Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
Wallace A. Smith is an excellent elementary school with caring teachers and administrators. There is great parental involvement and a wonderful sense of community!

Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
Wallace A. Smith School has been a wonderful experience for my son. He loves his teacher, and he is learning so much. This school has the right balance for the children. My son looks forward to going to school, and for that I am thankful.


Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school. Attentive and involved staff that fosters a great relationship between parents, teachers and staff. Improvements for the school would be better funding for more up to date equipment in the classrooms and on the playground (a common need for public schools). The school works hard to raise funds to continually improve classrooms for modern day learning. My 2nd grader loves going to school and absolutely loves his teacher! We support WAS.

Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2013
- a parent
WAS is an outstanding school. My son has been here for 1st and 2nd grade. We bought our house in Hamilton on Hunter to keep him here. All the staff has been awesome. My son has ADHD, his teachers have been able to work with him to control it and still learn. I highly recommend!!!!

Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a parent
We could not be happier. We actually jumped for joy when we heard our home qualified for this school. Our 5 year old twins are delighted with their teacher. We are delighted with the wonderful curriculum of high standards. Yeah! our kids will have a chance in this world because of their dedicated staff and teachers. We love everything about this school.


Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2012
- a parent
We have been very happy with Wallace A. Smith. We relocated to the area from out of state two years ago and have been extremely happy with our school choice. The teachers, administrators and staff at this school are wonderful! Our children are challenged and communication from their teachers has been excellent. There are many opportunities for parental involvement, and great field trip opportunities for our children. There are great music and art programs for all children as well. Also, we find the school to be very cutting edge as far as being able to track all the necessary items via the internet (school calendars/test scores/AR reading scores/and even our kids lunch purchases).

Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a parent
We moved to the area 2 years ago and my children attended WAS. I can say with a doubt that WAS is the BEST school!! There are plenty reasons, to start the admin staff is outstanding always ready to help, always with an smile and since you put your foot on the door your are part of the WAS Family. The teachers are great, always communicating with the parents and making the children and parents alike welcome. The parents are always welcome!!! If you moving to Ooltewah, TN make sure to check this school. We loved it!! And now that we are moving we are going to miss it!!

Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2012
- a community member
i think this school is the best.i'm soooooooooooooooooo sad that this is my last year to be hear at this school awsome school i'm going to miss all of my teachers like ms. lrosa , ms.hager ,ms.wille ,ms.bambrey ,ms.kuhr, ms.richrdson , ms.capheart ,ms.case ,ms.crow ,and ms.dowler i will al ways rember you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! by:alexis miller


Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children who currently attend Wallace A. Smith. The school system was one of the main reasons we bought a home in this area and this school lives up to the hype. The staff is wonderful! The parent involvement is encouraged and obvious. My daughter had Mrs. Downs last year and she really brought out the best in my child. She set the bar high (high for a kindergartener anyway) and somehow she finds a way to make these kids want to achieve it. The principal is always helpful and attentive. Overall, this school is above the rest. My father was a career Navy man...I should know!

Wallace A. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2012
- a community member
I was a student at Wallace A. Smith from kinder garden to 5th grade. And i loved every minute of it! My favorite teacher from then to this day is Mrs. Downs. She inspires not only for you to work hard, do your best, and creative thinking, but she also teaches and incourages fun during the process. I am currently in 7th going on 8th grade, and not a day goes by that i don't miss this AMAZING school. The selection of teachers are perfect, and there are amazing students. well behaved and just amazing. Wallace A. Smith is by far, my favorite school i have ever attended. You will enjoy your time, all my best memories are in the setting of this school. It's not just any school, this school, becomes your family. :)

Nearby schools

Wallace A. Smith Elementary School
6930 Old Hunter Road, Ooltewah, TN  37363
(423) 344-1425
Last modified Wallace A. Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top