Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northeast Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2011

I went to Northeast as a kid, and now my children go there. It's just as good today as it was 30 years ago! The teachers are wonderful, and the parent organization is very active and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

This is my sons first year here and I am very impressed with what I have saw so far. He is excelling in every way possible, from learning, activities, and manners. I am very pleased with the staff they are very loving and helpful with children and students. He comes home every afternoon and tells me all the new things that he has learned. He loves to read and he is being taught it very well. I would definately recommend this school to others and we can all say we are very grateful to all the staff that my son is attending such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

This is my son's second year at Northeast. He is an above average student and the teachers have gone out of their way to make sure that he is still being challenged but at the same time thoroughly enjoying his school days. As an earlier parent wrote 'this is definitely one of Putnam counties best kept secrets', what a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

My son just finished Kinder. here. It was a wonderful experience for us. I love how organized the drop off and pick up is and also how parents feel very welcome there by teachers and staff. No complaints at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

I love working at Northeast! My colleagues are committed and enthusiastic. Our students and parents are fabulous and just as committed to excellence in education. I love my job and could not imagine doing anything else. -Mrs. Crystal
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2007

I love this school! The educators and administrators are amazing. Northeast Elementary really cares about kids and their education. My sons are receiving a quality education and are being nurtured by wonderful, creative teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

What a serene, calm environment! The atmosphere there is conducive to learning. All students are treated as an individual and not just a test score. One of Putnam County's best kept secrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

My kids go to this school.I went there when I was in school.I really enjoyed my time there. I have three girls, each have their on needs so far this school has gave them a reason to want to learn. Thank you and keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White30%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White41%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 67%
Hispanic 18% 7%
Black 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (931) 372-0385

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

575 Old Kentucky Rd
Cookeville, TN 38501
Phone: (931) 526-2978

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Algood Middle School
Cookeville, TN




Highland Rim Academy
Cookeville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT