drama which she LOVES! Mrs. Dave' was always SO supportive and loving! Can't say enough about the Mrs. Dave'! We will miss ADE next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

If you have a child with special needs. Then I stongly advise you not to attend this school. the communcation is poor. The teamwork is unbearing. As a parent I have to spend a great deal of time working with my child everyday just to get the report card marks up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

This school is fine for students that do not require any special attention. If your child has any Learning Disabilities, I strongly recommend that you read all the IDEA Laws and IEP Procedural Guidelines before attending this school. My son attended this school for 6 years. Getting after school tutoring at this school is a battle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

My child has been atending ADE since kindergarten and is now going into 4th grade. Her teachers have always welcomed parents to come in and speak with them about any concerns they may have. The office staff is always helpful. The principal is the best! She is always smiling and interacting with the children. She is very supportive of the faculty and staff. There are extracurricular activities available. My daughter will be going to chorus this year after school and is so excited. The art program is wonderful. She was thrilled to see her artwork published on Artsonia. The Challenge curriculum is just that - challenging. I was impressed with the depth of the class/homework. My daughter absolutely loves her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

We are lucky people to have found Alice Drive Elementary. Our children have been in the 2nd through 5th grades here and I can't think of anything negative to say about the school. The positives would take up more room than is provided. The principal is outstanding and has been since the day we first looked at the school. We've had great teachers and great support staff. Our children come from a military family and they were welcomed with open arms at ADE. They truely make you happy to walk through the doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 53%
Black 39% 36%
Asian 3% 1%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 775-7580

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

251 Alice Dr
Sumter, SC 29150
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 775-0857

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sumter Academy
Sumter, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT