Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lipscomb Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2016
- a parent
Excellent faculty and staff. Many opportunities to get involved in the school and classroom. Top notch education in a loving and welcoming environment. We love the LES community!

Lipscomb Elementary School 1

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The Principal is what makes this school terrible. I heard so many good things about it before Mrs. Contich because Principal. She has threatened and yelled at parents even ones whom are volunteers and others with special needs.


Lipscomb Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
I heard that the majority of the 5th grade teachers were all let go because they did not comply to something unethical the Principal wanted them to do.

Lipscomb Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Mary Beth Carroll is a caring and understanding 1st grade teacher. Also, Mrs. Debrah Finch the Guidance teacher

Lipscomb Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Certain teachers are effective yet some are not. SO there you have it. 15 words or more


Lipscomb Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Because the Principal is not honest nor fair herself. She wrote up a Kindergartner for pulling down his pants when he was threatened to do it. What the?

Lipscomb Elementary School 2

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
My child attended this school for four years. While the education they received seemed great, the children and their parents are the main reason I'm only giving this school two stars (and I'm being generous with the two stars). In the four years at Lipscomb, I've encountered one, maybe two parents that are generally nice and outgoing. The vast majority are the stereotypical Brentwood residents, which is disappointing to say. Closed off and elitist, they are incredibly unwelcoming of newcomers and this attitude trickles down to their children. Again, I realize it's unfair to lump all the kids together and say that they're all the same, but the majority of them are mirror images of their parents. My child never had any problems with bullying or making friends until attending Lipscomb and I'm thankful/grateful that those days are now behind us.

Lipscomb Elementary School 2

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
This school used to be top notched but there is now a culture of mediocrity that is eroding the environment. There are still many excellent educators here; they are not allowed to do their jobs effectively. We had children in this school from 2005 until last year and the decline was appalling. It was an excellent environment in 2005, as good as any private school in TN and by 2013 I would compare it with a top 20% Metro Nashville school. The principal is the difference. The previous administrator was hands-on. He greeted every child and every parent each morning. He knew every child by name and knew who their parents were and knew most of us by name. The current principal is rarely seen outside her office and it is completely baffling how she continues to hold this position. The only good thing I can say about this is it fed our kids into Brentwood Middle which is every bit as excellent as this school was 10 years ago.


Lipscomb Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
I do not recommend this school. Our child never wanted to go to school while attending Lipscomb. The school is very over crowded and the teachers and staff seem very unhappy.

Lipscomb Elementary School 2

Posted October 20, 2013
- a teacher
The parents and most kids are nice but the educational value is definitely not what it used to be. I think many people want a home in this elementary zone because it is the least expensive for a Brentwood school. LES also has a lot of "fun" stuff like dress up days, fall fest, fun run, etc. so there are opportunities to socialize. Most of the classroom teachers are good teachers but LES has several poor performers that really need to find another occupation, especially in the 5th grade. The administration does not communicate well and the specials teachers are average at best. Some people love Lipscomb but I doubt they have attended or visited other schools in Brentwood.

Nearby schools

Lipscomb Elementary School
8011 Concord Road, Brentwood, TN  37027
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (615) 472-4650
Last modified Lipscomb Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top