Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Siegel Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

My son, who has been an A student since he was in first grade, describes his 3 years here as the worst school years of his life. From my view, sending home dozens of worksheets, with very little lecture support, is for all intents and purposes making the kids teach themselves, and there are a lot of worksheets sent home requiring the kids to thumb through their texts for hours, without support of classroom notes. Hours of busy work every night with one science teacher telling them that if she knew their names they'd probably done something wrong, and others not knowing how to pronounce words correctly on subjects they were teaching, or sometimes even not knowing the meanings of words that were in their own lessons, added up to a poor three year experience. Also a tremendous lack of balance from mini school to mini school as far as work load is concerned. Poor leadership
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Siegel Middle School is considered by many one of the best middle schools in the county. Keep in mind that just because you have some angry parents that post on here, that doesn't necessarily make the statements true. That being said, we did have issues with a few teachers that were over-legalistic (ISS for no belt???- are you kidding?) and felt the need to lord over the students vs. teach them. These were primarily in 6th and 7th grade. Oh, how I wish I could name names... Overall, though, I felt my kids had a good experience and a well-above-average education out of it. (They are moving on to Siegel High now.) There are indeed some STELLAR teachers at this school and despite the strict legalistic leadership, these teachers shine and have the ability to inspire students. No school is without its bad apple teachers, and Siegel Middle is no different. Unfortunately, because of political correctness, it could take a few years for those bad apples to get transferred to D-hall duty or whatever the heck place those types go when they can't teach. :) I give it a high 4, of 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

We're 1/2 way through the 6th grade year. You've got to be kidding me? We have a teacher (female) in Bschool that intimidates the students to a point of fear of asking questions. I wonder why some students don't have awesome grades in that class environment? It has been made very evident that parent involvement is tolerated at a minimum. Teacher and principle exhert power and authority over 11 year olds,,, awesome. Why don't you pick on someone your own age?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

So far? I'm not impressed. AT ALL! My child has been in this school less than 2 weeks and has been in tears a half dozen times at least. She is appalled at the fact that the teachers are allowed to and do tell the students to "shut up!" They yell and criticize, not TEACH! If the students already knew the material, there would be no need for the TEACHER!! The dress code is enforced on a pick and choose basis and does not include all students. Just in case anyone was wondering, the rude language and critical comments have not been made to my child specifically so this should not be brushed off as a disgruntled student. It's across the board and I guess the long term students are just used to it. Absolutely ridiculous! I will be educating myself on this state and county and plan to see some changes immediately!! How dare this school demand respect from students and not offer the same?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

school is adequate with some great teachers but principal lacks ability and vision to properly inspire staff . principal also shows poor judgement in creating/enforcing school policies
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

The principal bragged to me that he once made paddles in shop and also let me know that the only reason that they stopped paddling students was because "Too many parents are lawyers and doctors and some kids bruise easily." I was deeply saddened by this statement. I would like to express thanks to all of the parent who are lawyers and doctors who would do something about their children being abused in this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

A great school with teachers that care about the students


Posted November 23, 2009

I love Siegel. im in 8th grade, and still hate tucking in my shirt. But rules are.....well, rules. It's a good school... we may not all have had good teachers but you have more the one and everyone at least likes two!! the sports are great.. im a runner. you never know what talent you have til you try it.. Siegel gives you many oppertunities...take advantage of them. all in all, it's a great learing environment and the teachers really care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

This is my first year at Siegel and I am in 7th grade. So far, my overall thoughts have been a mixture of positive and negative. To start off, I think the structure of the school could've been a bit more organized. Understandably so, there is often a lot of traffic going on in the parking lots at dismissal time, but no where near as organized as Erma Siegel's (my previous school). I agree with the tucking-in rule for safety reasons, but the administrators can sometimes go a little too far with the rules. The teachers are generally kind and helpful, but I do agree with the fact that some of them seriously need to get fired for their rudeness and lack of disciplining skills. I am, however, impressed with the wide variety of after-school opportunities here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

My experience at Seigel Middle was not great. I think the school is run more like a dictatorship than a learing place. Some teachers are nice and helpful, but the majority is not helpful. Teachers tend to worry more about the dress code than about the way things effect us. Also there is alot of verbal bullying that the teachers seem to turn thier backs on. It was as if they didnt want to acknowledge that the school had any forms of problems. I did meet some of my best friends there so that was a positive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

I like siegel. I have made good friends there and everyone is very nice. Teachers are very nice. But sometimes teachers can ruin students school experience by putting down student sprit. There is a fine line in which students must walk and if not done the exact way teachers want it the student will be in serious trouble, which can either be a good thing or a bad depending on how peolpe see things. The school teaches us alot of responsiblity though.


Posted July 23, 2008

My daughter is going on her 3rd year at Siegel Middle. She has truly 'blossomed' in the positive atmosphere. The teachers are very knowledgable about the curriculum and teach with varied strategies. The principal can seem stern, but he seems to have the best interests of the children in mind. I appreciate it that he doesn't cater to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

My daughter is very happy at siegel middle. She has got a great education and I couldnt ask for more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

All the negative reviews are surprising. My daughter has had a wonderful year at siegel middle. The teachers have been accessible and encouraging. My daughter has extreme physical challenges. The principlal has responded to all my questions and to the needs of my child. She is also intellectually gifted. She has been challenged by her teachers and learned much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

The school is kept at a very cold temperature which would obviously make students uncomfortable, as well as having a dress code which would perpetuate an unpleasant learning experience. Both boys and girls are required to tuck their shirts into their clothes. This not only discourages individuality, but would be a distraction to students like my daughter, who have a problem with their body image. This is an archaic practice. This is not the 1950s'. The students are only given 4 minutes between classes, which is an inadequate amount of time to use the bathroom if needed, or to gather materials needed for classwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

As this school year comes to an end, I am hoping for a better experience for my child next year. If it were possible I would have my child attend any other school but Siegel. The teachers incompentent as well as just plain rude. Parents are not encouraged to get involved with their childs teachers in fact when you show interest in what is going on in the classroom the teachers become very defensive. This makes me wonder if they are hiding something. One teacher in particular should retire, she is probably the most miserable woman I have ever met. No compassion, but you better have your belt on and your shirt tucked in! If more energy was spent on getting to know the students and less time worrying about a belt, perhaps it would be a positive atmosphere for a child to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

Well my son had a okay experience. I don't believe that children of different backgrounds are given a fair opportunity at this particular school. There is not much diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Siegel Middle School has proven to be an excellent choice for my son. This is his second year (now in 7th) and he really enjoys it. We are pleased not only with the teachers, but also the extracurricular activities such as band, sports, etc. Siegel welcomes parent involvement in all activities. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

The principal is stern, can be cocky, but also fair with discipline issues. The teachers are not concerned with peer pressure and language, etc. I know they are not babysitters, but it would help if they would open their eyes and try to worry about things that affect students vs. worrying so much about if they have on a belt. The teachers are rude to the students and don't show much compassion. They try to hide things going on in the school to protect their image. I'm looking to private schools for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

At Siegel I can honestly say, every student is treated fairly and treated the same. There are no favorite privileged few here. The schools academics are wonderful and the administration and staff are to be commended. My kid follows the rules and never has one single problem, but then again, we don't expect special treatment. If you want your kid to learn send them to Siegel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
African American47%
Asian67%
Hispanic62%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African American40%
Asian50%
Hispanic38%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
African American57%
Asian75%
Hispanic71%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American90%
Asian92%
Hispanic91%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
African American54%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students61%
African American44%
Asian79%
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
African American71%
Asian86%
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American85%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Black 10% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (615) 904-3831

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

355 West Thompson La
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Phone: (615) 904-3830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Oakland Middle School
Murfreesboro, TN



Cedar Grove School
Murfreesboro, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT