Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-4|Private
55 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Capitol School Of Austin
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Our family is so grateful for Sharon English. She has gone above and beyond to help our son succeed academically and socially. On a daily basis, she is teaching him reading, math, and how to be a good friend. Sharon is always willing to help us, as parents, when we have that "Help, what do I do?" moment. I know that everyday my son is in her classroom he is loved and I never realized how important that would be to me. Thank you Ms. Sharon! -Parent

Capitol School Of Austin
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
They customize each learning plan for each child. They have a small classroom environment in which they can really provide that 1:1 attention that each child needs. They are creative and try to make learning fun for the kids, which helps grow interest and retention.


Capitol School Of Austin
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Just perfect! It is enough so the child practices a concept, but not too much to where the child is resisting to do the work.

Capitol School Of Austin
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I think the determination and persistence is shown by the children and their willingness and eagerness to learn. The teachers help facilitate the kids getting to the next milestone, but the determination is from the confidence that develops in each student from the support of their teachers.

Capitol School Of Austin
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Yes. When you see the children and how they interact with each other and their teachers, it is evident that they respect each other.


Capitol School Of Austin
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Most definitely. Each child is dealing with their own disability and they all respect each other and are considerate of each other and their needs. Again, this is modeled by the teachers and the children.

Capitol School Of Austin
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Yes, they work hard to build these life skills through their constant interaction with others. They help each child walk through the proper process and model positive responses.

Capitol School Of Austin 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
They do an amazing job at customizing learning plans for each child so that they are able to grasp and learn each skill set. They work hard to make sure they understand what they learn and are having fun at the same time. They create a safe environment with these kids which builds self-confidence. An amazing school!


Capitol School Of Austin
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Miss Amy, Mrs Sharon, Mr. Oscar and Mrs. Karen have all been instrumental in the growth and development of our son this year. He is in 2nd grade and started the year at a Kindergarten reading level. He is now at a mid-1st grade level, which is just amazing to us given his disabilities! They have led him to milestones that we never thought he would reach. They have helped show us how we can assist our son at home and have given us numerous resources and direction. They have dedicated 1:1 time in helping him with areas that he needed extra help with...They are creative and come up with fun new ways for the kids to learn. They make sure that each kid has grasped the foundation of the task before moving on...They help direct us with the next steps for our child. They understand the individualized needs of the kids. They are passionate about teaching and care deeply about each kid - which is evident - especially when our child asks to go to school every day. Their jobs are very challenging as it is even hard for parents to assist their special needs kids with learning, but they have patience and perseverance to help these kids. We are so grateful for each of them! But so very thankful that they have given us hope for a great future for our son! I can send my child to school knowing with confidence that I am handing him to teachers who will provide him the very best care and opportunity to learn and grow. THANK YOU FOR ALL THAT YOU DO!

Capitol School Of Austin 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The Capitol School of Austin and Ms. Katie have been amazing for my son. Before CSA, my son was labeled as the "bad kid" that seemed to get lost in the cracks and dismissed in other school settings. Ms. Katie saw the my son was not a bad kid, but a frustrated child with a severe language delay and sensory processing disorder. She had been so patient with him and has thought outside the box to make sure he thrives. For the three years before CSA, my son had to be peeled off of me every day kicking and screaming because he didn't want to go to school. He is so excited to go to CSA and leaving us every morning is a non event. It's a dream for a parent with a child with separation anxiety. Ms. Katie, thank you for being so wonderful and giving my son the opportunity to thrive and rise to his full potential. You are amazing!

Nearby schools

Capitol School Of Austin
2011 West Koenig Lane, Austin, TX  78756
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (512) 467-7006
Last modified Capitol School Of Austin is a Private school that serves grades PK-4
Top