Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Agnes Academy-St. Dominic School

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Memphis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2009

SAA excels at teaching values and at fostering lifelong friendships. I am also very greatful for how well prepared I was for college, particularly in English.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I graduated from St. Agnes, and I know I teach pre k at St. Agnes and St. Dominic. As a student, I felt like I truly held an identity, and wasn't just a number. Academically, I was more than prepared for college, yet I was also prepared emotionally and spiritually, as well. I feel that diversity that surrounded me, helped shape my thoughts and beliefs that I still have today. As a teacher at the school, SAA-SDS still teaches me. Whenever I feel lost, there is someone who is more than happy to guide and support me. Through both the families that attend the school, and the SAA-SDS family, I feel that I am able to give back the same quality academic and religious education that I was so blessed to receive as a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

we don't have a library, we have a 'cybrary.' It is connected to the technology world unlike any school I have seen. We have a distance Learning center where a class can talk and intersct with some one studying polar bears at the north pole. amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Everything. The lasting relationships that I forged there will never be broken. The education is top-notch as well as the sports programs and social experiences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

It gives the students an excellent education and preparation to be active and concerned citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

Excellent academics. Great student to teacher ratio. Each student has their own laptop computer to use during school year. Experienced dynamic teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

This is a wonderful school. Caring, strict, advanced technology. Many non-Catholic students go here. A longstanding strong education in Memphis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

It is more than I could have asked for. The teachers and administrators are amazing! The technology is above any school in the surrounding area (in my opinion the nation), which is supported by the Apple Distinguished award we received this past year. It is a school with strong tradition, which can be seen everyday. The school also does a great job making sure to incorporate God in our lives everyday. I would recommend this school to anyone who is considering sending their daughter or son to a private school in Memphis. The education and love they will receive here is above the rest. Through the leadership of our great President, Mrs. Barbara Daush, the school has accomplished great things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

Excellent in all areas! Low teacher to student ratio*Advanced in technology...new Cyberary to open this fall*A fantastic fine arts department*Opportunities in many sports programs to students of all ages* Outstanding teachers & happy students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

Pre-K - Kindergarten have so far been exceptional. The teachers have been very committed to learning outcomes, including a very high emphasis on reading and writing. A wide range of activities were employed for our daughter including many hands on activities to allow her to learn at her own pace. A very effective positive reward system is used for discipline. The social atmosphere of the school is also very nice. She has bonded with most of her classmates in very positive manner nad formed close friendships with several as well. We have found that most of the parents are very nice and very involved with their child's education. Extracurricular activities are abundant and a wide range of learning environments are offered including music, foreign language, and PE.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4830 Walnut Grove Rd
Memphis, TN 38117
Phone: (901) 435-5802

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Concord Academy
Memphis, TN




Avon Lenox School
Memphis, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT