Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charlotte Anderson Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 477 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2008

My daughter attends Charotte Anderson and just graduated from PreK. My daughter enjoys school and I have noticed improvement in use of words. I am very impressed by the care and attention that Ms Faustion puts into her class. Thanks Ms Faustino and Ms Young!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

I have two children that attended Anderson by choice. Although the demographics changed significantly this year, the qualitiy of the education received did not. Teachers worked harder to meet all student needs dispite challenges with behavior issues. The PTA stepped up with new leadership and continued to provide family nights that were amazing. Blending 2 student climates seemed challenging, but all involved, from the teachers, to the parents, to the students, now see one united color- Viking Purple!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I have to disagree with the last parent comment. I am on my 2nd child to go through this school. I have never been treated with anything but kindness and respect from the teachers and the staff. They are more than willing to go the extra mile to accommodate ANY students needs. It doesn't matter if you child is Green, Brown, Purple, Black, or White they will do everything to make your child successful and they have the test scores to prove it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

There is lot of discrimination at this school, they don't like african american, hispanic or anybody that is not white american that's why I moved from that area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

My daughter went from 1st to 5th grade at CAE, and now my granddaughter is attending. She has finished PreK and Kindergarten, and is now going into the 1st grade. My daughter got an excellent education here. Now my granddaughter, who is 6, is reading books at about a 3rd grade level. One of the main things that is keeping me at my current address is the fact that we are in the Mansfield school district. Thanks to Ms. Faustino, Ms. Brown and Ms. Richardson for providing my children with a top-notch education. Thanks to Mr. Beaird for his tremendous leadership as principal. We are looking forward to another great year of learning and advancement with Ms. Stark at Charlotte Anderson Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

My daughter absolutely loves this school! She has completed K-3rd and is looking forward to her 4th grade year. Extremely high parental involvement, fabulous caring teachers and a wonderful academic program make this school a hard act to follow for any other school we attend. Thank you Charlotte Anderson for such a wonderful experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

Wonderful school! Our children have had an amazing educational experience with wonderful teachers! Hats off to Ms. Deil, Mrs. Duhamell, Mrs. Bernard and Mrs. Bradford. They have not only shown what wonderful teachers they are, but also what caring individuals they are when it comes to our precious children. Mr. Baird is a wonderful principal and very involved with the kids. Parent involvement is extremely high! We moved to this area to be within Anderson's boundries because of the reputation of this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

Wonderful school! So much parental involvement that it can be difficult to find parking. There are always parents there to volunteer. It shows! Great staff who really care. My children Love to go to school. I can't ask for anything better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

Charlotte Anderson is an amazing school. The parent volunteering percentage is phenominal! The teachers really care and enjoy loving your children. The principals just rock! Our PTA is the best, and we just continue to thrive even more each year. The level of education that my children bring home is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

My grand children began school mid year at Charlotte Anderson Elementary and were behind the average in their respective classes K and 4th. We were warmly welcomed by staff, administration and teachers. In just 4 short months the boys were brought up to average and greatly enjoy the Charlotte Anderson experience. These kiddos cant wait to get out the door to school in the morning. We enjoy the learning process and the after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

Anderson is an excellent school. It has a strong parental support. During my son's five years there it was rated exemplary by the state every year. Dr. Tammy Rountree has left to become an assistant superintendant in Keller. However, I think the community will sustain the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

We were foster parents to our son at first, and the school excepted him with open ares! This is a wonderful school! My son attended first grade with Mrs. Duhamell. Hat's off to Mrs. D! She took the time to work with him one on one. He went from a 0 reading level to a level 4 in only a few short weeks. My son's kindergarten teacher was Mrs. Williams. Hat's off to Mrs. Williams too! She also worked trial and error with our soon who is diagnosed ADHD. She worked through issues of puking everyday to just sending a note home saying he finally sang in class. The IEP program at this school is by far one of the best we have ever seen. We have since moved from Texas, but if I had one suggestion to any parent moving into Texas, buy a home in this school's district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

This elementary school is exemplary in every aspect. I have who started and finished elementary here and another who has been there for 3 years. The staff is great to work with, I feel they try to make sure the education they provide helps each child excell to their greatest potential. We are moving, so I hope that we are able to find this in our new school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

This is the best elementary school in MISD. Not only do we have teachers who go above and beyond for their students, but the parent involvement is outstanding. Not many schools can boast that every student passed the reading TAKS taken in 2003! That is extraordinary. Although every school may have one or two teacher issues, this school rarely does and when concern is expressed, the issues are addressed and resolved. So glad to have a 1st and 3rd grader continue their education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

I can't say enough about the quality of this school. It's our third year and we have had excellent teachers. The principal knows how to run a tight ship, which I think is required in times today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

Average school. We had a terrible time with a kindergarten teacher who insists my child has problems. Talked to other parents and stated that they were told by said teacher that their child had problems as well. One parent was told by this teacher to not come to school as often - scary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have a son starting his second year and a daughter starting her fourth year at this school. The leadership of this staff is outstanding. The teachers take the time to spend with each individual student. The parent involvement at this school is amazing. As a father of three I recommend this elementry school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

95 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

115 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female95%
Male98%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female87%
Male100%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female94%
Male89%
Black or African American76%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education63%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education75%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students93%
Female100%
Male83%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education75%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female93%
Male86%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male91%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black or African American75%
Asian88%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education89%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female80%
Male83%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education78%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female82%
Male70%
Black or African American74%
Asian88%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education56%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 28% 13%
Hispanic 28% 52%
White 27% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 23%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • SHEIRA PETTY
Fax number
  • (817) 472-3216

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5615 Fox Hunt Drive
Arlington, TX 76017
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 472-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT