Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Classics Academy

Charter | K-2 | 532 students

ACA has received the highest ranking from the TEA since 2007
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2009

The education is top of the line. Our children are challenged far beyond there grade level and succeed. The teachers are great and care about the children not only academically but personally. All of the teachers are passionate about what they do. Mr. Simon loves each student and the twinkle in his eyes when he talks about them show it. I can't imagine a better school. Their is wonderful parental involvement which makes all the difference. ACA is the perfect model of what a Charter school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

What I love most about the ACA are the teachers and a smaller learning evirnoment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Arlington Classics Academy is a school that makes the grade with the TAKS, but most important ACA gives our students MORE than what the need to pass the TAKS. They are challenged with Reading and Math at a higher grade level. Spanish, Music, Art, and computer. They are also challenged to be good stewards. They care about their school, community, other students and teachers. I drive 20+ miles to take my girls to school, then on to Dallas for me and North Dallas for my husband from Arlington. We are committed to provide the high education our daughters receive at Arlington Classics Academy. I live in Hidden Lakes (Keller) where we have an Exemplary Elementary School, but choose to take our daughters to ACA because it gives them that much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

ACA has a hands on learning enviroment!!! They don't just teach the basics and fundmentals to promote a student to the next grade... They go above and beyond so that the student will be able to use that knowledge oustside the classroom. ACA is a great school for those students and parents that have the drive and motivation to excel. I love ACA! Best Charter school in Tarrant County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

ACA has so much to offer to students who are willing to be challenged. The school has been rated Exemplary for 3 years in a row now. This is a school with a private school mentality and public school prices. Parents are expected to volunteer. The school follows the Core Knowledge curriculum and folds in required Texas state requirements as well. Everyone has Spanish, Art, Music, and PE twice a week. All subjects are taught by highly-qualified teachers. The administrators work very well with each other and the teaching staff. You can see the wonderful rapport they have with the students as well. All of the staff members work hard at this school. They are dedicated to not only helping students raise their level of learning, but also to their safety. For example, during afternoon dismissal, all staff members work together to make sure students are safely escorted to their cars, no matter what the weather is. ACA also offers a variety of afterschool activities, including a variety of PSIA clubs, chess club, runners club, photography club, and Griffin TV. I could keep going on and on. If you're interested, call the school and ask for more information. The waiting list is usually quite long, so check early in the school year before it is too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I love the advanced education that my child receives at ACA. I like the fact that the parents are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Not only does ACA give the students an excellent academic education, but it also teaches the students to be respectful and responsible. Those are two character traits which need to be reinforced in our youth of today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

This school is filled with dedicated, high quality teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

We love this school! Mr. Simon is fabulous, and the teaching staff is second to none. ACA offers a wonderful, fast-paced learning experience. We hope that 7th and 8th grade will be added in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

Absolutely thrilled with our first year at ACA. The kids are wonderful, the teachers are enthusiastic, the parents are involved and the administration is on a first name basis with everybody. Fabulous, fabulous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

ACA is a fantastic school. They DO work with children who have learning difficulties, but you must be your child's advocate and insist that the services needed are provided. As a charter school receiving funding from the state, the school is obligated to provide those services.


Posted August 26, 2007

I was elated that my son finally made the list to attend ACA. Unfortunately, my son and I were not able to keep up with their kindergarten homework, which stressed both my son and myself out. After enrolling at the loving CDSA, we are discovering through his teacher, that my son is dyslexic. Better hope your kid can keep up, without any 'problems.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Our son is about to enter his second year at ACA and we are so impressed with the school. The director of education is inspiring and the atmosphere in the school is structured, safe and enriching. What a great place to get a quality education. Classes are taught in a 'classical' style of education - like how I was taught when I was in school. There isn't the emphasis on teaching standardized tests prevalent in traditional public schools, instead there is emphasis on learning and character education. It really feels like my son is getting all of the benefits of a private school education yet it's publicly funded. I would recommend ACA highly to any parent wanting to get the best public education available for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

My son attended ACA from Kindergarten through 6th grade. I would highly recommend ACA to any parent who desires a quality education for their child. My son was challenged by the curriculum and because of this, he developed a zeal for learning. He is now in AISD public school (just finished 7th grade) and has excelled in all academic and extra-curricular areas. Thanks to ACA, he was well prepared and way ahead of the curve in all subjects. We give full credit to the wonderful Teachers, Headmaster and Staff at ACA. Whenever possible, my son goes back to the school to visit his beloved teachers. ACA was a place where he developed a passion for learning and a quest for excellence in all that he does. Our family can never repay a gift such as this. We loved everything about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I definitely think ACA is one of the best schools in the area, if not the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

ACA is definitely an accelerated program. Your child does have to keep up or be left behind however there are opportunities for tutoring in the school. The curriculum is much more varied than the public school which my kids came from. All grades are taught Spanish ,World History, Science, and a grade level above in Math. There are also a lot of after school activities available. This is definitely an academically challenging school and not for students with learning difficulties. It was a great alternative to my daughter having to skip ahead a grade in her public school in order to not be bored. I am so happy to find a school which challenges her without costing me a fortune or putting her with older kids. This school was a Godsend to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

ACA has a strong curriculum. ACA does not encourage parents who have children who may have learning differences to attend their school. B/C they are a charter school, they are bound by law to educate any and every child without discriminating. They really want the best of the best, which makes the teachers jobs easier. Not every child is the same. I recommend the school, do not be discouraged if you are told that your child will not be successful in their environment, just challenge the staff to help you make them successful. My child did not like the school initially, b/c he came from a non structured environment to a 'military' style of discipline. He now likes the school and is adjusting well after only 1 month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

Excellent. My son was there last year for kindergarten and is now head and shoulders above kids who are even in expensive private schools. Lots of parent involvement. I enjoyed everyone I dealt with there. This year we are joining the chess club. That tells you how enriched an environment it is for a first grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

aca is a wonderful school you wont belive what your childern will learn in k by the end of the year they are reading the teacher a great and realy work with the students muisce and spanish from k thur 6th they learn to read misic from k and spanish from k parents can be as involted as they want to be its like one big family they have family nights once a mo dancing scaveger huts i hated to leave left only because daughter is going to 7th gr
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2006

The school was a disappointment. Asking all children to learn math a year ahead is unreasonable. The demands of homework is taxing on the children. The schools name states that it provides a classical education, unfortunately there is no Latin or Greek. I do not recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 31%
Black 19% 13%
Hispanic 17% 50%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TEA Exemplary Rating (2013)
  • TEA Exemplary Rating (2012)
  • TEA Exemplary Rating (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Janna Allen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (817) 274-8768

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • ACA is an open enrollment public charter school that offers an accelerated curriculum. The students participate in Spanish, Music and Art instruction beginning in Kindergarten. ACA uses a classical education style of teaching based on the trivium and supplements the state curriculum (TEKS) with the Core Knowledge Sequence (www.coreknowledge.org).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arlington Classics Academy Intermediate School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 W. Arkansas Lane
Arlington, TX 76013
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 274-2008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Flint Academy
Arlington, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT