Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J. E. Moss Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2014

Hi, this school is ok but could be better. This school needs lots of fixing like the restrooms, some of the roof have links, classroom, playground (where kids love to play). And it would also be nice to have a safe fiance where the 1st Park is at. And more that they put portable for students. It it sage for are kids. And also have teacher & principles that will say Hello, Good Morning ect. Because half of them don't.! This will be my older son last year but I will have 2 more going to that school. Oh yes and for the walker's it would be nice really nice if there was a sidewalk by the tree where all the kids and also with there mom & dad walk. It's bad when it rains, mud, snow ect. And kids can't walk in with wet, dirt shoes ect. It's not safe to walk where the bus come out. I really hope that one day (soon) someone can look at this school. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

My soon is very mad that he have to go a year without going to this school he love the teachers and students his favorite teacher was Mrs.Sullens Davion London will miss you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

The school's principal is horrible! I have found him to be utterly disrespectful, unprofessional, and not at all catering to a parent's concern. I am planning to pull my child out of the school as soon as I possibly can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

As a parent of four students which have all attended JE moss in the last 8 years ( two of which are still in attendance), I am happy to recommend this school to parents who desire an education which fosters responsibility to both parent and child, interaction with caring professionals who take education seriously enough to show up after school and on weekends to educate parents and students on how to support their children and acheive acedemic success. The admin staff does a commendable job in responding to parents needs regarding thier children and meeting the the needs of a diverse and changing community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I am also very disappointed in J. E. Moss, at first the principle seems to be very nice and professional but it is a farce as it the genuine concern that I would expect from the staff and faculty members at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

My son is very pleased with his teachers at J.E. Moss. I was very pleased with the Valentines Day program that had a twist of black history month. I recently read through the new policy on clothing and I was a little disturbed by the punishment. My son is 7 and it will be very hard for any 7 year old, or 5 year old, or 6 year old, etc to keep their shirt tucked in throughout the day. The punishment for the first offense is in school suspension and goes all the way up to two days of out of school suspension. On Monday, I am sure there were many children that did not have their shirts tucked in at some point during the day. I am sure it was not purposely done, just simply b/c they are little kids that can't even keep food off their face
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

I was very disappointed with this school. The classes were overcrowded. My son's class was 24. I called the office to talk to the principal about my son and she would not call me back even after three phone calls. The office personal were not friendly. My son's teacher was very good, but had no support and in the end I decided it would be better for my son to homeschool until we can move to a better district. The bus drivers were also rude. I would not recommend this school to anyone that cares for their children. Watch out for the Metro schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2006

I moved to Nashville from Atlanta, GA; the faculty at Moss is very friendly for the most part, but if you're looking for parent teacher involvement this will not be the place. The elementary school puts more emphasize on the dress code of children K - 4th grade vs than the academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners34%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students31%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
White20%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners13%

Science

All Students49%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White27%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learners39%

Social Studies

All Students77%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
White38%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners8%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students28%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
White38%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students26%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
White38%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners5%

Social Studies

All Students79%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 7%
Black 30% 23%
White 18% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4701 Bowfield Dr
Antioch, TN 37013
Phone: (615) 333-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Una Elementary School
Nashville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT