Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Academy

Private | 6-12 | 745 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brentwood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $371,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2012

As a student here at BA, I believe that this school has several strengths, and several weaknesses. In order to effectively organize the many aspects of high school life, I will give my rating for all the various aspects along with an explanation. Academics A- As great as 12 state football championships, or world-class training facilities seem, when it comes down to it, the most important thing you should look for in school is the academics. MOST of the teachers I have had have been nurturing and challenging to me which I have greatly appreciated. Although I would appreciate a better variety of AP classes, I am very impressed with the wide selection of courses. The main downside to their academic program is the teacher/coaches. In my four years at BA 1 out of 8 of my teachers that were also coaches have been satisfactory. The rest have been lazy, and not truly focused on teaching. Athletics C- As famous as BA is for their athletic program, I truly believe it is their main downfall. Students receive playing time based on how much their parents donate to the school, and how great of friends their parents are with the coaches. The facilities are great though. Spiritual A


Posted August 6, 2009

BA has been a great fit for my child. She needed to be challenged academically and I feel the honors courses at the middle school level have been great in preparing her for H.S. and college. The school personnel has also offered a loving and christian environment during the difficult middle school years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

We have been disappointed with the school. The overemphasis on athletics continues to this day. Academics are okay but dont rank with the best, and given the cost of tuition I would hope for better. There are some wonderful kids and the school but the student body is very homogenous - if you exclude the athletes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Incredible school. Yes, the athletics are very good, why would people complain about that? This creates great school spirit and pride for athletes and students in the stands. There is not separation between the athletes and non-athletes like other posts say. The family atmosphere you get here can not be compared with MBA, Harpeth Hall, and Ensworth. Those three schools offer incredible education, but from what I have heard, they do not teach students about relationships, and character. Brentwood Academy was like a family to me, from the students, to the coaches, to the teachers. I have graduated from college, and still communicate with several coaches and teachers. I can not say enough how much these adults affected me as a young man.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

I am a graduate of this school and a former Student Body President. Like any other endeavor in life, you will get out of this experience what you put into it. The beauty of this school is the atmosphere that fosters achievement and participation. They recognize you are NOT an island, but must work with others, be it in athletics or the classroom or other activities. The school is not designed to be as intense academically as a few others around town, but you CAN receive as good of an education. The focus is on being well rounded and experience more than just one aspect of your life's journey. When I went, we had to clean up the school ourselves. Honestly, I now appreciate that as being one of the best ways to respect property and learn humility. It also fostered an air of equality as NO ONE was exempt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2008

This school, is only focused on athletics. They say they teach Christianity, Athletics, and Academics equally! Well, thats not true! The academics they teach are about hmm.....a third grade level! but hey!...the students are pretty good athletes, and the teachers are sarcastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

I'm a freshman at Brentwood Academy. I have had a terrible experience with the academic program. If you're not the best, your not worth anything. Disreguarding the althetic program, the teachers are great and i'm learning so much. My brother who gratuated a couple years ago says college iss easier compared to Brentwood Academy and they really set you up for whats coming next in your life wheather it be spiritual or academic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2007

I can give you the student perspective. I graduated from BA in 2005 and I absolutly loved my time there and I couldnt amagine being anywhere else. And just for the record, the previous posters remark about the sprituality at BA being a joke is preposterous. The spiritual life department is amazing, I grew so much as a Christian. Yes I admit athletics are big at BA, football season is very dominant. However thats not the only thing BA excells in or is known for. The fine arts department is incredible, before you judge BA as a 'sports school' I dare you to pick up a copy of the Academy Singers CD or see a play,you will be amazed. Any of your children would be lucky to go there, you wont find the 'BA Family' at MBA or Ensworth. I attend UT now and still am close with my BA Friends
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 27, 2006

This school has met my expectations in all aspects. I've got two children currently attending and one that has graduated. This school provides my children with academic challenges, physical challenges and has given them a spiritual purpose outside church. The teachers nurture the student but also challenges them to be the best they can be. The leadership of both the upper and middle school are top notch. Always available never hidden in their office. They also teach and counsel the students. Fall of 2006 there will be a fine arts building built for music, art, drama etc. The school fine arts program is just as solid as athletics. Athletics is a big part of the students life. Not just school team events but the overall health of the student. Brentwood Academy believes a healthy student will succeed in the classroom and become a healthy adult, as Jesus wants us to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

My son is currently in the 6th grade at BA. He absolutely loves it! Prior to our first visit, we had heard that BA was primarily geared for athletes so we were a little skeptical. Though athletics are a focus, there is greater emphasis on academics and spirituality. The top notch teachers constantly challenge the students to go beyond there perceived limits and to always use there God given abilities. My son is also a band member. We could not have found a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

My son has been at BA for 5 years since 6th grade, and has absolutley loved being there. While every school has its drawbacks, we have have found the education and social experience to be top rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

Great school. Opportunities for Drama, Chorus, Sports, and many other extra curriculars. Strong AP and honors level classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2004

Im actually a student at Brentwood Academy, I am going into my senior year and have been with BA since I was a Freshman. I moved to Tennessee when I was fourteen, and I knew nobody when I started school. I was amazed at how fast I was welcomed into the BA family and I made friends so quickly with these amazing people who have such an amazing love for God. I constantly see Alumni in our halls and now I know why, BA is truly a blessing to be a part of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

BA has done for my children just what we had hoped-it identified their strengths and weaknesses and prepared them extremely well for the next educational level-academically, athletically, socially, emotionally and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2003

Brentwood Academy is very much a family enviroment, with students, parents, and alumni involved and interested in the events of the school. Athletics have notoriously been a focus at BA, but recently the Fine Arts Department has exploded. There is much support for the Forensics program, the dance team, and other new activities. At this school, there is much emphasis on academic excellence and pressure to succeed in general. Though some students do not thrive in this environment, on the whole the school is successful in preparing its students for life, while nurturing them along the way.


Posted August 31, 2003

It has been a great experience for our entire family. I have 2 daughters that attend and they love it. My wife and I are both involved and really enjoy the other parents. Would highly recommend.


Posted August 25, 2003

The school is amazing and I loved my time there but the current headmaster is not as good as the past headmaster and the school puts a great deal of emphasis on fundraising now, which it didn't before. Suddenly it seems as if the money kids bring in is more important than the kids themselves, but the principals and staff at the school are still top-notch
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Black 7% 25%
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

219 Granny White Pike
Brentwood, TN 37027
Phone: (615) 373-0611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Currey Ingram Academy
Brentwood, TN





Montessori Academy
Brentwood, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT