Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cleveland High School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
Cleveland High School is an excellent high school in spite of the fact that the school has had a marked increase in student population without benefit of increased teachers to lower teacher/pupil ratios. There are many excellent teachers throughout this school in a variety of subject areas. Our faculty has learned to do more with less because CHS has not been a priority with system administrators due to their laser focus on elementary and middle schools. Our school of excellence could very well be in peril if the needs for expanded faculty, class offerings, and building needs are not addressed immediately. Our system is funded well for city systems in the state, we just need to do a better job of maintaining the only city school in our system that will serve each and every child. Cleveland High has fabulous teachers, coaches, and administration. They just need help from the top.

Cleveland High School 5

Posted February 23, 2008
- a parent
CHS is a great school! The principal is respected by all. He is very approachable and easy to work with. Parent involvement is high and encouraged. The honors courses at Cleveland High School are certainly equal to the best private schools around. And the marching band program is the best in the state!


Cleveland High School 5

Posted February 06, 2008
- a student
I think that the school is amazing especially the choral department. We also have a new library and brand new computers. A state of the are cooling and heating system and great teachers. Although the math is alittle weak the english and science classes are exceptionally great. Mr. Gibson and Mrs. Pace have made a big impact in my life. You two rock!

Cleveland High School 2

Posted October 02, 2007
- a student
Academic programs are weak, the honors classes were easier than the regular courses. CHS left me completley unprepared for college. I achieved a 24 my ACT during my Junior year at that school, and I attribute very little to the shool. Poor leadership, and even worse dicipline. As a former student (class 03), I felt like I was in prision there. The faculty is always watching over your shoulder. Teachers are lazy, power-tripping, and just want to get into everyone's home business. The school is getting on the verge of overcrowding too. The library is bad, and never was used. The computers are bad too, except for in the new additions. I agree w/ the previous post about the band dept. Mr. Burton and the marching band was the only thing that made going to that school bearable.

Cleveland High School 5

Posted April 21, 2007
- a student
The test scores for CHS are misleading. Excellence continues all the way through this school-especially the upper grades!


Cleveland High School 5

Posted June 16, 2006
- a teacher
This is a great school. The academic standards stress that students put forth an effort to attain the content and a level of comprehension. The athletic programs at Cleveland are top in the state. Its past history of state championships include Football, basketball, and wrestling. There are many clubs with which students can actively participate. In a single word Cleveland High School is Great!

Cleveland High School 1

Posted May 12, 2006
- a student
I attended CHS for all of my high school career, and might i say that the experience was very poor. In all my 4 years, i had 2 teachers that i liked, not counting my 2 band directors. The administration is poorly handled, along with discipline. The football players will pass any class, no matter how much they goof off and don't do their work, when the other kids have to work their butts off to get a decent grade. Props to the band program though. That is all that kept me in high school. Mr. Burton and Mr. Riggins are top notch!

Cleveland High School 4

Posted July 26, 2005
- a parent
My child has attended CHS for the past 2 years with 2 more to go. She has thrived there....the Marching Band program is fantastic and has provided her with leadership and travel opportunities. The academic program for those on the college track is challenging and offers lots of individual choices while still empasizing core curriculum.


Cleveland High School 5

Posted April 18, 2004
- a parent
The school has a history of being a quality school. The teachers, besides the coaches, are great. The coaches are great at coaching but poor at teaching. The math department is extremely weak, but the science and English departments are tops.

Cleveland High School 4

Posted March 22, 2004
- a parent
School seems to choose battles wisely. Concerned with what is important, not the picky things that do not matter in the long run. My child much prefers it over middle school. Teachers as a whole do well, coaches however should be left to coach - kids deserve teachers who are really into the subjects they teach. Right on to the principal & band! Overall a great school for resposible young people. If your child is prone to get into or cause trouble, that is not the school's fault .. we like this school .. good to have a principal with backbone for his students.

Nearby schools

Cleveland High School
850 Raider Drive, Cleveland, TN  37312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (423) 478-1113
Last modified Cleveland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top