Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Brainerd Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 715 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2013

Our motto is: Excellence Above Expectations. The teachers and administrators work hard to give students the best education possible.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2013

We have four kids, three of whom go to East Brainerd Elemantary. We love this school, never have we had an issue. Everyone is so loving and welcoming. The education my kids have gotten from this school, will stand up to the real world and its standards. Last year my son went on a field trip just about every month and some months two times. I would give this school 10 stars if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

East Brainerd Elementary has been and continues to be a blessing to me and my family. I have had children, grandchildren and at present have a great grandchild in that school. We have been very pleased with the staff and the education our children are/have received. The staff is always helpful and available. The only negative about this school is not the educators, but the parent involvement in the school. Yes, the school is an old building and as old goes it needs many thing: however, we will be getting a new school...eventually..and that will be better. You just can't beat the continued strive to be excellent.


Posted April 26, 2013

East Brainerd Elementary has been a great fit for our family. There is great communication from the school. They could use more parental involvement, but who knows why some parents aren't able or choose not to volunteer. I volunteer every week, and feel very comfortable with the environment that our kindergarten age child is in every day. The school works hard to raise money and provide new opportunities and equipment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

My son has been attending East Brainard for two years now and he has loved all of his teachers They are kind, creative and organized. He will be going into 3rd grade this year and looking forwad to it! Great school and administration. Cant wait till they build the new school here soon. Randy Scorocca
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

My daughter attends East Brainerd Elementary school and I could not be more pleased. The Faculty and Staff are outstanding! The school is old, but a building does not make the school. The Faculty and Staff go out of their way to make sure that you are welcome. The communication from the school is constant and informative. The school sends monthly newsletters, sends connect-ed calls, and most classes/grade levels send home agendas or newsletters. The school has an open door policy which I love! I can come in and out as I please observing my child's class, volunteering, or having lunch with my child. For anyone who has a negative thing to say about EBE, I would challenge that statement, by asking how involved they are? Have they done their part by meeting with the teacher or administration to voice concerns? My experience is that EBE cares about the success of the child and will do what is in the best interest of the child. Hamilton County schools overall may face issues as all public schools do, but at EBE they make it work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

We were trying to make a decision about my child staying in private school or transferring to a local public school. After much debate and my child touring EBE, we decided that EBE was the school for us. My child loves EBE more than the private school she was attending. Her teachers at EBE have been Ms. Papillion and Ms. Pflug. These two teachers are outstanding. They have challenged my child and raised not only her grades, but her confidence as well. I have had nothing but positive interaction not only with her teachers, but the principal as well. I would encourage anyone looking for a great school with great teachers to look no where else but EBE. This school has provided a great foundation for not only middle school, but life in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

As a parent who has had a child at EBE for two years - I know what is going on in our school. My spouse and I have partnered with Mrs. Phlug and Mrs. Papillon and we have interacted in the classroom with the students. We are involved in our daughter's education and we support their teachers! That type of partnership is what makes any school a great school. EBE also has a fantastic Principal and he exhibits genuine leadership. Parents can rest assured that their child is recieving the best education that Hamilton County has to offer when the child attends EBE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

Our school looks terrible from the outside but thats not what counts. The teachers and staff are amazing. My daughter has Mrs.Pflug and she has helped her to focus on writing and has done a great job preparing her for middle school. The time and encouragement that Mrs. Pflug puts into her students shows how important they are to her. Mrs. Pflug stays with her class during lunch; building relationships and spending time with them. I think that shows how she goes the extra mile. All the teachers at EBE are GREAT!! but Mrs. Pflug GOES THE EXTRA MILE !!!! Thank for making 5th grade special. A School Rises Or Falls on leadership. Ours Rises with Dr. Stewart and our great staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

We are new to Tennessee and luckily landed in East Brainerd's boundaries. We love our daughter's teacher and have a great relationship with her. When we have had concerns, they have been resolved quickly and to our satisfaction. As a teacher, I am EXTREMELY picky about who teaches my children and what they are taught. I have seen research based learning strategies and methodologies taught in the classrooms and spelling is taught. I will say that Hamilton County in general is a HORRIBLE school district that needs MASSIVE help. However, East Brainerd is a good school with teachers that care and work hard for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

My daughter is in Mr. Nichols class and we cannot say enough good things about him. He really is great. Our son, however, is in Sue Pflug's class and we could not be more disappointed. They watch movies more than they do anything. We are very strict about what our kids watch and she allowed them to watch some documentary about Hercules that had 10 cuss words in it just by the middle of the movie. She compares the kids and publically tells the rest of the kids who is going to pass in her class and who is not. Spelling is no longer required but alot of the teachers still teach it (Mr. Nichols does). Pflug does not. She says that it is included in the language but she never ever corrects it. I set up an appointment with her after he kept coming home with 100's and I began to look at his work and he would have tons of punctuation errors and 9 to 11 misspelled words. In the meeting, she told me that she is worried about TCAP and basically, as long as they do well on the TCAP, she does not care about there other grades. She does almost nothing in class and sends them TCAP prep one night a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

Pflug is awful. She lets them use a calculator for all their math work. My son is going to get to the point that he cannot work a math problem. She frequently pulls him off his work to grade papers for her. I told her that he has no businees doing her work and asked her to stop and she has not. He cannot punctuate worth anything and has trouble spelling, but she put him in charge of grading other student's stories according to their content. He was giving them grades of 3 because he thought the story was boring. How on earth can you ask a child to rate another child's paper according to content? It's insane. My son comes home twice a week saying that she made another student cry. If they forget how to do something, she yells at them. I saved the biggest one for last. On two different occasions, our son has been handed pornographic material from another 10 year old boy in his class. It has been one trial after another. If your child has to go to this school, please request not to have Sue Pflug. It is pronounced floog, like phlegm and lugie. BEWARE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

East Brainerd Elemementary is a disgrace to education. My daughter dispises this rat hole of a school. The building is falling apart, Whinnie the Poo movies are watched in PE class, teachers move 2nd graders to 1st grade classes withour parental consent! That's right, my daughter was moved out of her 2nd grade class to a 1st grade class for a day without my consent, or notifying me. Communication from this institution is terrible. We are considering paying nearly $5,000 a year to remove her and give her the education she deserves. EBE's efforts to educate our future leaders are pathetic! I am filing a formal complaint with the Hamilton County Board of Education. KEEP YOUR CHILDREN OUT OF THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I can't say enough good things about East Brainerd Elementary. I have two children attending, and all of their experiences have been ultimately positive in helping them blossom into the best they can be socially and academically. Academic standards have been surprisingly rigorous, and where my children have excelled they are encouraged and challenged at their levels. When they transferred, they were behind even though they had been praised as doing well in a private school 'accelerated curriculum.' Now both are testing at above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I have been impressed how this school addresses educating all students--regardless of how well prepared they came to learn. Also, E. Brainerd Elementary seems to be well able to use parent/community involvement. It was impressive to see churches, parents and community businesses all involved in the construction of the new playground. It looks amazing!


Posted September 20, 2008

The teachers at EBE are very professional, making the most of their resources. Any student or parent concerns are responded to quickly. The principal and vice-principal are very professional as well as open and easy to talk to. Although the structure and facilities need updating, the PTA and principal are on the move to meet these challenges. I feel that my kids are getting a quality education at East Brainerd Elementary and that they are in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Erin Earnest is the best Kindergarton Teacher ever! She takes pride in her job and she cares for the feel being of every student. I am a parent of a asthmatic child and Ms. Earnest took perfect care of him during peak asthma time. Thank you Ms. Earnest for a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

I don't think there's another school with such faculty involvement and support. The whole school works together daily as a team to support each other as well as the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
30%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students47%
African American46%
Asian57%
Hispanic55%
White44%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American58%
Asian71%
Hispanic64%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African American41%
Asian73%
Hispanic58%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American27%
Asian27%
Hispanic25%
White45%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students45%
African American35%
Asian64%
Hispanic42%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American84%
Asian91%
Hispanic92%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 67%
Black 27% 23%
Hispanic 15% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 855-2610

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7453 East Brainerd Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Phone: (423) 855-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Grace Baptist Academy
Chattanooga, TN



St Nicholas School
Chattanooga, TN


Valley Academy
Chattanooga, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT