Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pennington Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 331 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

Ive had alot of dealings with the staff and I would say the majority are good people and great teachers but the principal Carolyn Wood is very condescending when dealing with parents when they have problems. She doesnt handle the problems well. I feel shes doesnt do her job to her full potential, but was told she wont be there next school year which is great for the kids/parents. SO maybe the test scores will be brought up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

My grandson goes here. He is really doing good! Great teachers and staff. Education is so important to our children.


Posted August 25, 2013

PES is a wonderful school. Our son has been attending here since kindergarten and is currently in 4th grade. He's always been challenged by his teachers, who are caring and loving and any issue we may have had, Ms. Wood, the principle, has handled it very kindly and fairly. As most public schools, Pennington has a lot of children who don't speak English and children with special learning needs, which may affect the school's test scores, but overall it's a very strong academic environment. The PTO is very involved and they organize fun activities throughout the year, which the children and their families enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My school is small and we have a terrific staff. Although our school is old it is kept very clean and decorated. The staff are all dedicated, including those not in the classrooms. I'd say we are one of Nashville's finest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I'm originally from out of state, and had always heard negative things about Davidson County schools. I could'nt afford to put my son in a private school, so I had to 'settle' for a public school. However, this is my sons' third year at Pennington(2nd grade)and he loves it here. He has excelled in every erea within his education. The staff from top to bottom are extremely attentative to the childrens needs, focusing on every child. It reminds me of my, 'little elementry school,' back home. Every issue I've ever had (not many), has always been dealt with genuine care, and in a timely manner! I wan't to end by saying, I can't thank Mrs. McCarthy(1st grade), and Mrs Bruno(2nd grade) for every thing they have done for my son these last two years! You both rock! Richard Gates
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

Pennington is like our own little private school, and with significantly more parent involvement, and a very nurturing and supportive, extended-family- oriented community. It is truly a little haven for the kids, with caring teachers and parents looking out for each and every one of them. With only 295 children, plus or minus in a given year, we truly are blessed with this jewel of a school here in the Donelson area. Couldn't ask for a more for the kids to enjoy while expanding their creative and intellectual talents in small classes, with some of the best & uniquely capable teachers that we are very proud of. Nicole Rooney
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students35%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students36%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 67%
Black 20% 24%
Hispanic 14% 6%
Asian 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2817 Donna Hill Dr
Nashville, TN 37214
Phone: (615) 885-8918

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Holy Rosary Academy
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT