Advertisement
Advertisement

The Oakridge School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

I attended the Oakridge school a few years ago. The bullying issue is outstanding and the administration does little to nothing about it, in fact sometimes they just make it worse. The amount of PDA at oakridge is disgusting (in the high school) and it's hardly noticed, but when friends merely HUG it's frowned upon. The upper school also has a serious drug problem, 2 students were expelled my senior year alone for drugs, and many others sell ADHD medication that they don't need. A few of the teachers are AMAZING (senior english, theater, french, and the middle school science teachers) but the rest are just warm bodies, almost like substitutes. It's a lot of busy work! School only provides good "connections" for those it cares about (the ones with the most money). Honestly there are way better private (and public) schools out there.


Posted January 29, 2014

This school is amazing! I love the fact that I can be involved in so much from sports to musical theater (We are awesome!). The teachers are real people who care and help you. I love being an Owl and can't imagine a better school.


Posted November 27, 2013

My children have attended this school since Preschool (age 3) and are so far above their peers at other schools that it is amazing. My daughter, who is a junior, recently received a call from one of her friends at another are school who needed help writing a thesis statement. What?! Oakridge students learn how to write and research in Lower School. By the time they are in Middle School, writing research papers and presenting their findings to peers is just a normal part of their experience. Also, with the school's new Learn21 program, Oakridge is way ahead of the technology curve when it comes to giving students the skills they need to be responsible digital citizens, as well as sticking with traditional values and skills. I think the negative reviews here on this website do not represent the majority opinion. These parents are out of touch with what is going on at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

My 11th son studying here and i have plan to move him out,the tution is too expensive and not equipvalent with the service or teaching quality.Don't let your kid in here or you will regret
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

The Oakridge School is a very poor educational facility. The academics are consistently interrupted by scheduling meaningless activities for the during class time, such as "Family Time". This is particularly true in the middle and high school level. Rarely is there a full week of instructional time. While there are a few good teachers there, most are not. They don't have any classroom control and they don't care about teaching which is evident in how they interact with their students. The administrators turn a blind eye to problems in the school and pretend it is wonderful. I would doubt they have had any prior experience or educational training for their positions. Lots of bullying and out of control students. The athletics are substandard. The teams can't compete with other schools in their conference. The facilities of both the classrooms and gyms are poor. What other school uses their cafeteria for a gym that charges close to 20K a year for tuition. Anyone considering this school is wasting their child's education along with their money. Before sending your child here compare it to other private schools to see what you are not going to get from Oakridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

Thanks to the parent for insight into the math curriculum that Oakridge uses. I now realize why my child's math scores are dropping every year. I can't understand why they would continue to use a math program that so many states have dropped, especially Texas. Now I wonder about the curriculums for the other subjects? Inflated daily grades but low standardize test scores seem to be the norm for Oakridge. Public schools suffer with No Child Left Behind. Oakridge suffers with No Child Let Ahead!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

The Oakridge School of Arlington does have some excellent teachers but others are just a warm body. I would not let my child attend middle school there due to meeting some of the teachers at events away from the school and hearing reports about lack of respect and morals and bullying occurring in the middle school. Due to lack of a nonreglious private high school in Arlington our child did transfer for high school that was the only choice. But, since my child was not a "sporty" kid their was a feeling of being the odd one. There are honors classes and ap classes but since many universities are not accepting ap awards (my child's public instate university did not accept a 5 on ap history exam as an example) dual credit would be a better choice but is not even given any thought having so many ap courses offered looks good in the brochure. My child was discouraged from going to a local college in the summer and was told that Oakridge would not accept any dual credit coures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

Oakridge could be a great school but the Lower School insists on using EveryDay Math for grades 1 to 5. In the State of Texas, EDM is not allowed in ANY 3rd grade classroom. EDM is an example of reform/fuzzy" math programs. College professors say these programs leave out important topics, don't teach fluency in arithmetic, & ignore the parts of math that are formal & abstract. This will harm students who want to go into science, medicine, engineering & other fields requiring rigorous college math. Other students won't even develop basic math literacy because reform math programs are confusing & don't offer enough practice. When you Google EDM you will realize your child has become a victim of Fuzzy Math, the dumbed-down, politically correct math. These are math problems in the 5 grade EDM textbook: A. If math were a color, it would be , because . B. If it were a food, it would be , because . C. If it were weather, it would be , because . Many have tried to the seemingly futile task of waking up other parents and fighting the Oakridge edu-cracy to restore a rigorous math curriculum but with no success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2013

My son has gone to Oakridge since he was four. He s now in middle school. We've enjoyed the care and quality of teaching staff, academic rigor, the life lessons through an encompassing educational experience, and a broad based curriculum with diverse students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

The students in this school are out of control. Particularly in middle school! None of the teachers seem to be able to handle them. Particularly subs. I think their are only a few truly good students. The students tend to be immature. DON'T LET YOUR KIDS GO HERE.


Posted October 22, 2012

Bad leadership and poor sportsmanship. The teachers don't care what kind of things the students are into and really don't have much control over the classes.


Posted June 27, 2010

My children entered Oakridge when they were three, and both are now in middle school. We have been thrilled with the manner with which this great faculty challenges and inspires our bright kids - for nine years now. No doubt our boys are being prepared for college and for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

As a student at Oakridge I get the opportunity to participate in quality academics, athletics, and fine arts everyday. I have a great social life and I am friends with almost everyone. Our teachers are all very warming and easy to get along with. In athletics we have created a consistent system of improving our performance on the field by lifting weights and conditioning. Our football team lost in the finals this year and our powerlifting team won regionals. In fine arts I have learned alot about construction by building the sets used for the plays. On a previous review someone claimed that we recruit players... However there are athletes that are on financial aid, All of them contacted Oakridge asking for the opportunity to attend a great academic school to help them prepare for college. The only thing that would make our school better is giving more non-uniform dress days.


Posted September 24, 2009

I've been attending Oak since Pre-K and still love going. I like the privelege in saying that I go to a nice, private school...Oakridge compared to other private schools has been called one of the nicest. Almost all the teachers I've had have been great and I continue learning something everyday. And not only school, but socially...I like the people at Oakridge and getting able to do things other schools may not have money for. The athletics for Oakridge teach a life lesson and I think overall Oakridge has many students making it big in college and out of college. I'll be glad when I'm called an alumni from Oak. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2009

As a parent of a student attending the Oakridge school. I'm extremely disappointed in the state of academics, the quality of students being accepted in the school, the lack of a diverse teaching staff. Although the school recruits diverse student athletes to play at the school the teaching staff does not. The students began the dating game as young as the 4th grade asking each other to the homecoming game, buy expensive mums and down right mean spirited to each other. The school does not prepare the students to enter a more diverse society and to accept others. My child is in the 7th grade and has witness since the 3rd grade the dating and social aspect of Oakridge. The parents of the students are extremely accepting of this kind of behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I really like this school as a football player there during a time in whcih we probalbly have our best team ever we also have some of the best teachers in the state everyone there is welcoming when you first get here and the exposure to college recruiting and admittannce is great in fact just the other day we had a representative form UT Austin come to talk to us
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2009

great school! the kids work very hard. oakridge encourages hard work. my kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

As an alum who is very up to date on their facts, as far as area schools rank, Oakridge is among the best. I was raised up in the obvioulsy lacking AISD public system and had the opportunity to transfer later in high school. The differences are night and day. Oakridge has a comprehensive curriculum with often over qualified teachers. (My senior lit teacher had 2 degrees, a masters, and studied at oxford). As far as the question of character is concerned, some of the best connections and mentors imaginable were available for me at Oakridge. Also, the misinformation about state schools is quite troublesome, while true many did choose to go to state schools, it was not a forced decision but was due to current economic conditions, and severe lacking in the funding available for college. I am curently attending a top 30 school in the nation on scholarship.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2009

We are so disappointed with the direction of the school. The kids all receive vey god grades, however we are so concerned with the overall college admittance. Most students are attending state schools. At 15k for 13 years, the numbers do not add up. SAT's and test scores are relatively low as compared to student's grades. They are also low when comparing to other schools that cost the same. The leadership does tend to favor those with the money thereby lacking the moral ground to make tough decisions and develope and retain quality students. Overall, not a great bang for your buck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

This is an excellent smaller private school. the academics are very good and students regularly receive a significat number of scholarship opportunities. The focus is not on athletics programs, though the school is trying to address this with plans for additional facilities. The positive is that your child will be a big fish in a small pond. They can play on almost any team as opposed to not being on a team at all or sitting on the bench. The same goes for the charges of nepotism and political administration - you can be active in the school and that will be rewarded or sit on the sidelines and complain about others having their sway. Our children are smart and would do well at any school. At Oakridge, they have had the opportunity to go to school in a safe environment and be treated as individuals with truly caring teachers, administrators, parents, and
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 37%
Asian 15% N/A
Black 9% 14%
Hispanic 4% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa Grubb
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (817) 457-6681

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5900 W Pioneer Pkwy
Arlington, TX 76013
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 451-4994

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Handley Middle School
Fort Worth, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT