Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richland Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2008

Richland Elementary is a wonderful school. Excellent Principal, Great Teachers, and a hardworking, dedicated PTO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

We love Richland! Great teachers, great school. Wonderful PTO involvement. We couldn't be happier with the education our son is getting there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

This is the best elementary school in Memphis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

As a parent of three children, two of which are currently enrolled at Richland, I cannot say enough about this school!! The teachers are amazing, parental involvement is outstanding, and the principal is great. My third grader is reading on the 11th grade level and my formerly shy kindergartener has blossomed under the leadership of his amazing teacher. This is the best school in the Memphis area- where else can you get a free education that equals, and even surpasses, most area private schools?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

This school is Tops in every category. To enroll our child in KK, my Wife and I had to wait in several long lines at the Board of Edu. on numerous occasions to get the opportunity to register. It was well worth the time we spent! Our daughter is a straight-A student in the second grade. I am most impressed by the parent involvement at the school. Everything from Parents On Patrol, (POP), Dads of Great Students (Watch D.O.G.S), and the Parent Teacher Organization (PTO). Richland is not a Title I school which means they do not get some state $$. Richland does quite well with the PTO fundraisers and events. I am thankful for the outstanding leadership of the Richland PTO and all of the hard work they do to enrich the children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

I just love this school. My child has special needs and their counsler and teachers have worked very hard with us as parents. It's nice having them there for both our support as well as our child's. I would highly recommend them. There are also many things going on within the school to stay active and be involved in the community. I am a very proud parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

We love Richland! My daughter has been there for 2 years and my son will start KK there next year. The principal is excellent, the teachers are wonderful and the curriculum is first rate. And I am a teacher so I feel like I know what things to look for. The thing that really pulled us there was the parent involvement. Richland has been selected as one of the top parent involvement programs in the state of TN twice in the past and still maintains a huge PTO group which contributes in innumerable ways to the school, including thousands of $$ from fundraising efforts. I am so glad there is a 'choice' in our public schools and encourage anyone who is on the fence to attend one of Richland's monthly tours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

My child started this school this past August. I am so happy with this school. Last year, she was in private school and this year we decided to send her to public school. This school has far exceeded my expectations. I am satisfied with my child's teacher and the school principal. This has been truly a great experience for us. We plan to send my daughter back to this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

This school has been great even though my child has some special needs, they have been great. We love the amount of parent envolvement here. Parents these days are going to have to do this if they want to change the future of public schools in this city. Take responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

We have 2 children at Richland and I must say we have been pleasantly surprised with the quality of teachers and faculty available to us. The principle is proactive and responsive to the needs of the students and the parents. As with most things, you get out of the experience what you put into it. Active involvement in the school's PTO and the many school programs and activities is a must! Parental involvement is strongly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

My children recently enrolled in this school.I feel the school is overrated and that the leadership wants to keep minorities away. We have never felt welcome and I feel they systematically fail children based on race
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

My husbnad and I moved into the neighborhood so that our daughter could start Kindergarten @ Richland. We have not been disappointed. Richland is an excellent school w/ a lot of parent involvement. The teachers are great and security is taken very seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

My son has attended Richland for 2 years. It was an adjustment coming from private school. The principal made me feel good leaving my child everyday and I knew he was in good hands. He had a wonderful year and learned much. This year his teacher has worked hard to do whatever she can to help my child succeed. I appreciate their patience with all children. It is great to be apart of the Richland Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

As I have 2 older sons who attended private school, I decided to try public school for my daughter entering kindergarten. She spent 3 years at Richland, and I have regretted it many times since removing her. While the overall presentation of the school is impressive, she had a kindergarten teacher who was not in the least nurturing, and although many parents complained, nothing was done, as she has been 'in the system' for a long time. First grade was no improvement, and in retrospect, I realize I did harm to my daughter, as she has a perception of school as very stressful, and has been 'turned off' from learning. Now I'm trying to reframe her thinking after moving on to a private school which offers a more nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

Richland Elementary creates a nurturing environment for its students and instills a deep love for learning. The faculty and staff are outstanding. Both of my children have excelled at Richland. The CLUE program for the academically talented has allowed them to develop their higher thinking skills and supplements in class academic study. The level of parental involvement is high, with alot of support for the teachers. Richland is a jewel within the Memphis City School system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

We transferred to this school since we do not live in this district. It is fabulous. The principal is fabulous. He knew our names and my daughter's name the 1st full day of school. We were impressed since we were new to the school! Parental involvement is great. The teachers are great. Wonderful after-school program. We love Richland!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
African American53%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students76%
African American79%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
African American63%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American90%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students78%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 67%
Black 19% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5440 Rich Rd
Memphis, TN 38120
Phone: (901) 416-2148

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT