Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Preparatory Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

The school just had their first dance and I was so impressed with the amount of leadership on the part of the staff, student leaders and the parents that stepped up to help with food, supervision, and clean up. It was an overall wonderful night of music with clean lyrics and kids having a blast socializing and dancing to all kinds of songs. I know this because I was a parent that signed up to chaperone. I am so proud of the school my children attend!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

To the previous comment>>>I know exactly who you are talking about. Everybody in the 8th grade loves her and she's nice to everyone in our grade:) Now back to the school. I am new to this school. And I was raised in public school all my life. Some girls in our grade are very nice and accept you quite nicely. And the teachers are VERY caring. But than some of the girls gossip. And then they gossip about each other. It gets on my nerves so much sometime I just want to stay home. I thought of even transferring. Plus, unlike in private school, there are TIGHT cliques. You now when you stay in on clique and that's ur clique. Yeah... Academics though are really above average :) -8th grade student


Posted December 24, 2012

My daughter was in Public School and after the introduction of the STAR testing we decided to pull her out because there was too much confusion. She went to another private school and loved the education, facilities and faculty but didn't really like the students. Then she came to Grace Prep in the 8th grade. She is bi-racial and has received a warm welcome. She has made friends quickly. We love the flex schedule because she takes lots of music lessons. We love the personal responsibility that is placed on her to do her own work. The teachers are great they will assist in helping at any time. She has had 10pm teacher chats when she is stumped. She is very athletic and plays all sports. Overall she is having a great experience. The facility is small compared to other private christian schools and I am sure its because of the low tuition they charge - I personally feel they could and should charge more as that is my only drawback - the lack of facilities, lockers and gym other than that as a parent I am loving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

grace prep has a strong academics program as well as a athletics program but lacks overall student unity. the students lack maturity and acceptance of others, if you havnt gone there ever since u were a small child then ur chances of making friends are very low. i DO NOT reccomend this school. NOTICE: GRACE PREP REQUIRES U TO SIGN A CONTRACT THAT BINDS U TO KEEP PAYING TUITION IF FOR ANY REASON U DECIDE TO TRANSFER DURING THE YEAR. THIS IS ONE OF THOSE THINGS THEY DO NOT TELL U. THEY ARE CROOKS


Posted October 2, 2011

7th grade year. As far as I know, nothing's changed. My brother still goes there and I'm not happy about it. It's wasted money. Truman Middle School in Grand Prairie I.S.D. was called "ghetto" and still gave me a better grade of education. If you've heard something along the lines of "smaller class sizes" or "go at your own pace" then you've been lied to. The biggest thing that the administrators take care of is the dress code. Bullying is let go. That's what made me hate the school. Then you have the students. 3 cliques: guys, girls, jocks. I found it very hard to fit in. Rejection was common. In public school, yes, there are cliques, but you can hang out with another clique and be accepted. They won't make you go sit at another lunch table (which is what happens at Grace). This school is like a fake painting. It looks like the real thing, but it's not nearly as good. If you think it's too good to be true, pat yourself on the back. You've guessed correctly.


Posted December 3, 2008

This school is excellent . The kids get to worship god when and where ever they want to . The teachers help the kids and help them through hard time. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

Grace Prep is by far the most amazing private school in our area! Although my grade is one of the biggest it only consists of about 45 students. This means small classes which means extra one-on-one learning with the nicest and most dedicated teachers! Athletics is a huge part of the Grace Prep students. Most of the programs have great coaches and generally do pretty well esspecially in volleyball and football. It's a very friendly school that is totalyl driven and protected for by Christ! It is also very respect by most colleges becasue of NAUMS. For me personally, it has been a great experience, with awesome academics, amazing people, the most friendly sports tems ever, and an awesome spiritual experience !
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2006

This is a great school designed to maximize family time, incorporate spiritual values and train students to be independent. The cost may be prohibitive for some, but in comparison to other private schools, it is a great value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

Great school for academics. It is very warm and welcoming. Small classes for one on one teaching. Everyone is very friendly & they distribute high Christian standards, in both the teachers and the students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 31%
Black 10% 13%
Hispanic 4% 51%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (817) 557-4300

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Interstate 20 West
Arlington, TX 76017
Phone: (817) 557-3399

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Childrens University
Arlington, TX




Key Elementary School
Arlington, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT