Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John Neumann School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Knoxville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $292,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

Best kept secret in town! Year after year has top test scores in diocese. My children are thriving and happy in this family-like Catholic school. Great teachers, involved parents and nice kids. Faith formation is top notch, led by the very sweet and beloved religious sisters of Mary. My middle schoolers have learned so much and grown in their faith in amazing ways. Thankful and happy to be blessed to be a part of SJN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

This school is excellent, great staff, kids and families who have a genuine interest in the overall wellbeing of the students. The academics are demanding but our daughter is several grade levels above where she should be. The kids are taught to respect authority in a Christian environment. We are not Catholic and there has not been pressure to convert to Catholicism, rather, we have been taught about the Catholic faith and it has been a great learning experience for our family. I read a few of the negative reviews and I think they must have been posted by children who are getting too much homework or don t like a particular staff member. I don t know where they are getting their information but the school is growing and small class sizes are a good thing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

The librarian is rude and demeaning to the students. She is Condescending and inappropriate with her language. Many students cry and are bullied by her on a daily basis. The staff fears her and continues to voice concerns but the administration ignores the complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2013

The staff is very attentive and personable. We had a teacher go out of her way to come to our kids baseball games twice just to show support and how much she cares. That is the same attitude given by all of St John Neumann's teaching staff. They care about your child as a person and their academic development. The small class sizes allow for more individual attention per child. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

This school used to be a good school but not anymore. More people leave the school every year, the classes are getting smaller. I had 3 kids in this school, my oldest stayed there from kinder to the end of 6th grade. The school used to have two classes with 21 or 22 kids per class, now the smaller grades only have 1 class. They don t have enough kids to fill up two rooms. The rest of the grades have between 13 to 15 kids, which makes very hard for your kids to find a good set of friends or fit there. I decided to leave the school because I noticed I was wasting my money. I will always regret not to leave SJNCS even sooner, I could had enriched the live of my kids with the money I wasted in so many other ways. The kids at SJN are not more advanced than any other kids on public school even though the school emphasize that kids are a year or year an a half advance compare with other schools. False. When my son entered first grade, he was behind compare with those kids that came from public kindergarten. Worst of all, three more kids moved to 1st. grade from SJNCS there (that I know) and the three of them were placed on special programs to catch up with the grade. So sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

We have had nothing but positive experiences with St. John Neumann Catholic School. SJN provides a positive, kind and safe environment for kids to thrive and grow both academically and spiritually. The staff truly does a fantastic job meeting the individual needs of the students and providing support to the families. Further, the Special Services teacher is awesome! She does a great job in meeting the individual needs of ALL the kids - working with those that just need a little help as well as providing exceptional support to the Special Needs child. SJN offers many enrichment and sports opportunities including Art, Music, PE, Technology, Band, Drama, Scouts, Cross Country, Volleyball, Soccer, etc. But, most importantly my kids have been given the opportunity to give back to the community with an emphasis on helping others. One of my children recently requested donations of school supplies for the Mission of Hope instead of birthday gifts! My children routinely hold doors and treat people with respect. I feel this has a lot to do with the respect and kindness that they are shown at school. SJN does an awesome job supporting the development of well-rounded children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

We have been at St John Neumann for five years and have had a wonderful experience. SJN offers a positive encouraging environment for our children to grow and learn. Both of my school age children have had excellent experiences with their teachers. The teachers and staff genuinely care about the kids. We have been extremely happy and would highly recommend this school. I am anxious for my preschooler to have the awesome experience as her siblings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

SJN is not a very good school. Some of those teachers are very mean and do not teach the kids. My children come home with loads of homework that they do not even understand and that I have to teach to them.The discipline is so strict that the overall environment is oppressive. For example, during lunch time if the children are talking to loud they are punished by not having recess/play time. A school management is easly revealed by the courtesy & attention a person is given.The more money you give the more attention you get.Staff will smile to your face, then talk behind your back. This is a very small school, and the unchristian attitude of some staff and teachers has taken over the environment there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

I have so many great things to say about this school that I don't know where to begin. The curriculum is outstanding & current with today's wireless technology. Students test above & beyond grade level in each & every grade. The staff is warm, nurturing & challenge students to think outside the box. The student/teacher ratio allows for individualized attention & instruction. Extracurricular activities & clubs are abundant. Technology, Spanish, Art, Music, PE & Religion are part of the core curriculum in ALL grades K-8. Enrichment courses include band, photography, literary magazine, drama, etc. Parent involvement is welcome & encouraged. Service projects are abundant & outstanding! The students really get involved with helping others! Last, but most importantly, the Catholic education is priceless! I love this school and sleep easily at night knowing that my husband and I have made the the BEST choice for our child's future. A+++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

Excellent school with great teachers, staff and parents. This school has been a great experiece for our child and the schools academics are top rated. The school consistantly ranks in the top on national test and our child is several grade levels above where she should be according to independent testing. The school continues to grow and offer new programs and areas of enlightenment. GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

Amesome school with excellent academics, teachers, staff and parents. Could not be happier with the experience with this small school. The small classes and learning environment make this school an excellent choice. Our child is 3 grade levels above where he should be and the school test higher than 90% in the country. Lots of sports and other programs like photography, music, etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

I am very pleased with this school. It's a smaller school, so everyone knows each other and looks out for each other. They learn morals, values and manners, which kids don't receive in public schools. The new principal is fantastic, their music program is impressive, and there are so many opportunities for parents to involved. The other day, my spouse picked up the children at school (he rarely does), and the teacher who calls the kids out to the car line up, did not recognize my spouse, so she id'd him! I was so pleased to hear that. These people are looking out for our kids! Great school, these kids are learning above their grade levels. My kindergartner is learning things I know I didn't learn until 1st or 2nd grade. I couldn't be happier with Sjncs!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

I am a parent of an 8th grader that transferred from Farragut Intermediate in the 4th grade. My daugther was in TAG at Farragut and was receiving a top education, but we were looking for more that. SJN offers small classes with a fantastic network of parents and teachers, a great faith program, and a great sports program. The school went through a rough period with the administration but since the hire of a new principal and re-establishing PTMO (parents organization), the school has become even better. They are actively trying to improve the school in every aspect - education, sports, and enrichment classes. This school will only continue to get better with each passing year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

This school offers little enrichment for advanced students. There are no clubs, beyond chess and the band program was stopped two years ago. There are many sports available but little in the way of arts and academics. My child was in a TAG program prior to coming to SJN and received no differentiated instruction during the time at SJN. I would not recommend this school to anyone looking for an academic challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

This school should be a model for all schools. The teaching staf is exceptional and the facilities and grounds are unsurpassed. The level creativity and arts are way above the other local and private schools. The children that ayyend St. John Neumann are better prepared for hhigh school and score better than any other private school in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

the school is hard and gives a lot of homework, but i would recommend going there. im in 8th grade and will bee moving on to a new school and will cherish my experience at st john neumann school
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 1% 23%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Knoxville
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

625 Saint John Court
Knoxville, TN 37934
Phone: (865) 777-0077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT