Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Ridge High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2011

A school on the decline. The district has done much to wreck this school with questionable leadership choices. The new principal is over his head, and the assistant is totally clueless. The previous principal lasted a year and never even tried. Parental involvement has dropped off considerably. The fact that the leadership doesn't support vocational education puts it at cross-purposes with the schools leadership. A third of the faculty left last year. I'm glad that my children are grown and I don't have to deal with this place anymore. It really used to be a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Tis school is fantastic! The administration id knowledgable and very hard working. Classroom expectations are high and afterschool activites are very strong. Band and choir porgrams are active in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

I belive that this school needs a lot of improvement such as a more diverse history cultural atmosphere. I think that the teachers are very dedicated to thier jobs and students. I know that the adminitreters are doing what they think is right but I belive that if somebody actually sat down and talked with us about how we think we could make the school better and what we think should be in that school more students would want to go to school. One thing that I have heard a lot from the students is that they want to learn more about their history such as Africn American, Hispanic, Asian ect,
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2005

I have three kids and they all attend Eastridge i Think we have a wonderful school this year we have a new principal(Mr. Bean) whom has made a really big diffence in the school and we have great teachers who really care about your children but with all schools you and your child have to show interst in yourself we have great community and parent support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

2004-2005 was the first year my children were in a public school. With this in mind I cannot compare E. Ridge to other public schools. As a parent I feel the administration could use some improvemen, as in the communication is the worst I've ever encountered. During the school year I could ask 5 different people the same question and get 10 different answers. I felt for the most part the teachers cared about my children. The administration on the other hand, I felt they really couldn't careless as long as the kids weren't causing them any extra work or getting into trouble. When I asked 'what are you doing to prepare my kids for the furure?' as in what type of leadership skills, etc. I was told 'they're making good grades' the administration couldn't give me a better answer. by the looks I got noone understood my question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I am a recent graduate of East Ridge and I believe it is a great school. It offers many activites to keep the students involved. They also have a great staff. The teachers are very dedicated and thats very important to students. Best time of my life!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

East ridge has a very poor quality of staff and education programs. It leans more toward the more prominate children it can nab. The extra curricular activies are fair. Poor planning is the downfall of many a student. The quality of teachers is fair, you have some who are dedicated to kids and care about their futures, then you have most who could care less whether a child gets the right kind of support or help he/she needs to be a successful graduate. It is easier to push children away or out if they can't keep up. It is a very poor system that lets kids fall by the wayside simply because the staff doesnt want to be bothered. The disiplin and rules are fair to an extent, depending on who you are or who your parents are and what their reputation is in the community. Politics play a big part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2004

I am a parent of a student at this school and may i say i am very disappointed with the way this school is being ran.Most of the problem being principal cheri dedmon,If you're planning to send you're child to this school please reconsider.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

Fantastic school. A little crowded recently but they have good teachers and great sports teams(wrestling,baseball,football,and volleyball).
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
21%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
24%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
40%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
46%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
23%
U.S. History

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students30%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students24%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
White28%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students38%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students47%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students40%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students20%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
White27%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students93%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities92%
English language learners57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 67%
Black 34% 23%
Hispanic 13% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 867-6220

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4320 Bennett Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37412
Phone: (423) 867-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian School
Chattanooga, TN



Mccallie School
Chattanooga, TN


Brainerd High School
Chattanooga, TN


Notre Dame High School
Chattanooga, TN


Tennesse Temple Academy
Chattanooga, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT