Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Memphis Catholic High School - Middle 5

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
2 daughters graduated from Memphis Catholic. Both were prepared for college and have Masters degrees; have great jobs (one is a vice president of a Fortune 500 company).

Memphis Catholic High School - Middle 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
WORST private school in Memphis. There is no lunch program, the Principal could careless about the students well-being and he has the worst attitude. If you want to send your kid to a nice school. This is not the place look else where.


Memphis Catholic High School - Middle 1

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
This has to be the worst Catholic school in Memphis. And I wouldn't dare send my kids back to this school. I wouldn't recommend Memphis Catholic to ANYONE. This school was going great until we got a new Principal that has done nothing but cause damage to this school.

Memphis Catholic High School - Middle 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
This school totally disappointed me with its program and staff. I would not recommend this school at this period of time since children are not motivated to go to college.

Memphis Catholic High School - Middle 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a community member
Back in July of 2013, when I first heard about me going to Catholic, I was kind of interested as private school would be something new for me. I had high expectations for the school and was ready for the school year. The first two months were great but now it's January and I am severely disappointed by the school and my expectations weren't met at all. To begin, the ETW (Education that Works) program never takes a break as just recently students had to work during Christmas Break. My job makes me sick and it gives me migraines that I never get at home. Next is the principal. The principal is a fairly young guy who has no idea how to control a school. He deals with your problems, but doesn't solve them. After that is the faculty and the staff. There are young, fresh out of college kids who some don't even have teaching degrees! They do not address disappointing grades and they give zeroes for everything. Last but not least, the students. The students are just downright evil. Sitting at roughly 200 kids, it has ups and downs due to the small population. An up is that it is not crowded. A down is that rumors will spread quicker than wildfire. Personally, I would not recommend Catholic


Memphis Catholic High School - Middle 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
I feel like the principal doesn't care about the students and the teachers just want an easy paycheck and doesn't build a relationship with the kids. I don't like Catholic and I wouldn't recommend to anyone interested in the school. The Education that Works cuts into extracurricular activities and stresses the students out! If you're looking for a great, educational environment for your student, I wouldn't recommend this school for your child.

Memphis Catholic High School - Middle 1

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at Memphis Catholic. We chose this school based on the price and the past reputation it had maintained. Since the beginning of the school year we have had problems with the teachers, the parent/teacher communication, as well as, the new principal. The teachers obviously are there simply for a pay check and not to teach these children! They do not update the online system, Edline. Currently we are in middle May and the grades online haven't been updated since Jan.! These teachers allow children to accumulate zeros and don't bother to notify parents. There is only one parent/teacher night, which is held at the beginning of the school year, and that's it!! The principal clearly has no idea how to run this school and doesn't take action for any complaints or concerns that are brought to his attention! If your looking for a building to send your children to during the school year, this is it! But if your looking for a School with teachers that care about your children and actually educate them, or a school that communicates with their parents and keeps you up to date on your child's progress, then LOOK ELSEWHERE.....THIS IS NOT THE PLACE!!!!!

Memphis Catholic High School - Middle
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
I work at St. Peter Villa (right next to Catholic High). We have some of their students doing the work-study program here at the Villa. What a fine group of students! This program allows teenagers to experience day to day life in a work environment. It teaches them how to act, dress, and interact in the work place. Great school!


Memphis Catholic High School - Middle
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a community member
The small class sizes with caring instructors challenge the students to consider 'the possible' for their futures.

Memphis Catholic High School - Middle
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a community member
Memphis Catholic does a great job of preparing today's youth for the real world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Memphis Catholic High School - Middle
61 N McLean Boulevard, Memphis, TN  38104
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (901) 276-1221
Last modified Memphis Catholic High School - Middle is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top