Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
702 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
We have been a part of the Sacred Heart school family for going on 4 years now. We have two children at the school and have had absolutely amazing teachers thus far. Our children are very intelligent, kind, compassionate, and loving children. Yes, we have worked very hard to establish this, but they also get it at this wonderful school. We have a new principal now and we have already seen him do good things for the children and the school. We feel that our children are truly cared about and are getting a great education.

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
We have two children who are students and are very happy with the curriculum, administration, and wide range of specials. Great opportunities for music, drama, and athletics. The school is preparing our children very well for future endeavors socially, emotionally, and educationally.


Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience with all aspects of the school! Fabulous teachers, excellent support staff and numerous extracurricular activities for the children! Our children are excelling in all subjects and excited about learning more every day about the journey with the Lord! We have become a family with the teachers and friends!

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a community member
Both my children attended SHCS and were amazingly prepared for high school upon graduation. It's much more than a school, it's a family!

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Sacred Heart Cathedral School is a great school. What an amazing community! Both of my children graduated from the school and are doing really well in high school. I think the school offered an outstanding academic and spiritual foundation for my children.


Sacred Heart Cathedral School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Schmidt for helping my son to learn the proper way to write a research paper. Lasting results!

Sacred Heart Cathedral School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Homework varies with the grade levels. With the outstanding teachers and staff there, the student is always challenged and there is always help offered for the students who need it. Sacred Heart takes care of each individual and greatly appreciates diversity!

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
My son graduated from Sacred Heart Cathedral School and I appreciate the high standards and dedication to leading students to be successful in all areas of learning. I believe that attending Catholic school has given my children a fuller education and helped them to be stronger in their faith.


Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
My husband and I have sent 4 sons through Sacred Heart Cathedral School and it has proven each time, to be a wonderful foundation for them, throughout their lives! They live faithful lives and are all very successful young men. I attribute their well-rounded and joyful lives to the years they benefited from Sacred Heart!!

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 3

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
FROM October 9, 2014 Each of our children attended K-8 at SHCS, so we have experience that ranges over a number of years. The new (2013-14) administration (principal, vice principal) are in over their heads. In less than a year, the principal has established a culture of favoritism and fear, causing a number of teachers to flee the school. She doesn't understand how to properly deal with people or use even basic courtesy in communicating with either adults or children. Perhaps the Bishop intentionally chose this new direction. Or perhaps he is not yet aware of it. Either way, within a year or two the only new parents who seek out this school will be parents who are simply committed to Catholic schools and don't want to drive to another part of town. This school will not attract families who undertake an impassioned review of their choices. UPDATE, December 2, 2014 Apparently there will be leadership changes at the at the end of this year. The school will be better for it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Cathedral School
711 South Northshore Drive, Knoxville, TN  37919
(865) 588-0415
Last modified Sacred Heart Cathedral School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sacred Heart Cathedral School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top