Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bivins Elementary School 2

Posted March 03, 2011
- a community member
I am adult advocate for one of this schools 4th graders who was "asked" by school officials to "be sick" last Tuesday, the day 4th graders were to take the TASK test... Seems the administration did not want to "have a failing grade" on this child record (?) and it was in everyones best interest to not attend school that day. If this is how AISD administration deals with students having difficulty in ANY area of the test I can not imagine how many other students were encouraged to "stay home" ... All in an attempt to distort this schools true rating under state guidelines. This issue will not be dropped until other parents are aware of such practices by this school and district.

Bivins Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bivins Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Bivins Elementary School 2

Posted February 28, 2008
- a parent
By far, Mrs. Phyllis Newcomb is the best teacher I have ever come across in my lifetime! She is caring, disciplined and has a heart that every teacher should have. My son has had the pleasure of being in her 2nd and 3rd grade class.

Bivins Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2007
- a community member
My granddaughter attends Bivins and I have been very impressed with the degree of teacher commitment there. The staff is caring , concerned, and dedicated. Her second and third grade teacher Ms. Phyllis Newcomb may be the finest teacher I have ever known. We love Bivins Elementary. And, so does our grandchild.


Bivins Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 05, 2007
- a parent
We have two children at Bivins - it's an amazing school! The teachers are awesome, the principal is a great leader, and our kids love going to school there. The teachers our girls have had have been great.

Bivins Elementary School 1

Posted July 24, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Bivins Elementary School 4

Posted August 28, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bivins Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2005
- a parent
I have two children enrolled in Bivins. I have been extremely impressed with the teachers and the overall leadership at this school. They are working hard to read in Kindergarten, and Third grade has been preparing for the TAKS test. I am confident that it she is ready.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bivins Elementary School
1500 South Fannin Street, Amarillo, TX  79102
(806) 326-4100
Last modified Bivins Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bivins Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top