Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sea Isle Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 540 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

The teachers and the support staff at this school are incredible. My child has attended Sea Isle for kindergarten and 1st grade and has learned so much in the past 2 years. I can't wait to see what he will learn in 2nd grade. We had a problem this year and his teacher along with other teachers promptly addressed the problem and handled it accordingly. We are so proud to be a part of Sea Isle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

Sea Isle Elementary has been great so far. My son is totally engaged and sets very high standards for himself because of his commitment to being the best. His drive is a direct result of high standards set by his educators. We are committed to high standards at home as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

This school is AWESOME, they are so attentive to each student's need and the involvement is so overwhelming. I give this school 1000 thumbs up. Keep up the work Islanders!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

This is a great public school in a system that doesn;t have very many good schools. The neighborhood and surrounding community are very safe and stable and the parental involvment is great.


Posted July 10, 2009

As a grandparent of 2 students at Sea Isle, each time I attend the school for various events, I am impressed by all teachers and ethics learned.


Posted October 20, 2008

As my oldest child entered kindergarten this year, we are new to Sea Isle but I am already very impressed. Dr. Evans and Ms. Poole are doing a wonderful job steering the ship, and the teachers and fellow parents have been wonderful. The parental involvement is outstanding, and it's great to see the school engaging parents and the community for the betterment of our children. My daughter loves Sea Isle and is blossoming, and we look forward to many wonderful years at this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I just returned from the Grandparents breakfast and I am impressed by the teachers & children


Posted May 22, 2008

I have one child that just graduated the Preschool program at Sea Isle Elementary. The teaching and administration staff seem very dedicated to each child's success. The environment at Sea Isle is very warm and positive. A great place for learning. 5 Stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

This is my sons fifth year at Sea Isle and my daughters second.They both love it. The teachers and the parent involvement are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

I have a child who attends Sea Isle and both he and we(the parents) love it. The teachers- excellent. The staff- supportive and professional. The administration- second to none. The outstanding educational program is a great foundation for the continued learning of children. Never before had I seen, or heard of, the ratio of student teachers to classrooms. Sea Isle had a student teacher, in an accreditted teaching program, in every class along with the classroom teachers. Dr. Evans, the principal, is amazing; she greets children individually every morning and knows them personally. The PTO at Sea Isle has a very high involvement with the school and almost every child's parent is involved in some fashion. Overall an outstanding school- we are looking forward to our youngest beginning school here next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

This is my daughter's first year at Sea Isle. It came highly recommended by her preschool teacher. I am so impressed. I met the principal and some of the staff this summer and felt such warmth from them. My daughter knew a lot coming in and Ms. K. Williams has increased her knowledge even more. Ms. Porter is a model for all administrators in the district. That is why she trains future principals in the New Leaders program. Parents are always welcomed there. It is very diverse and the teachers show no favoritism. It is a great school and leader among leaders. My child is learning to sail by excelling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

We loved Sea Isle. We just moved out of state and it makes me sad to know we will not be attending Sea Isle this fall. Ms Porter is wonderful and the kids love her. Ms Williams is a great kindergarten teacher and Mrs Baldridge is a caring teacher who loves her class as if they were her own. She is an amazing teacher. We miss Sea Isle very much. Amanda West
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

My son will be attending his 3rd year at Sea Isle this year. We have total faith in the teachers and principal. They really live up to their motto: Children learn to sail by excelling! My son loves school and can't wait to go back every year. -Jacksons
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

My child is a fourth grader. She has had an excellent set of teachers from K-4. Mrs. Porter sets the tune for the environment and parents feel welcomed in the school. Sea Isle is a model school! They have some outstanding teacher that keep the expectations high for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

Sea Isle is a great school. There is a wonderful support system of parents and the community. The faculty and administration have worked hard to establish a solid reputation for ensuring that each student has every opportunity to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

I have the second of my 4 children in school here now, and I love the school. Ms. Porter is the most caring and compassionate person, and she goes out of her way to acknowledge each child and make them feel like family. I look forward to my other two children going there when they reach school age because of the quality of education I know they will receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
14%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
26%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students48%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
White54%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students33%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students37%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students74%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students52%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 23%
White 28% 67%
Hispanic 11% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 416-2109

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5250 Sea Isle Rd
Memphis, TN 38117
Phone: (901) 416-2104

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT