Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Providence Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
Love love love this school. The teachers are so helpful and my son has really enjoyed his year here. We look forward to another year.

New Providence Middle School 2

Posted December 07, 2014
- a community member
I spent all 3 of my middle school years at this school (now a freshman @wchs). In 6th grade it was nice, i did have problems with one teacher so i was switched to another class. One complaint i have about this school is its cleanliness. Knowing how old this school is, they should take that into consideration and keep it nicer. In 6th grade a DEAD mouse was found in my friends locker. And i also remember little tiny baby mice running around my social studies class. Anyways, there is a lot of obedience problems there, and i have witnessed many people getting picked on/bullied with teachers doing nothing. Overall, most teachers are excellent.


New Providence Middle School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
So pleased, haven't had any trouble getting things addressed with Teachers, & once with the principal-Laura Barnett (she's the bomb). She handled the matter professionally and made sure that the substitute teacher involved wouldn't be subbing at any of the schools my children attend. The office Secretaries are WONDERFUL! Super friendly, love three staffs and have had great experience with ,3 children attending, 2 with special needs.

New Providence Middle School 4

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children that attend 6th grade this school year @ New Providence Middle School. They love it. We are new to the neighborhood, so they didnt know any other kids going into this school. Their grades have improved and they are involved in many extracurricular activities. They have had no problems with any bullying or fighting. The teachers are great and they stay in touch with me if they have any concerns or if they have good things to say. I volunteer once in awhile for things at the school, so am able to see for myself what is happening. The only thing I would change is the dances they have right after school until 4pm. I think they should let the students come home first and then have the dance from like 5-7pm.

New Providence Middle School 2

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
This is an overcrowded school! My child has had to deal with being bullied and the response to the bullying complaint did not produce any real results. My child was told to try to get along with the student that was bullying him and even placed on group projects with this student. Before the physcial bullying began Ihad spoken with a teacher about my concerns of derogatory & inappropriate racial name calling in the school and she stated that this is how teenagers play with each other. I pointed out that this was not appropriate in people of opposite nationalities and that was not the case. Also my child's teachers seem to be more concerned with being his friend than his teacher.


New Providence Middle School 4

Posted May 26, 2012
- a community member
Okay I guess. I think my experience was so-so. I mean the teachers are great! But there are some weird students.. Though the lunch is always are funny because people make funny mixtures with there food!

New Providence Middle School 5

Posted May 13, 2012
- a community member
Most of the teachers are great! The students are okay. I guess the only bad thing is that people will always curse at lunch and " claim " their seat.

New Providence Middle School 5

Posted November 17, 2009
- a student
I think NPMS is one of the best schools in the county. The teachers care about the students. The principal, Mrs. Barnett, is very supportive and cares about us. All of the bad reviews are from parents, not from students that actually attend the school. I am PROUD to say I go to New Providence Middle School.


New Providence Middle School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers seem to really care about the students. The have a large class number, multiple times a day, yet try to give individual attention to each student. Especially those that seem to need help.

New Providence Middle School 4

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
I Think NPMS is a good school. It isn't what a school looks like that makes the school. It takes parental involvement on a daily basis. You could have the newest of everything but if you don't have the parents and staff working together then it's not going to be. This is my sons first year and I was impressed the minute I told the staff I wanted involved I was. I have a great e-mail system with the teachers. So Don't judge a book by it's cover!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Providence Middle School
146 Cunningham Lane, Clarksville, TN  37042
(931) 648-5655
Last modified New Providence Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Providence Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top