Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rivercrest Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

Great school. Teacher are friendly and helpful. My children were given the individualized attention based on their needs and abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Rivercrest Elementary has the BEST teachers and administration! The teachers go out of their way to really love and nurture their students. Mrs. Tate and Mrs. Woods are amazing administrators. They both have a heart for students, teachers and education. We can't wait to see how Rivercrest Elem will thrive in the Bartlett City School District. Rivercrest is truly a hidden gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

I love this school the teachers and staff are great. This is my daughter first year here at the school and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Be forewarned, if you live within 1.5 miles of the school your child cannot ride the bus. For working parents, this leaves 5 years olds walking miles alone, parents paying an average of $200 a week for before and after school care, or problems at work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

Wonderful Godly teachers...thank you Mrs. Tate, Mrs. Pittman, Miss Washington and Mrs. Merriweather for giving my children the greatest education. We love you Rivercrest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Rivercrest is an excellent school for my kids. the enviornment is safe for the children and has a vast number of nice and caring teachers. The principle was awarded the best in the state of Tennessee on the year of 2012-13
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

Absolutely loved the school, teachers, administration in all. The atmosphere was so inviting. The staff and administration truly welcomed parents and loved on the children. My child's teacher was awesome. Great Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

My children LOVE Rivercrest! The teachers & principals are wonderful. Parents are welcome to have lunch with their children, volunteer, tutor, & be a part of their strong PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

I love Rivercrest! It is a wonderful school. Rivercrest's teachers, staff, and principal are terrific to the parents and the students that attend. I could not be more pleased with Rivercrest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

I am truly blessed for my children to go to RIVERCREST! They are my family. THey have the BEST teachers and principal. They are always thier with smiles and an open door for me and my children. We have been there 6 years next year and it is the BEST elementary school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

Rivercrest is an awesomely diverse community school with excellent teachers, kindhearted administrators, and involved parents. Not only are they doing a fabulous job teaching the kids, they give back with Kids Kan food drive, Hats for Homeless, Hoops For Heart, and raising money for St. Jude. Rivercrest students will grow up to be citizens who care about and respect the world around them. There are tons of opportunities for older students (APEX, Chorus, Guitar Club, Chess Club, Beta Club, Student Council). The PTA is fantastic, and does a great job at supporting family involvement through monthly iMOM and All Pro Dad breakfasts. This school is awesome! I'm proud to be a Rivercrest Redbird!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

Rivercrest truly is much more than a school, it is a FAMILY!!! I have three kids in school here and we have been here for 5 years now and we LOVE it. I will admit I was very nervous and apprehensive about school when it was time for my oldest to start kindergarten because my children were never in day care, but I am here to tell you that all that worry was for nothing! Every single teacher, administration and principal that we have ever had contact with at Rivercrest is amazing! All of the leaders at the school really do love the children! I wish that we could stay here and not have to leave for middle school! Thank you Rivercrest and keep up the good work!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

Mrs Tate is a true asset. There is no doubt that Rivercrest is full of quality leaders that love the children and make them the number 1 priority. That starts at the top with Mrs Tate. She not only loves her students, but the parents as well and makes sure they are always encouraged to be involved. I'm a proud parent of two sons that have attended Rivercrest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

Terrific school. You will love our school. Great teachers, awesome administration and very involved. PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Rivercrest is a wonderful school my son loves it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!The staff and the whole overall facility is great!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

The faculty and staff at Rivercrest are the best. They really care about all of the students and it shows when you walk in the door. It is an excellent school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Rivercrest is a fantastic school becasue of the leadership and staff. My two boys were educated for several years at this school )I'm Navy) and I can tell you without doubt that this principal (Ms Tate) and the teachers are the best I have seen in my wanderings in TX and CA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

My second child just finished school at Rivercrest. We have nothing but praise for the school and the staff. Mrs. Tate has done a wonderful job here. We've know her at this school for over 10 years. She has guided this school and staff in the right direction. The kids love it here show gratitude with hugs. The staff is attentive to every kids needs. The facility is top notch also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

We loved this school, I had 3 children attend for 3 years and were very pleased. They have a great gifted/talented program and after-school clubs and activities. We were sad to be transferred to a different area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Overall a great school. 3 of my 4 kids have attended here so far. We've been Rivercrest parents for 8 years now. We still have several more years of Riercrest ahead of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students44%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students58%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students75%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students49%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students55%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students41%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students45%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 23%
White 24% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4825 Rivercrest La
Bartlett, TN 37134
Phone: (901) 373-1373

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT