Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walker Valley High School

Public | 9-12 | 1505 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2012

I can honestly say Walker Valley High School saved my life. I transferred in my freshman year after experiencing extreme bullying at Cleveland High, and I don't even have words for how wonderful it is. Not only are the teachers wonderful, the students are all generally very nice. Teachers use out of the box ideas and take a genuine interest in their students, and the principal knows every single student by name. I've never seen any group of people be so caring in their lives, down to the lunch ladies. Any student is lucky to be able to attend. I'm so thankful this is where I got to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

Better late than never. My son gratuated from Walker Valley by the skin of his teeth. He was at Cleveland until his troublesome junior yr. He transferred to Walker Valley and found a home. Walker Valley struck me as a litle bit of a throw back when teachers taught and kids listened. Caring teachers that created good decent kids coupled with concerned parents created the best high school in this region. I thank Walker Valley for saving my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

My son is a Sophmore at WVHS. He has thrived at this shchool. All the teachers are very caring and the principal is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My daughter is a freshman at WVHS. She has been very happy there. She loves her teachers and the principle is wonderful. They keep the 9th graders away from the rest of the students, if you like that, my daughter likes to be around other kids too, so she doesn't care for that part. I say throw them in there with the rest of the students, like we did in the good ole days, it toughens them up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Walker Valley is like an elite public school. People beg to get in this school. I've attend this school all my high school career and I LOVE it. The teachers really care about what they teach and they want you to do well. There is always tutoring if you need help with anything. Our hour lunch is amazing! If you haven't heard of our marching band, you have been living under a rock. (I'm in the band. If you play an instrument be in this band!!) Of course high school is what you make it, but Walker Valley certainly allows you to make your high school years the best. I can't say enough about this school. If you are going to go to high school in Bradley County and go to Walker Valley.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

I love this school! I went to a small private school in Kingsport for my first 2 years of high school and absolutely hated it! But I moved here and I cant believe how amazing this school is. Mr. Coggin is the best principal in the world. He is so cool. He actually likes us! And all the teachers are great. I've only disliked 2 so far. And the extracurriculars are awesome! This year is my senior year and its going to be the best ever because i have the most amazing classes! And our lunches are unbelievable. We actually get good food, like Papa John's pizza and the chicken caserole is to die for! I can't rate this school high enough! it deserves like a 99 instead of a 5.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

My freshman year I attended another local high school and hated it. I decided to move to Walker Valley and would never move anywhere else! The school is absolutely wonderful and the faculty is amazing! Not to mention how welcoming the students were!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2007

I am a student at Walker Valley and I Love it. There are so many clubs and extra things to be involved in . The teachers are very helpful and they keep a positive attitude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2006

My son is a Junior at Walker Valley HS. He has had a wonderful High School experience! He feels accepted, he feels safe, and he has excelled in all areas. The teachers have been wonderful, he is on The Honor Roll every year so far. Mr. Coggin, the Principal, is a great leader and it shows in his staff and in his students. The Band Program is 'Awesome', Mr. Hunt and Band Staff have made the best Music Program for these kids, it's fun, teaches them responsibility, & gives them self esteem as well as teaching them to work as a team. As a Mother, I am so grateful for 'Walker Valley HS', I know my son's experiences here will lead him to be a successful adult. He literally kisses the school doors 'goodbye' each summer and anxiously awaits the next year. Thank You WVHS Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2006

Walker Valley is absoluetly the Best High school around. My daughter LOVED all of her years there. She Graduated with Honors. My neice moved here from Vegas to have that same opportunity. She TOO is doing well, and been on the Honor Roll for all 3 years. A Clean, safe enviironment, also has excellent Teachers. My kids never wanted to miss school. I have NO complaints!! Awesome Band & music program as well. Karen Auday
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

In a word - excellent! Walker Valley High School is proof that having the right leadership at the top makes all the difference in the world. The principal and teachers genuinely care about the students and it shows. We experienced a high school in a neighboring county for 2 years and there is absolutely no comparison. My kids are learning more, making better grades, and are actually motivated to do well! I thank God every day for Walker Valley High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2005

I have a freshman at walker valley, and it is the first time i've ever heard him say anything like this about a school . But he said, I LOVE HIGH SCHOOL. That from a student say's alot for the school. Thank You Walker Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

I currently have a freshmen at WVHS. My daughter absolutely loves it! The teachers are great, Mr.Coggin is wonderful,the school board just recently allowed blue jeans,and the extra curricular activities & student involvement is great! She is also doing well in school and is hoping to get into the Circle of Champions. We love Walker Valley. (And the basketball team is really good!)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
34%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
51%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students78%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students47%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students74%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students79%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students61%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students43%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Black 4% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

750 Lauderdale Mem Hwy NW
Cleveland, TN 37312
Phone: (423) 336-1383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Harvest Chr Academy
Cleveland, TN


Cleveland High School
Cleveland, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT