Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Knoxville, TN
Students enrolled: 702

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacred Heart Cathedral School 3

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
FROM October 9, 2014 Each of our children attended K-8 at SHCS, so we have experience that ranges over a number of years. The new (2013-14) administration (principal, vice principal) are in over their heads. In less than a year, the principal has established a culture of favoritism and fear, causing a number of teachers to flee the school. She doesn't understand how to properly deal with people or use even basic courtesy in communicating with either adults or children. Perhaps the Bishop intentionally chose this new direction. Or perhaps he is not yet aware of it. Either way, within a year or two the only new parents who seek out this school will be parents who are simply committed to Catholic schools and don't want to drive to another part of town. This school will not attract families who undertake an impassioned review of their choices. UPDATE, December 2, 2014 Apparently there will be leadership changes at the at the end of this year. The school will be better for it.

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
Sacred Heart Cathedral Middle School has been a very positive experience for our middle-schooler. Math, Spanish, Literature Arts, Art, Drama, History and Religion have all been high points this year. With the new principal that started this fall, there have been more family friendly programs like internet safety, and more family friendly policies (no homework on Halloween). There has been more emphasis on Grammar and project based learning.


Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
We started this year and our expectations were exceeded. The environment was positive, yet challenging. Our son came home everyday with a smile on his face. Enjoyed every minute of it. Cannot say enough about the dedicated staff, the community, the offerings...everything....so far, outstanding and worth every penny and then some!

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 3

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
Middle School Good points: ability to take Spanish and electives. Solid on basics. Catholic education. Location, sports. Points to consider: can be a high stress environment which can be discouraging for developing a joy in learning for an insecure child , lots of rote homework with worksheets, and memorization. Focuses heavily on grades with a strict scale that gives a B at 92.5 and C at 85.5 with children being encouraged to log in to online grading and homework system frequently check on their homework and minute grade variations. Honors track classes can be large up to 28 students which is high for a private school. Heavy focus on dress code.

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 1

Posted December 16, 2011
- a parent
The principal is clueless. There are a couple of good teachers, but most are mean and should not be around children. Save your money.


Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
We are investing in the future by sending our children to SHCS to get a solid Catholic education.

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
My daughter could not be any happier there, and is doing great.

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 4

Posted April 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Sacred Heart Cathedral School 1

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
My child hated it there she couldn't stand the teachers and the atmosphere there. It was overly strict and cause too much stress for the children.

Sacred Heart Cathedral School 5

Posted April 07, 2007
- a parent
Best school ever! My child loves it! Especially the smaller classes than public schools!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Cathedral School
711 South Northshore Drive, Knoxville, TN  37919
(865) 588-0415
Last modified Sacred Heart Cathedral School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sacred Heart Cathedral School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top