Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Chattanooga, TN
Students enrolled: 407
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Notre Dame High School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
All four of my children attended ND in the 90's and went on to graduate, with honors, from college. ND prepared them for academic success but also nurtured their need to give back to the community. They have been involved with Big Brothers/Big Sisters or volunteer in various organizations giving back much more than they receive. ND was the first school in the area to begin mandatory drug testing and they have always been 'pro-active' about this issue. Academic standards and communication between parents/teachers/staff has improved vastly since my children were here! Most teachers have always gone 'above and beyond' expectations and care about the student as well as educating them. I would highly recommend Notre Dame as an outstanding academic institution that fosters a love of Christ while also respecting others views.

Notre Dame High School 5

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of a current ND student, I would rate ND as top notch academically. As to the comments by the parent about ND being a party school, I do not see that. I am sure there are some circles of students that prefer to party and put education second; that is a choice the student makes. Is this not a life lesson?? While ND does promote its sports program, they also have a terrific theatre, band and choral program. My child participates in these & they are terrific & demanding in a good way. I also have to say that many of my child's teachers have gone above and beyond to ensure that my child succeeds. The key is that the child has to WANT to succeed and has to put their best foot forward; the teacher's cannot do the work for them.


Notre Dame High School 5

Posted September 23, 2009
- a community member
As a graduate of Notre Dame High School, I can testify to the amazing preparation I received for college. Not only did the teachers care about my grades, but they also cared about me as a person. The school's goal is to create well-rounded individuals who are models of Christ to the world around them. Notre Dame is a Christian school, not just a 'private' school like other in our community. They exist in order to create a love of learning and a love for Christ and his Church. The class that I graduated with is now composed of doctors, a rocket scientist, a model, a record company exec in LA, and numerous others. They certainly prepare their students for whatever they want to do in life, but also focus on a love for their students!

Notre Dame High School 5

Posted August 20, 2009
- a community member
I am a graduate of Notre Dame and I highly recommend this school. We are so fortunate to have a school like Notre Dame in the Chattanooga area. With its strong academics and arts programs there is a good blend for any student to find their niche. The sports are important part of the learning process as well. The principal is fantastic and the teachers are very dedicated.

Notre Dame High School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Notre Dame High School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Notre Dame High School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Notre Dame High School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Notre Dame High School 2

Posted July 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Notre Dame High School 2

Posted June 10, 2008
- a student
In short, I don't recommend this school. The academics are strong. However, the teachers are not. If your child doesn't push themselves in school, the teachers certainly will not. Also, the arts programs are very very poor...if not nearly non-existant. The school places so much emphasis on sports that they basically neglect the visual and performing arts. This is also a HUGE party school. If your child is not a partier, they will be very unpopular at Notre Dame. The facilities are very weak for a private school. No tennis courts, no pool, no track, no dance room. In short, you do not receive the education that you pay for and expect from a private high school. I would recomment either getting your money's worth at a school like McCallie, Baylor, or GPS, or saving your money and sending your kid to a great magnet school like CCA or

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Notre Dame High School
2701 Vermont Ave, Chattanooga, TN  37404
(423) 624-4618
Last modified Notre Dame High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Notre Dame High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top