Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Smyrna Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 964 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

Why are so many teachers leaving SMS??? It appears they are treated very poorly, their computers are outdated ,their support is non-existent, Sad to see the kids being directly affected by this.


Posted December 23, 2013

It's funny that the one positive review was written by a teacher with a child there. The school is a complete failure. Many of the teachers are under duress from an admin that has no concept of its student body. Those that are happy with the working environment are part of a small group that consider themselves special for being in close with the admin. By close I mean, taking so-called professional development trips to places like Vegas and getting shots of alcohol poured in their mouths "like baby birds". I heard several accounts of football players "grinding" on the principal at school dances and carnivals. The kids are a really special group of kids who seem to thrive under the slightest amount of actual education. However, many are far below grade level due to the laughable feeder school Smyrna Primary and Stewartsboro, who will send kids out of elementary school unable to read. The kids are not held accountable and this have no reason to want to perform. Though they seem very aware that teachers and admin are only interested in test scores which tie loosely if at all to the skills the kids will need to succeed in the workforce.


Posted October 7, 2013

This is my daughter's second year at SMS and I have to say that I am quite happy with everything. The teachers take the time to email the parents everyday with homework assignments, upcoming events and links to needed information. My daughter never ate hot lunch at her previous school, but chooses to eat it everyday here at SMS. I do wish their website was more up to date, but the teachers in the 7th grade are great at keeping us informed via email. The teachers also give the students multiple chances to better their scores on tests, daily work and cumulative reviews. My daughter (and I agree) has only one complaint - the lockers are tiny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

The school basically requires uniforms of you, in a state where no legal law requires it.


Posted July 5, 2013

I attended this school for three years . It was a very hostile environment while I was there . The students do not have the will power to learn , and gave up early on . The students disrespect many ,if not all, of the teachers . The teachers were aggrresive towards unwilling students . The teachers and students just did not care . There were a select few teachers that were amazing such as mr.bratten,mrs.anderson,mrs.salmon,ms.newman,and mrs.shaffer. The only way this school can turn around is if the student body changes dramatically , and the teachers become motivated . The teachers that I listed above deserve better .


Posted November 23, 2012

My Daughter Is a straight "A" student and she says there is too many teachers who act like they are doing there job only when administrators are there. She keeps on complaining how the environment there is very unhealthy (and honestly I've been in there and it really is) and also, like i said she is a straight a student and most of the teachers are only talking about there life and not guiding them to the doors. They also expect the students to know the material the teachers have not taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

My kid saw a teacher slap the kids when they got a answer wrong on a worksheet
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

most of the teachers are great at teaching and very nice . bad parts- the food is disgusting uncooked and gross we have found hairs and spiders and worms in our lunches.a girl got food poisoning last year-they found out because that was all she had eaten that day.


Posted January 20, 2011

i have to agree,parent/teacher/principal communication is very bad. listening to my chid only clarifies what my child is telling me. rutherford county has a fantastic rating,lets keep it that way by opening our eyes and ears to children. they tell it like it is. my child is a very smart girl already and i know when she is speaking truth. lets help make sms a 5 star school,it can be with help from everyone.


Posted February 23, 2010

I am a parent of a student at Smyrna middle school. This is my Child's 3rd year at this school and to say the least I feel very uninformed about what goes and and how my child is doing. Teachers do not do a very good job of keeping the parent informed if the learning problems arise. I feel that education is not the primary focus of this school or I would be more informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

This is a very old school needs lots of work both on building ang staff. I am a parent of this school for 3 years and i can honestly say it is not a parent friendly school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

I attend Smyrna Middle School,7th grade.Things to read here:Teacher,Student, and Principles Teacher- Our teachers have interesting way of teaching,stories,life expireces,jokes,exc.It works.They are well educated. Students- Were under dress code,teacher make sure were under it.We learn alot and it shows Principles- The principles here are always walking around andinteracting with us,and our class activites. This is a Good school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

I overall believe that Smyrna Middle is a wonderful school.It is old and does have dirty bathrooms but that isnt the case,the teachers are well educated and have plans for the children,they take them under their own wings as if they were there own,they keep a very close eye on the students and they are just wonderful. Some teachers don't like the dress code but if we want to keep our children SAFE i think that thats why they cant let them zip up jackets so not anyone can bring a weapon. i have one child that went there and she is just now in the seventh grade. they are high skilled and the 7th grader has never made a D on a report card,they give them chances to bring the grades up and reward them when they do.its a no tollerance school and i like it for that! -a.roberts
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

This is my first year having a child at SMS. I made it my business to introduce myself to Dr. Kennedy last year because I don't rely on what other tell me when I make decisions concerning my children's education. I have been impressed with the way Dr. Kennedy has made improvements throughout the school year. There are some great new programs at the school to help the students who struggle more accademically, while encouraging the other students to continue working hard. She rewards academic success and encourages extracurricular activity participation. I find that the more effort you put in to being involved with a child's education the more you get out of it, but you have to give to receive. If you're not getting what you expect out it-look in the mirror.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

SMS faculty's main concerns seem to be with 'write-ups' and dress code violations that are 10 days apart (when the teacher in the meeting isn't up to dress code) and not about real issues such as education and personal development. Teachers take any and all comments as if they are personally being attacked instead as constructive criticism. The children are punished if the parent(s) make any comments. I have never seen anything like SMS before and hope not to again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

I think this school needs to improve, the principal takes about 4 days to return your call. You can never get anyone on the phone, they have no lights in the parking lot. Most of the teachers just graduated from college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

The problem with this school is the teachers and the the principal cannot seem to keep an eye on the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

I am not impressed with this school either. I will be pulling my child out of this school after this year. The quality of education is terrible and the teachers do not seem to care about the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2004

I am not impressed with the quality of anything at this school what so ever. Not enough emphasis on academics in terms of preparing students to become leaders for later on in life. The situation at SMS seems to be since most of these children are from low SES, then we will only contribute to making them the worker class of the future. From what I have seen college prep here is either non-existent or a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
17%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
African American36%
Asian38%
Hispanic32%
White49%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African American49%
Asian38%
Hispanic45%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students59%
African American49%
Asian43%
Hispanic46%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learners13%

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American94%
Asian62%
Hispanic81%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learners29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
African American43%
Asian48%
Hispanic46%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners14%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students37%
African American35%
Asian30%
Hispanic36%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students57%
African American45%
Asian57%
Hispanic58%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students80%
African American88%
Asian74%
Hispanic86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African American45%
Asian45%
Hispanic49%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners19%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students40%
African American28%
Asian33%
Hispanic37%
White46%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners6%

Science

All Students62%
African American46%
Asian44%
Hispanic48%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students79%
African American70%
Asian56%
Hispanic79%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learners19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 67%
Hispanic 19% 7%
Black 15% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 459-0149

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

712 Hazelwood Dr
Smyrna, TN 37167
Phone: (615) 904-3845

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT