Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Taylors, SC
Students enrolled: 401
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and staff do an outstanding job communicating information and all opportunities for the students. They are proud of the staff, school, and students.

Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I have never seen a faculty and staff who cared more for their students. The leadership of this school sores above any other school in Greenville County. The teachers are always willing to help a child who may be struggling in a class. Personal Experience: my daughter needed help in Biology but had another school committment after school. The teacher told my daughter to complete her other 45 minute committment and she would wait for her - this was same day notice. The teacher dropped whatever she had planned after school to help my child. This is not the only time/teacher to do this. GMC is a young small charter school and doesn't have a building yet (still in portables), but they allow the limited resouces keep them from supporting the students. Most importantly, they strive to teach children "community service". The number of opportunites the school has provided to the students to focus on others and the less fortunate are amazing. I am just sad that I only have one child to experience the GMC life. She is ending her junior year which means I only have 1 year left with this school. It will be sad. GMC is doing amazing things for the students and the community.


Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a student
Greer Middle College is an amazing school The teachers show that they care and take the time to help the students. The school is also great because it allows high school student the opportunity to take college courses. This is very helpful because it both saves them money it helps narrow the perspective for college. Again the school shows that they care all the time. I think it is the best high school in all is South Carolina.

Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
Greer Middle College Charter High School is by far the best school we have been involved with. They care about their students and take a serious approach to education. It really feels like one big family. The kids care about each other in a way I have not seen in other schools. The academics help them to be better prepared for college and the real world. By having them do a senior project where they create a product and/or event this helps them become organized and more mature. I have a daughter who is a Senior and a son who is a Sophomore. These are two kids who were very shy and now are leaders in groups like FCA, Prom committee, Beta, student government, and others. They also play sports and love it. GMC has given them opportunities to be more than they ever expected. The teachers are very helpful. They stay late to help students with anything they are having difficulty in. My daughter has gotten help with her college math class. She wants to be an Education Math Major and can see herself coming back to GMC to be a teacher there.

Greer Middle College Charter High School 4

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
The thing that makes this school great are the teachers, faculty and staff. The teachers at GMC bend over backwards to help your child to succeed. They have very friendly staff that are just an email away and answer your questions very promptly. The advisors are priceless. They spend so much time with your child from Freshman year forward, explaining to these kids how important grades are and spending time with them planning their college future. They meet with parent when ever parents would like to and are involved with your child throughout their high school experience. Great atmosphere to send your child to school. The principal knows the kids by name, he mingles with the kids and has a repair with them. The kids love him and they respect him. He is very involved in helping them be successful and is very open to meeting with parents if a problem arises or parents have concerns about a particular course of study and is willing to make changes if necessary. He is proactive in the students academic lives.


Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
Our son is a freshman for the 2013-2014 school year. The teachers are involved with the kids, they care about the kids, and they challenge the kids. Teachers are available; they communicate well and keep parents informed. The office staff members are amazingly helpful. The whole organization works hard to prepare kids for their futures as productive citizens in the community and in the world. There is not enough praise for these outstanding individuals and the school. It is simply amazing and we are very blessed to be a part of GMC.

Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
I have nothing but great things to say about GMC. It has provided an incredible opportunity for my daughter to have some of the best teachers around. They have taught her that it is okay to ask for help and that the teachers are more than willing to help. The staff and the teachers know the kids and want all of them to succeed in everything that they do in life.

Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
GMC as it is referred to, is a warm and friendly public charter school. Teachers and administration are dedicated to their job, but genuinely care about the students growth in their education as well as becoming a productive, responsible adult. The school is supported by the parent volunteers who run the lunch program, clean classrooms, etc. The school encourages parents help at the school and our involvement in our teens daily life. Which is awesome these days. Students can attend college classes at the community college for dual credit. Teachers support a great academic assistance program for students.The school is housed in trailers until funds can be raised to build a school, but the students and staff make the best of it, even on rainy days. A school building with lockers and a gym where all the students could gather together at one time is the only thing that would make this a better school. Teachers are here who love to teach and care about the individual as a whole person, we have caring administrative staff, and parents that want to help their child succeed and take a part in that daily, all the right components are here at Greer Middle College Charter High School.


Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a student
I love my school! I am a sophomore at Greer Middle College Charter High School, and I am taking my first college classes this semester. The academic opportunities here are unlike any other. The teachers do all they can to help me be successful, and the required community service hours provide a chance for me to give back to my community. I thrive in the close family-like atmosphere. There is no other school I would want to attend. I love being a Blazer!!

Greer Middle College Charter High School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
GMC has been a wonderful choice for our family. The small class sizes, excellent academic curriculum, respectful atmosphere, school dress code with uniforms, and the opportunity to take college classes are just some of the reasons we love Greer Middle College Charter High School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greer Middle College Charter High School
138 West McElhaney Rd., Taylors, SC  29687
(864) 469-7571
Last modified Greer Middle College Charter High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12
Greer Middle College Charter High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top