Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2011
- a parent
My son attended 2006-2007 3rd and 4th grade. First, we were transfer students from Europe. Ms. Hill was wonderful and our sons education was top notch! He had Mrs. Hanisek for 3rd grade and we love her to this day and we had her going on 5 years ago! Trust this school and it's administration in every way. Love, love, love SH!!

Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Sequouyah elementary school is retriving for the excellence. The principal, and the techers and staff are so professional.


Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
I have 3 children at Sequoyah and have been very involved there as a parent for the last 4 years. No school is perfect, but I think my children have had excellent teachers, the parents are extremely dedicated and involved and it is a small 'neighborhood' school. The principal is completely dedicated to this school and knows every child and parent by name and will do anything within her power to make this school the best. We have been very happy here and our 3 children are achieving great academic success!

Sequoyah Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
I have had children in this school for 12 years. Our experience has been excellent with wonderful, caring teachers who have high expectations for the students. The principal is very involved and knows all of the children and their families.

Sequoyah Elementary School 3

Posted February 21, 2006
- a parent
Sequoyah has great children and great parents, who all want a great school. Sequoyah is very traditional, both in the methods of instruction and the overall atmosphere. Parents are very involved with volunteering, fund-raising, and otherwise helping out. Often the school's high standardized test scores are mentioned as 'proof' of the school's excellence, but keep in mind that here there is a high priority placed on test preparation and test scores. Many of the students at Sequoyah could be achieving incredible levels of problem-solving, high-order critical thinking, in addition to learning the traditional skills and facts, if more individualized, hands-on learning methods were used more often. Because it is a county school, lack of funding for music, art, computer, etc. does pose a problem, as well as large class sizes and an overcrowded school. If you are looking for a neighborhood school in a charming building with a traditional atmosphere, Sequoyah is it.


Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
Sequoyah Elementary is the model of how public schools should work. Parents and teachers work together to make certain that each child is reaching potential. Parent involvement is extremely high and welcomed by teachers. Principal Martha Hill works tirelessly and makes every child feel important. You will not find a better school in the public or private realm.

Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2003
- a parent
Our child previously attended a private school before attending Sequoyah, and we think Sequoyah is even better!! Excellent parental involvement is key in supplementing lack of funding in areas the arts, teacher aids, etc.

Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2003
- a community member
My daughter started kindergarten at Seq. Elem this past school year. The principal knew each child and most parents within the first week of school. The principal asks for parent involvement and is an advocate for the school within the community. The kindergarten teachers are exceptional. We are totally impressed with the overall experience, including the after school care, which is not affiliated but is run in the gym, cafeteria and playground.

Nearby schools

Sequoyah Elementary School
942 Southgate Road Southwest, Knoxville, TN  37919
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (865) 594-1360
Last modified Sequoyah Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top