Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Antioch High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, July 22, 2014

This school just gained an amazing Associate Director of Bands in Chris Janowiak. He is a gift to students, passionate about band and choir and all things musical. Most importantly he cares deeply about his students and creates life long relationships that stress the importance of academic success as well as musical excellence. He builds character with students and cares deeply about them on a personal level as well. Get ready Antioch! You will love him! Mattawan Consolidated Schools in Michigan, well, we will miss him!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2014

This school is completely terrible. If you think otherwise your standards for education are lower than the students' GPA's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I'm a teacher and a parent, although my son is not yet in high school. If you're reading this, I will speak to you as though I'm a parent, yet someone on the 'inside'. I've been teaching here several years and finally feel like all of the right decisions have been made in the past 2 years to make this school as good as it's ever been, although I've not always felt that way. We have great... caring administrators who often balance a fine line between keeping kids in school, yet making decisions of alternative plans for those students who create an undesirable learning atmosphere for those who want to learn. I can only speak to my perceptions, obviously, but am surprised that this school is not rated higher than a 4. I believe we have an awesome faculty who all have huge hearts and try to bend over backwards for our students. The school does have temperature extremes, but most students roll with it and are prepared with layers when necessary. Yes, they hate dress code, but why change something that is working for our improvement? The school is improving GREATLY every year thanks to dedicated staff and administrators that recognize that "good-enough" can be continuously improved.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2013

This school is unacceptable. This year, in my academy, only 20% of the senior graduated. The lady at the front office, whose job is to help students is incredibly rude. They care about dress code more than their students learning experiences. School starts at 7:15am, but the don't open the doors until 6:50am. Not only is the ridiculously early, but students can't enter and go to class and eat breakfast and do homework until less than 30mins before they're supposed to be in class. They make students create their own schedules for the next school year in class, which would be nice except for they figured out a way to ruin that to. We had about 15 minutes to do something that needs at least 30 minutes. I had questions about what classes I needed and no one would answer them. Also, this school is COLD. That might not seem important, but when you sit it in 7 hours a day for an entire school year, it's terrible. I couldn't focus on work because I was freezing, even with a thick jacket on. The teachers are actually mostly very good, but too many don't even have lesson plans for the year. This school pretty much wasted my Junior year of high school. DO NOT GO HERE.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2013

Antioch High School does have unruly classrooms, my son was at Antioch last year. He could not learn in the classrooms because the teachers could not discipline the children in the classrooms. Teachers were not able to get the students to be quite enough so that they could teach class. In other classes the teachers were not even willing to teach. Principals played favorites with disciplinary actions towards students. I would put my son in a private school if I could afford to do so. My son is a very intellectual person but was not stimulated in any of his classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

In response to the last poster...I have been at AHS for over 10 years. The teachers are not afraid of the students, there is no general unruliness in the classrooms, and no one has been SHOT at school since I've been here. Not sure what this person is talking about. The biggest problem at AHS and virtually all urban schools...lack of parent/community support. If there is no involvement on the part of the parents there is going to be no value put on education by the students. I have no idea why we have parent/teacher conferences because no one shows up. This school has a very good faculty and this faculty has made AHS as good as it can be without help from the parents/community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2011

Are you kidding me? The school can't even supply books to the students, or afford to make copies of papers for the classes for the student to have their own copy. The teachers are too afraid of the students to do anything about the unruliness in the classrooms. I have been there and here students yelling obscenities down the hallway at each other, while the teachers stand by like this is commonplace and nothing wrong with it. One student was shot last year. I know at least one was beat down so badly at school an ambulance had to be called. This is ridiculous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I have taught at Antioch High School for four years, and I think it is one of the best schools in Nashville. We have a wonderful faculty who truly care about the students and the quality of instruction they deliver. Our faculty is continually striving for improvement and is always willing to do whatever is necessary to improve student learning and increase student involvement. Antioch is one of only TWO schools in Nashville which passed federal benchmarkc assessments for NCLB guidelines. Antioch not only met the standards, but far surpassed many of the objectives set by NCLB. It is truly an honor and pleasure to work in an environment which fosters cooperation among faculty, administration, and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2011

Antioch High School is a wonderful school that is improving everyday. With a wonderfully supportive administration, teachers are able to continually grow in our profession, encouraging each other in new endeavours to challenge our students. The students are the most kind, well-mannered, motivated teenagers. Everyday you can see students striving to improve themselves, intellectually and personally. With the teachers constantly improving the academics offered, and the students willing and able to overcome any challenges, Antioch is easily the best High School around.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2010

My son went to Antioch High School for all four years and he LOVED EVERY YEAR! he was in the band, which was one of the BEST AND MOST COST EFFECTIVE IN THE STATE OF TENNESSEE. I would recommend this school over any other public school in Tennessee. This school is the ONLY ONE that was taken OFF of the High Priority list in Davidson county. High priority list schools are those that have bad test grades. The principals and teachers there are also incredible! Everyone working there made it their duty to give my child a high quality education and that is exactly what he got. DO NOT BE FOOLED by the negative vibe others have of Antioch. Moving my family here is the most cost effective decision that I ever made. It's worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love the band experience my daughter is having at Antioch High School, and the fact that the band directors care about each class and each grade each on the band students has / makes. Their passion is not just to educate the students in music, but to make them a well rounded individual. As a parent, I can say enough how much this means to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Antioch High offers so many opportunities to students. Students can take college classes and on-line classes. The teachers and the administration really work hard to make sure every child has a post secondary connection. There is even a counselor that is there just to work on getting students scholarships and jobs. This school is the best kept secret in town.


Posted September 16, 2009

I Love Antioch High School because we have an AWESOME Principal and FANTASTIC Administrators. Everyone associated with Antioch H.S. really cares about the students achieving their life goals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2008

My daughter is a junior at Antioch High and I can't wait till she graduates next year. Antioch needs to get new assistant principals like they did getting a new principal. Most of the teachers (to me) care more that they kids like them than trying to teach them. I stood in the hallway one day and listened outside of a class my daughter had and listened to her teacher start an augument between two students till it got heated and she commanded that they stop. The only reason my daughter is still there is because she is doing a great job and she does not want to transfer elsewhere before she graduates. She has had several problems with students there just because, no other reason needed. I will never suggest this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I am a student at Antioch High School. I don't talk a lot but i do obersve the environment. To me i see this school as easier than where i came from (Miami,Florida). Most of the teachers are very nice and well educated. Some are just boring. As for communication, as all high schools it has its little 'clicks'. Typically they stay in there own group and don't take nicly to others, but thats life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2006

i am a student at antioch high.Antioch High suffers from being overcrowded therefore teacher has less time to spend with the children and there is a lack of bond due to the population.i understand that school is a place for learning but there are some barriers that need to be broken throughout the teachers and students to increase the knowledge that students learn at school because some student do require extra attention.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2005

I have 2 children that graduated from AHS in the last couple years (and 1 still there). They received an A++ education and are excelling in college (which, I might add..they are on academic scholarship..Thanks to the leadership of AHS!) Yes..there are 'gangs'..yes there are teachers that are not 'favorites'.However there are a 100 other teachers in the school giving of their time, attention, love, and care to tomorrows' leaders.It is a wonderful environment for learning not only academics ..but the 'real world'! My children could have gone to private or to Magnet...thank goodness that we made the choice of AHS...They have so many great memories and will forever be greatful for their experiences while there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

I removed my child from Antioch due to the gang activity. He is now home schooled. There is quite a bit of favoritism when it comes to discipline from the principal. Although my daughter is on the honor roll, I will be removing her from the school as well. There is one teacher at Antioch that throws things at her students out of frustration...she is still there! What does that teach the kids? What message are they getting from the administration? The kids are right, my son did not learn very much while attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2005

I graduated this year from Antioch High School I've seen alot over the past 4 years at this school regarding individual behavior. There are alot of people who don't respect authority, though considering where AHS is located, it's no wonder. Students aren't afraid to express their minds here. This year a new principal was introduced to the student body and she was very strict, but people (including I) have found ways around certain boundaries. I wouldn't highly recommend this school, but it's probably better than most other schools here next to religious schools. I have fond memories mostly because of the people I met and the great teachers that I've had.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 19, 2004

As a senior at antioch, i have enjoyed my four years of education. We may not have the best communication or education levels, but no school is perfect. Since i have been here, things have really picked up. We have more security and more adult involvement. I have been happy here, though there is a lot of negativity. I believe it all starts at home. You have to give respect to receive it and most kids here haven't learned that. But don't move or give up, be more involved. If you don't like the way things are going, step up about it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

489 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
31%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
15%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
46%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

546 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
39%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
45%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
20%
U.S. History

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students58%
African American53%
Asian93%
Hispanic52%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners44%

Algebra II

All Students21%
African American11%
Asian47%
Hispanic21%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners17%

Biology I

All Students52%
African American47%
Asian47%
Hispanic44%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners30%

English I

All Students48%
African American46%
Asian65%
Hispanic43%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learners7%

English II

All Students45%
African American41%
Asian55%
Hispanic37%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learners16%

English III

All Students30%
African American26%
Asian69%
Hispanic23%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students93%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities79%
English language learners82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 23%
Hispanic 27% 7%
White 24% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 Hobson Pk
Antioch, TN 37013
Phone: (615) 641-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Nashville Academy
Antioch, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT