Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

White Station Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2008

white station middle is a great school for students!!!!well im a student at wsms, this is my first year. and im really injoing myself there.go sparatns!!!!!!!!!!!!!! alexis!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I think that the snobbery expressed in the two previous posts is a perfect example of what makes this such a BAD school with a focus on cliques, rivalry, snobbery, and fostering a false sense of superiority among Optional students, rather than focusing on learning. The tone in these two previous posts says it all: this is a school for students who want to live under the delusion that they are somehow better than other students because of which program they are in. The faculty should really do something to bring these students together, rather than fostering the apartheid mentality as they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I started going to White Station Middle in the seventh grade and am currently in the eighth grade. I love my school sooo much because no matter who you are, you are bound to find some of the best friends you will ever have in your lifetime. Just the same, the teachers are very pushy and help you prepare for whatever it is that you want to do in life. My friends and I have competitions to see who will get a better grade! In fact, we actually consider being called a nerd a compliment. Private schools- sure- better name and all but the reason that our scores are not as good as theirs is because of the Traditional section. The Optional Section is really what you are going for. Once you get there, it will take a lot to stop you from whatever you want to do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2008

I love this school. I'm an optional 8th grader, and all my teachers this year and last year really enjoy their jobs. If the traditional kids cared at ALL, this school would be so much better. I think the new building has really helped rid of all the 'gangster' conduct. It's hard to be a 'gangster' in the nicest looking school in Memphis. I am moving on to the high school, and I am hoping they will build such a nice school there for that reason alone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2008

WSMS is a very good school and is an excellent learning enviroment. My Daughter love it. It's actually a complement for the students to call each other a nerd lol. My Daughter would actually compete with her friends to see who would get the highest grade on an assignment. Learning was actually fun for her there. What more would you want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

I didnt like it that much being a student there for 2 years. The teachers were ok but it didnt feel like home during my 8th grade year as much as it did my 7th.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

Why pay money for private school? WSMS is the best middle school in Shelby County. My son is far more prepared for high school than any of his friends in private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

This school is beautiful, the teachers are great, and I feel very safe! I definately think more people should look at WSMS
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2007

I love the school! I am an 8th grader in the optional program. It feels like one big family! Really good music program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2007

I am a new parent at WSMS this year with a sixth grader. I have found WSMS to be a wonderful school, from the Principal, Principal Assistants, Teachers, and Students. This is a wonderful school to have your child attend. Communication is the biggest thing I like, you are always up to date with what is going on and when. We give the school a 5 star as it is one of the best in Memphis...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2007

I love WSMS! Im in the 7th Grade and there is soo much to do! I am in the Concert Band and its soo much fun. My favorite teacher, Mr. B.Jones, teaches Pre-Algebra great! All of the teachers do! This school is way better than my last school where people made fun of you and stuff. No body does that this year! --A.B
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2006

I'm a 8th grader at WSMS! I think it is a wonderful school! My teachers are Mrs.Morton,Ms.Porterfield,Ms.Neely,and Mr.Jackson! I am also a Basketball player and in choir at WSMS!We have alot of parents supporting our school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2006

I go WSMS and its the best. I am in the 7th grade. My teacher Mr.Willard is everyone's favorite. Mrs.Law is very helpful for math and I have so many other great teachers. I hope I end the year with great success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2006

I am an 8th grader at WSMS and I really am enjoying my experience at this wonderful school. Mrs. Clapsadle is the most amazing science teacher in the world and all of the teachers are outstanding in their area of teaching.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2006

i recently moved from WSMS to some school in arizona. white station middle is the best school i've been to. i would like to thank my teacher mr shaw for everything he's done for me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2006

WSMS has an excellent academic program. It's very clear that the entire faculty and administrative staff are committed to cultivating an environment that encourages the kids to achieve excellence. In addition, the school's symphonic band program is wonderful and provides a supportive, fun learning environment that has also produced some very talented musical ensembles. The level of parental involvement at WSMS is outstanding, as indicated by the other reviews here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

white station middle is a very good school.the librarian,Mrs,Emily Squires ,is very helpful to students and parents.the teachers really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

White Station Middle is the best school for me. The faculty and staff are wonderful. I had a wonderful math teacher, Mr. A. Shaw, and a marvelous english teacher, Ms. J. Scott. Thank you WSMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2005

White Station is a wonderful school with challenging teachers and a fabulous performing arts program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2004

White Station Middle Schools is in my opinion the best school that my child has been in. She recently completed the 8th grade. I have another daughter starting there this fall. The teachers and faculty of the school are very demanding of the students, but that is because they truly care for the kids. Teachers and staff are awesome! Mr. Michael William (the choir instructor) has been the most valuable person in my daughter s life! She really blossomed under his guidance in so many ways (not just vocally). He loves all the kids he works with and it is so evident! He is a one of a kind teacher and White Station is benefiting from it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American34%
Asian95%
Hispanic47%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students74%
African American51%
Asian90%
Hispanic64%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American46%
Asian95%
Hispanic61%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African American33%
Asian81%
Hispanic35%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American43%
Asian84%
Hispanic37%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
African American57%
Asian95%
Hispanic63%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American40%
Asian92%
Hispanic52%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students66%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 67%
Black 37% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (901) 416-2187

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5465 Mason Rd
Memphis, TN 38120
Phone: (901) 416-2184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Concord Academy
Memphis, TN




Avon Lenox School
Memphis, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT