Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
513 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trinity Episcopal School of AU
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Students and staff begin each day with chapel service, and during this time, they are discussing what it means to be a good citizen, an honest person or friend, and how to be a person that contributes to your community. These messages are woven into the curriculum throughout the days, weeks, and even the year. I believe Trinity students know they are valued as individuals and that respect is something you give to each other. They respect that People have different beliefs in God, but that they all share in the belief that life is a gift and that God loves everyone.

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Please come and see what Trinity Episcopal School is all about! As a family, we feel so blessed and grateful to have our girls attending this school that values learning and growth, along with the individuality and spirit that my kids bring each day. The entire staff and faculty become like a second family, and it really is a place that values diversity and community building concepts. The curriculum is top notch, rigorous and relevant to each child. The standards exceed the national average and go beyond just the basics. The Trinity curriculum encourages your child to think about how they are thinking and to feel confident in their thoughts and work that they produce. Trinity students genuinely have a sense of pride and sense that they can make a difference in the world around them. Trinity Episcopal School is invested in your child's academic, emotional and spiritual growth. They really mean "each child, each day" when it comes to meeting the needs of their students. Please come check out what Trinity Episcopal School has to offer your child! You'll be glad you did.


Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted February 21, 2015
- a parent
First-hand experience from parents who want the very best for their children: -As new parents to the school, we were not welcomed by anyone except by our child's teacher (who has since been fired). Parents here are extraordinarily 'cliquey'. This is not the best by any means. It is an out-dated representation of what a private school should be and it falls far short of any East Coast private school. We took our kids out and waited for an opening at a truly great Episcopal School in Austin that's been educating and caring for over 50 years. Trinity's new website, new message, new faculty and staff can only validate that things were really bad when we were there. We paid the facility fees and tuition, and we left early because it was a bad fit. i hope this helps.

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
I would encourage any parent of a prospective student to get the facts on things such as standardized test scores, not just the mean or median compared against all schools or private schools, but also the standard deviations to get a feel for how well students do at both ends of the distribution. My personal experience is that Trinity prepares its students well for standardized tests. For example, my daughter and many of her friends did well enough on the SAT (as 7th graders) to qualify for various Duke TIP programs. Again, this is one observation. On the issue of textbooks (or the lack thereof), I would not judge the quality of the education based on the use of a textbook. Many of my daughter's teachers create their own material and follow the approach of encouraging students to discover and problem solve the specific topics/issues being studied in class. For example, instead of relying on a textbook to teach geometry of circles (e.g., area, circumference, pi, etc..), our daughter's teacher assigned the students homework to "prove" (empirically) that pi=3.14...I doubt she would have had the same level of enthusiasm for pi, if she were simply told its value

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a community member
I attended Trinity since kindergarten and it was the best decision I have ever made. The curriculum can suit both advanced and struggling students. Every teacher cares for their students individually, on both an academic and personal level. Trinity offers an incredible environment and community to learn in.


Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted March 02, 2014
- a community member
Awful--administrators are exceptionally pretentious. Don't know how to work with kids that don't fit the mold. Spend those dollars elsewhere--lower school administrator is particularly abrasive and obnoxious.

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
Pretentious. Huge disappointment. Administrators are outright rude and dismissive. We felt this was an unhealthy environment and chose to leave. This is not a premium school where seats are coveted. We took our kids and money to a far superior school across town. I'm glad we didn't settle.

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of a current 4th Grader at Trinity. Most of the recent negative posts are from a handful of parents who did not get their way last year. These parents wanted a traditional approach to education, read the text book, and recite back the information on the test. Trinity doesn t believe in this type of education; rightfully so because it doesn't result in students who can think for themselves. When Trinity refused to change its educational philosophy to please a small group of parents, these parents became anger, and did not re-enroll their children in 2013-14. It's nice to hear their kids are doing well in public school; it is interesting these parents don't see a connection between their child's Trinity education and their child s current public school success. Trinity teachers do not teach "the test", Math is not taught in traditional fashion, homework reinforces classroom learning, it doesn't do the teaching. Trinity educates individuals, resulting in students able to think for themselves, find more than one way to solve problems, work collaboratively with others and confidently alone. Trinity isn't perfect but for us it s a close as you can get!


Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Before you jump into this school, ask who writes the curriculum and don't fall for the fancy answer you will probably get. Ask why there are no text books. We were told our child may have a learning disability when really it was not our child at all, but the fact that there is no curriculum that has been tested and known to work so our children are the guinea pigs. It is truly sad how much our child's self esteem was shattered. Our child felt stupid and now in Eanes has a 100 in every class except one and has a 91 in that class. The social situation is also terrible at Trinity. This school was so disappointing I can't even explain. They can get you in there with all the bells and whistles but ask why so many families left last year and many more are leaving this year. And the families that left, no one bothered to even ask why.

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Trinity is a special school! As a new family, we have felt so welcomed and supported in our transition. We chose Trinity for its outstanding reputation in delivering exemplary K-8 education. It is the right balance of academic rigor and nurturing communal supports where our children feel valued and encouraged. It has a well-integrated curriculum, with many opportunities for children to shine. The caring community of teachers and administrators genuinely care about each child and are accessible, professional and compassionate. Trinity is an authentic school community where every student can evolve in becoming their best selves. There is comfort in knowing each day is filled with inquiry, creative problem solving and varied opportunities. Every parent wants to give their children the best education possible Trinity fulfills this within a community of experienced and innovative faculty and staff. We look forward to many years of great possibilities on our Trinity journey.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trinity Episcopal School of AU
3901 Bee Cave Road, Austin, TX  78746
(512) 472-9525
Last modified Trinity Episcopal School of AU is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Trinity Episcopal School of AU Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top