Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Discovery School @ Reeves-Rogers

Public | PK-6, 8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

We love Discovery School! My daughter has attended the last two years. We have had wonderful teachers, the staff is fabulous and Dr Clark has been an amazing principle. I feel that not only is my daughter receiving a quality education but a well rounded education. I love that my daughter comes home from school happy and feeling loved and nurtured by everyone at her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

I just can't say enough positive things about this school! My child and myself love her teacher and all of the staff. It is becoming a second family for us. My daughter is learning so much in every aspect... math, reading, science. I just can't say enough and I am hoping my younger will attend the school as well!!! I have high standards and I am just really happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My son who is intelligently gifted went to this school. His teachers were Ms. Jones(not there anymore) and Ms. Burt who are awesome teachers who actually care. Only bad thing is some students can't get in because of no seats left because of teacher 'politics' and the staff having their kids there no matter what test scores their kids make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

I'm honestly undecided about how "great" Discovery School is. I want to love it, but for the most part I've been underwhelmed. Many of the "enrichments" are only superficial -- 30 minutes of foreign language instruction each week doesn't accomplish anything. The children would probably benefit more from an extra 30 minutes on the playground. Many of the lessons and activities seem designed more to impress the parents than to benefit the children. The school doesn't have a progressive or creative curiculum; it's the standard state curiculum drilled harder and faster. I haven't yet decided if this is good or bad. There is little to no free playtime even in kindergarten. Technology is not employed in an instructive way; there is virtually no ethnic or class diversity; there are few extracurriculars; field trips are infrequent and uninspired. The teachers are only average but totally adequate (it doesn't take an Anne Sullivan to teach the 3 R's to gifted kids). There's an awful lot of preening and self-congratulation. Overall, the school is good but has plenty of room for improvement. The school's greatest asset is the children themselves, who are undeniably amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

My daughter has attended Discovery School since Kindergarten, she is now in the middle half of 6th grade. The environment at this school is one that nurtures, challenges and builds self esteem. The teachers are the best! They engage the kids to make learning and achieving fun. I could not be happier with Discovery or the performance of my child. She loves this school, her teachers and her friends there. Discovery is the only elementary school that completes with middle and high school robotics teams. We always come away with some first place trophies and this year we came in 4th overall. I am very blessed that she has been able to attend here and so is she.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

I have never been to a school like Discovery School. I went there for 4 years and loved every minute of it. The teachers there really care for every student and your classmates are extremely fun and nice. The education there is beyond "honors" and the teachers are very creative with their assignments. Students from 4th grade and up receive an apple laptop, which makes the learning so much fun! You can also use these for projects (making powerpoints, movies, songs, etc) Everyone at Discovery was my family, and i miss them like crazy now! If your looking from a homey atmosphere and nicest staff ever... Discovery Schools the place to be :)


Posted November 18, 2011

My Child attended her for two years. We have since moved to MA to attend the "best schools in the country." What a joke. Our child was way ahead upon getting here. We miss the accessability of the teachers and the environment that not only encouraged learning but made it cool. Excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2010

My daughter has been in the Discovery School at Reeves Rogers since Kindergarten and I am completely satisfied with the performance of the teachers, students, parents and faculty. This is overall a very impressive and well rounded educational facility, thriving among all other public schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My grandchildren attend this school and I can't believe what a top notch school this is....the teachers go above and beyond for the students. These intelligent students enjoy going to school.


Posted April 27, 2010

Wonderful, awesome, fun, creative, great learning enviroment etc..... Private school education paid for with your tax dollars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

Discovery School students do a significant amount of work learning to think, not just being drilled on concepts and skills. I appreciate the amount of creativity that goes into my children's lessons (I have a 2nd grader and a Kindergartner at DSRR) and the emphasis on critical thinking. DSRR kids like hard work and are successful at learning to solve problems in group settings. They love to be challenged and do not shy away from learning new things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

My child is doing good at discovery. She is learning square roots in kindergarten
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

The teachers are very nice. My child comes home very happy, they have things to do during school, and extra activities. They are also very reliable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Last year, our students led the state in math and science TCAP test scores. Our 5th graders had the highest writing assessment scores in the state this spring. When our students competed in their first BEST Robotics competition last fall, they were the youngest group there and went head-to-head with high school students. They won one segment of the competition outright and brought home an impressive seventh overall finish. Last year, our 6th grade band had more students named to the all-county band than any other school. In its first time competing, the Discovery team ranked second in the state with one student tying for third in individual achievement in the 2009 Math League Contest. In technology, our school is a state leader, too. Discovery was the first elementary school to have a one-to-one laptop program for students in grades 4-6. Our children are expanding their global horizons through special projects with schools in Turkey and China. Next summer, a group of our students will be going to Turkey for International Space Camp. Our Discovery School students also give community service a high priority. They give their time and resources to benefit Ronald McDonald House, Pennies for Peace and a long list of local causes and charities aimed at bettering our community. Discovery students are also excelling individually. Last year, members of our student body won national writing competitions, the county spelling bee and math competitions. Beyond the classroom, our students sing in elite choral groups, perform in regional theater, and claim top awards at regional and national gymnastics and martial arts contests to name just a very few accomplishments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

Exceptional kindergarten teachers. I am ecstatic that my child is attending Discovery. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

My daughter has attended Discovery School since Kindergarten. Her first two years were far above all of our expectations. Her teachers kept her challenged while allowing her to feel confident in her successes. In 2nd grade the curriculum has really disappointed us for the first time. Also the leadership is allowing disruptive classroom behavior which takes away from everyone else who wants to learn and succeed. I have heard that the 3rd grade teachers are fantastic so I will allow my daughter to continue at DS for another year. I would love to see fair treatment of all students regardless of color, race, etc. like it was during its 1st year. If a student's actions are not condusive to an excellent learning environment then I do not believe that student should be allowed to stay at DS...there are too many other deserving children who would be a better fit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

To me, the great things about this school are my child's peers, the way the faculty and staff treat him with respect, parent involvement, and the variety of learning experiences. I know my child is intelligent and he was before he went to this school and he will be after. I am not concerned if they introduce multiplication at grade 3 or 1 or what his projects are or his spelling words or when they introduce power point presentations - he will get all of that whenever. I care about his self esteem, his sense of self, his respect for others, his ability to think and solve and hypothesize and make mistakes and try again. This school, the teachers, his peers....they give the environment that supports this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

DSRR is now under dynamic, intelligent and forward thinking leadership. Teachers are working to make DSRR incredible. Of course there are always ways to improve. Come in, discuss the problems you have - we cannot improve unless we know your desires, likes, dislikes and what great ideas you have.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2008

I am really disappointed in Discovery School. I have had children in this school since the inception. Technology is great, however, the academics are not what we expected or were promised. It could be so much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

This school does not exist anymore. It is now the Discovery School at Reeves Rogers and has moved.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 67%
Black 6% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1807 Greenland Dr
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Phone: (615) 895-4973

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cedar Grove School
Murfreesboro, TN




Hobgood Elementary School
Murfreesboro, TN


Central Middle School
Murfreesboro, TN


Central Magnet School
Murfreesboro, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT