Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar View Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 6 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2011

I transferred to Cedar View in March of my freshman year of high school. Before transferring, I was ranked number one out of four hundred and fifty students at my public high school. After transferring to Cedar View, I at first struggled to keep up with my classmates, because the education there is on such an advanced plane compared to public school. Knowing I strongly desired to catch up with my classmates, the teachers offered me extra help during my study halls and after school and I took full advantage; the love and concern the teachers have for their students at Cedar View is truly unimaginable. It took a great deal of effort and hard work on my part, but thanks to the help of the excellent teachers there, I was able to catch up with my classmates and succeed as a student. I graduated college Summa Cum Laude with a 3.94 GPA and received multiple scholarships. I know this was made possible by the advanced training I received at Cedar View. I truly believe a Cedar View education is the best gift parents can give their children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2011

It's hard to find the words to describe Cedar View Christian school. I guess results speak louder than words. Check out the 2011 Tennessee Association of Christian Schools Academic testing results. http://www.tacs1.org/assets/2011-State-Academic-Testing-Results/2011-State-Academic-Test-Results.pdf One junior male student from Cedar View placed 1st place in three subjects in the state of Tennessee then went on to compete nationally. Cedar View stands out academically. The HS math teacher was valedictorian (top in graduating class) of her college graduating class in mathematics. You won't find this caliber of teacher at other schools. Many times parents of children who struggle in school think placing the child in a private school will make them a good student. The reality is it takes hard work to be a good student and they will have to work much harder in a private school. Those complaining in previous reviews and lies that never occurred ,are parents who were unwilling to put in the time to help their child succeed and expected the school to do the parents job. I have four students at Cedar View Christian and would not want them attending any other school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

After having a child be there for two years, we decided to move her to another private school. Cedar View wasn't a big disappointment. My major concern, was that as far as I knew only one of them held qualifications for teaching. I made a point to many of the faculty members that an issue like that could arise. I believe that in order to understand the development, and fundamentals of a child--a college degree is (or should be required). Therefore, we went to another school where all teachers had to hold a Bachelor's degree, or higher. And, CVCS has TOO much fundraising! We were always raising money, and tuition is higher than most. Higher tuition, and teachers that had no college education...good place, but I prefer a college educated faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

The review posted on July 31st is ridiculous. As a graduate from Cedar View, I am very familiar with the teachers, adminstration and the overall environment of the school. I also have 2 children who have attended from K-3 thru high school. The students are well supervised, the academic expectations are very high and the teachers love the students and are there to help them succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

Teachers aren't qualified, ideas are out of date, drivel is being taught to students. There is nothing Christian about how this school is run. Faculty is snobby, very unwilling to listen, teachers are unwilling to put in time and effort to help struggling students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

My children received an excellent education - one has graduated from college and now has an excellent career and the other will graduate from college this spring. The staff truly care about the students, and the children learn to behave themselves and to act as adults. This school prepares them for society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I graduated from Cedar View in 1989, completed my 4-year degree and now have two children there. Although the facilities are not brand new (no federal funding, mind you), there is academic excellence and high expectations. The teachers love the students and take a genuine interest in seeing that each student excels. Classes are small and well disciplined; students are respectful and well mannered. SAT/ACT scores are higher than average. Drugs and disrespectfulness are not tolerated. There are good sports programs w/coaches that care and teach teamwork and good sportmanship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

The facilities are old and out of date, most of the teachers hold no qualifications, or degrees. Most of the elementary classes are held in trailers. The school is simply inadequate in every way. The other comparable charter schools, such as Tri-cities Christian School, and Providence Academy are light years ahead and as affordable considering the benefits!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

Excellent academics and sports!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Methodist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 143
Kingsport, TN 37662
Phone: (423) 245-6341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT