Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bearden Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

Small, diverse, wonderful parental involvement, great teachers, and an atmosphere of joy in learning. Best elem school in Knoxville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

The teachers are either under qualified or incompetent. The school itself is infested by cockroaches. And the quality of the school goes down yearly. My son once enjoyed this school but due to a lack of cooperation with the school had been bullied with no one to turn to. His test grades went from A's and B's to F's. To top it off only one of his teachers actually taught. One of which were fired for their lack of work. This school doesn't deserve an 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

The parental involvement at this school is outstanding. A true community school. Walk your child in and before you know it you feel like family. Teachers, office staff, custodial staff, are all top notch. You would be hard pressed to find a better, more dedicated principal than Mrs. Dunlap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

We moved here in time for this last semester and my son has done very well in the 3rd grade with much better grades and he had a great experience. I will have 2 boys there starting in the fall and I know they will flourish. Thanks for all you do!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The Principal , Teachers & staff are like a family. Mrs Dunlap , The Principal is always there for you every day with a happy face. She inspires and a source of encouragement to all the kids. She knows each and every student by their names. The teachers are very friendly and helpful. My daughter is in Ms Ray class and is very happy & satisfied with her teachers. The Principal, Teachers , Staff and room parents are like a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

BES is the only elementary school we have experienced in Knoxville, and we love it. The parent involvement in this school is exceptional. The teachers and office staff are kind and know the students by name. I never worry about my child's safety, and I know the values I want him to learn are being taught at Bearden. This is a good elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

My daughter asia loves this school. Me ellison made it enjoyable and she learned so much and is looking forwred to school, I am very happy with this school and all it has to offer the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

Wow, I can't say enough great things about this small, diverse, community oriented school! My son has just completed kindergarten and his self-concept and abilities are sky-high! Having taught in two large Knox County schools and at a private school in town, I have just been overjoyed with the one-on-one attention the students' receive at BES. Parent involvement is encouraged and excepted, which is super! I have a child who is reading, writing and performing math skills with amazing confidence. Thanks Bearden Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

My daughter is in First Grade in Mrs. Colquitt's class. She has been an excellent role model to my daughter. I continuously hear how happy she is with the school when she returns home. She was enrolled in Karns previously and had a bad experience so we are delighted to have Mrs. Colquitt and the staff at Bearden to show what a fun and inspirational learning environment should be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

Our favorite aspect of Bearden Elementary is the community spirit. Bearden is small enough to feel 'homey' and for all the students within a grade to know one another. There are many committed, intelligent, active parents who freely give their time and creativity to make our school a treasure. The teachers are very open to parent involvement. The librarian is a gem. The gifted program teacher is a fireball. We're small but mighty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

My 2nd grader says this is her favorite school ever, and I agree! We have been very pleased with the nurturing environment and the concientious teachers. The parents are very involved, in a positive way, and the library is wonderful. My daughter says 'We love it a lot.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2004

This is the best elementary school I have found that works for ALL my children! I have an 7th 6th and a 2nd grader who have all Loved bearden!! My 2nd grader is the only one who has been there since kindergarden But my two middle schoolers loved their time at Bearden! The teachers are friendy and hard working. they make sure your child has fun yet learns a lot at the same time! I would recomend Bearden to any parent who is looking for a new elmentary school! The old principal will be missed but we love the new one just as much!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students72%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 67%
Black 14% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5717 Kingston Pk
Knoxville, TN 37919
Phone: (865) 909-9000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT