Advertisement
Advertisement

Metro Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 250 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Madison

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2009

My son is in the 10th grade at MCA. He started going there in 5th grade. I am so glad that I made this move. The teachers are wonderful, the staff really cares about the kid/youth. They have great programs and I thank God for leading us there.If you are looking for a place that is like a family, just go in and talk to some of the people there. They will make you feel welcome and it starts at the front office and all over the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

My daughter goes to mca, and she loved her teachers. I am very pleased with there friendly teachers. The teachers really care if your child suceeds, not just passes to the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

We are very pleased with MCA. The teachers are well qualified and caring. As parents , we have the capability to daily check our children's academic progress. Communication is easily available and encouraged with the teachers and staff. We have children involved in the fine arts program as well as athletics. We feel that they are well balanced . The staff cares and encourages parental involvement. Biblical truths are intergraded in all subjects. We feel that MCA is preparing our children well for college with challenging honor classes and measured by their scores on the SATs . We know that we have made a good investment in our children's education and future by sending them to MCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

My child attended Metro for 6 years. Take it from someone who was a part of it, you dont want to put your children in this school. The teacheres dont care if the students pass. 2 said to me on several occasions that they do not care if the students pass or fail, that it is not their job to care. The rules are completely ridiculous! And, like a few others have said, they do not prepare you for college whatsoever. Yes, they do have a good sports program...but thats all. They look at sports as the main purpose for even having the school open. They dont look at your records and transcrips every year the way they should. They wait until you're a senior to tell you that you have to take a class you should have taken in 9th grade. I do not rate Metro highly at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I have never had a school faculty and staff love on my child like they have at MCA. I feel like my child's best interests and education are at the heart of every MCA staff person. Is it a perfect school? No, but I don't believe there is such a thing. They have very high academic standards and I love the curriculum they use. They have a great athletic program that allows most students to be involved and they have competitions that allow my child to showcase her artistic abilities. Financially they are very affordable compared to the other private schools I looked at. My favorite part of the education at MCA is the spiritual aspect. My daughter memorizes scripture and even challenges me with her Bible knowledge! They are not just educating the mind but are instructing her heart in the truth of God's word. I have been VERY PLEASED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I attended MCA for 2 years, my junior and senior years of high school. I enjoyed my experience for the most part. However, now that I am in college I know that I was not as prepared as I could have been. There was very few staff members that were not teachers. The teachers change every year and you never know who is going to be teaching what class for what grade. My parents and I do attend church just not at Metro Baptist, and because we were not members of the church I was not treated the same as the students whose parents were members of the church or more involved in the school. Also, if your child makes a mistake of any kind then they will probably be made a spectacle of and will be talked about long after they leave the school. I give MCA a C-
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2008

My child is 11 yrs old and has been at MCA for over 3 years. We attend church, but not at Metro Baptist, and I do feel that Metro Baptist members get preferred over others. I do feel that it is a good school compared to the other choices. In some grades, classes are crowded because there is only one teacher.There is alot of change in the teachers from year to year also. Some parents work at the school and also attend Metro Baptist, and their kids get preferential treatment. I do feel that it is a safe place and I do appreciate the Christian values taught at the school which is very important to me. Overall I feel as though my child is receiving an adequate education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Love the school. My kids have been here for their entire education and have learned so much! They feel safe and secure everyday. I don't have to worry about my kids when they are here. I know that my kids are well loved by the teachers also. I have a student in Jr High and one in Elementary and would put their education up against any other students in the school system. I am so glad Metro Christian Academy is available for my children to attend and is so affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

MCA has been an excellent place for my son to attend school. In public schools he is a D to F student, while here has been mostly A to B with the very occasional C. He impresses me with his knowledge of his subjects (especially his math abilities) so, as they say, the proof has been in the pudding. The teachers and other staff have been great, and he likes everyone who teaches or governs his day. Thank you MCA - you've been worth every investment we've made in our son's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

While I feel that my child has had a good experience at MCA I am disappointed in the high school. I do not feel that academics are up to the standards needed for college prep. Football has now taken over as the primary sport and has left other sports out in the cold. There are no after school clubs or even field trips for JH/HS age unless you count the 'JH/HS retreat' or the 'missions' trip the seniors go on. I am disappointed with the change year to year in teachers. You never know who is going to be there or what grade they will be teaching. Even though there is an open door policy, understand that the Church has the final say and if you are not a member your opinion counts very little. MCA is better than public and becoming better,but not in time for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

The teachers we have encountered so far have been great. I think the teachers look too stern. Children can be controlled without those stern, hateful looks. It is in need of a very good administrator. The school has no computer classes for the lower grades, public school and other christian schools do. Safety is A+, the school operates smoothly and very successfully with limited non-teacher personnel. The teachers are extremely dedicated and accessible for communication. Other than the few things listed here, we are extremely pleased with MCA and glad to be a part of it. Good sports program, very nice playground, good traffic control, Godly and dedicated personnel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

My child complains of the super strict rules involved with attending this school. The faculty tries to control the everyday lives of the students(including weekends). Faculty is ok, the school praises itself as college prep but my child was not anywhere ready for college as he could of been. School lacks leadership qualities needed to prepare students to succed in life after high school. I am very dissapointed of the outcome of my childs high school education in attending Metro Christian Academy!ds
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

This past week I attended 'Grandparents Day' at Metro Christian. I am blessed to have 2 grandchildren that attend this school. I was extremely pleased with the whole day. The program that all the children were in was wonderful. When I went to both my grandchildren's class, the teachers were very pleasant and helpful and informative. Both Ms. Gordon and Ms. Silva showcased their class and showed us all the things that they have and are learning. It was wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

My Daughter attended for pre-K and it was fabulous. If i could afford it she would still be there. She said it was the best thing I ever got in my life to go to school at Metro Christian Academy. I recomment it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Phenomenal school; excels in all areas. Discipline tempered with love & genuine caring. No better school in this area for education & teaching the principles of God. Very affordable. Athletics superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 69%
Black 14% 25%
Asian 3% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

730 Neelys Bend Rd
Madison, TN 37115
Phone: (615) 868-6674

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Madison Academy
Madison, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT