Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Old Fort, TN
Students enrolled: 363
 

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


South Polk Elementary School 3

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
I believe that the principle and most of the staff actually do care for the children however there are many changes that I would like to see before I could recommend this school. They no longer have a library, recess time is very limited, they do not have physical education daily, no art, no music and as with most schools - they teach in alignment with what will be on the TCap test instead of what may actually be best for the children. The cafeteria food is very unhealthy - but again I don't think this is a problem with this specific school. I think the problem with American school lunches is pretty wide spread. As with any school, some of the teachers are better than others. However I do see a lot of caring that I don't know I would see from a larger school.

South Polk Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Well educated staff. I have never had an issue with anyone. Any time there was a problem it was handled immediately. Very family friendly. Parents are encouraged to participate in school events..there is no art or music..but this is not the schools fault...blame those higher up.


South Polk Elementary School 1

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
South Polk Elementary is a terrible school in every way. There is no art, music, or librarian and the playground is very old and in need of replacement. This is due to the gross budget cuts commissioned by the local county leaders while the superintendent drives a 70,000$ car paid for by his annual salary increases and the schools receive annual budget decreases. Some (maybe all?) of the teachers at this school do not have an education degree. Teachers do not communicate with the parents, yell at students, and discouraging parent involvement at school. There is a lot of bullying problems happening to average and disabled students and the teachers seem to have a "handle it yourself" policy and do nothing to intervene or reprimand the students unless parents go to the teacher and principal multiple times and insist that their child be listened to and protected. Even then not much is done and the problems continue. Some of the bullying is done by the teachers and encouraged by teachers. Students being bullied act as though they have been conditioned not to talk to their parents about what happens at school. This is a common issue with students and parents in every grade level.

South Polk Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
this school is above average in all aspects, the children have a safe learning environment.

South Polk Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
I believe this is one of the best schools around. My child has went to another school but this one is far more into one on one interaction.


South Polk Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2006
- a parent
South Polk Elementary puts student safety first. The staff is great at explaining their vision for each student. Questions are always answered to my satisfaction. I wish more parents would get involved in the numerous activities at the school, accelerated reading, PTO, conferencing, work days, etc. Thanks.

South Polk Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is in the first grade. We started at South Polk with Kindergarden and we will finish all the way to 5th. We love this school. The teachers and school are up to date on all academic programs. More than that there is a high level of caring. These teachers really care about these students. Mr. Warren the principal is an excellant leader. He always has a smile on his face, but yet can be firm when needed. It would be a huge disappointment if he should go somewhere else. All the teachers , principal, all staff are wonderful.

South Polk Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2005
- a parent
My son was enrolled in South Polk in K-5 grade. I found this school to be the very best in all areas. This school is really concerned with a childs best education avalible. The staff overall is remarkable.Any child fourtunate enough to attend this school, will surely benifit in their edcuation and also in growth development.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Polk Elementary School
964 Old Federal Road, Old Fort, TN  37362
(423) 338-4512
Last modified South Polk Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Polk Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top