Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joelton Middle School

Public | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

Wow. Where do I begin? This school is a hot mess. I reluctantly put my child in school here because we are assigned to it. I regret that decision. Grade inflation is off the charts. My child was bringing home A's and B's even though it was not deserved. The TCAP scores told the truth and showed a huge discrepancy. The only bright light is a totally new facility that is being built and a new principal, Dr. Moody. They still have a long way to good and I'm not subjecting my child to any more of the transition stage hoping that it will get better. Time is ticking and critical learning skills are not being taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

Joelton Middle School is the worst school in which I have ever taught. The teachers are overwhelmed and absolutely not supported by the administration or the district. Like most schools, Joelton is understaffed. The students have been dumped there by parents who are rarely involved and too many are disrespectful and woefully lagging behind developmentally and educationally and really don't care. The teachers should be applauded for trying to make a difference. Don't expect things to get better at this school or many others as long as parents aren't held accountable and administrators are only out to protect their own jobs with the district. If you have an alternative to Joelton Middle School, use it.


Posted April 12, 2010

Iagree. My son was a honor student and loved learning. Now that he has been to Joelton, he never has homework, his grades has gone down, and he was also suspended twice. Joelton has had a problem for years. I dreaded my son attending and he will not be returning next year. I feel that the teachers don't take the time with the students. I don't think that the principal is fair. And I know that there is a lot of rasicm there. I would not recommend any child to go here .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

This school is awful. My son went from an A, B student to a mostly all F's. My child had never been suspended in all his school year, he was suspended twice thisyear. Also he was put in ISS, I dont knohow many times. I was a parent that wanted to work with the teachers as much as I possibly could. They decided to work with me at the end of school year. Which was too late considering I will not let my child go to the next grade without making better grades. The Teachers are there for a pay check. They want all the students to be on some type of medicine so they can sit there and do thier homework instead of teaching the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

They are only there for paychecks,not the children.Some students treated better than others for doing the same wrongful things.they try to put students out of school for the simpliest things.If you don't want to teach change jobs.Take notes for rutherford county on how to run a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

I attended Joelton Middle School all four of my middle school years. And never once did I encounter any problems at all. The teachers are wonderful and use creative teaching methods. In my 8th grade year, I recieved all three of my high school credits, out of the three possible and those four years were the most fulfilling I've ever experienced. Even though there is a few moldy spots throughout the school, it is an amazing learning environment. sincerely, Cody Woodside
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

i got all a`s because my teachers tought me well
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2006

Joelton Middle has been a great asset to my son. He transferred from Rose Park which was an awful experience. His grades have improved from all F's at Rose Park to A's & 1 D. He is a much happier child, not coming home overwhelmed with homework and incomplete classwork. Joelton teachers give him his work in class and make sure the kids understand it. He still has homework but not so much that he has to stay up until 10p.m. He was in tutoring every evening when he attended Rose Park but now he doesn't need tutoring the teachers do enough tutoring in class for him, which I think is great. Education is very important for every child and family time is also important. If you are considering a good school this is definitely the one. I am so proud of my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

this is a great school even though they might have mold on the ceiling it is a great school with fine education and lots of academic thing the teachers are great it is save and there are no harmfuf chemicals or anything and so to you all who think it is a bad school you are wrong because I am a proud student of JMS and it is a honor of going to such a fine school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2005

I find Joelton Middle School to be one of the top schools in Davidson County. The teachers there are concerned and want students to learn. The administration and faculty are trying very hard to get us parents involved in our child's education, by having monthly parent meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

Joelton Middle School is a joke. It is not a learning center. The general attitude of Joelton's administration is so non chalant, that they don't care they are just there to get a pay check and our children are left to fend for theirselves. If I could I would definitely take my child as far away from JMS as I could get him. Their idea of teaching, is ridiculus and children are rewarded for their bad behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2003

This school is awful! Molded ceilings, and floors. Plants and grass growing out of the floors. Bugs, and other insects, and the fear of inhauling dangerous things.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
28%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
2%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
11%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
11%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
1%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
20%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students21%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students26%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students55%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students13%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White13%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students19%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students8%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White16%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students51%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students26%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students38%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students54%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students19%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students22%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students54%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 23%
White 32% 67%
Hispanic 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary Nollner

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 Old Clarksville Pk
Joelton, TN 37080
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 876-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pioneer Christian Academy
Whites Creek, TN


Davidson Academy
Nashville, TN



Madison Middle School
Nashville, TN


Clara Muhammad School
Nashville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT