Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-11
Public charter
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 800
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 4

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. It has very friendly and warm environment. I have two children at the school. We had a great year. Teachers are very nice and dedicated .They really care about children and try to give the best education possible for the students. The principal is very friendly and accessible to parent .Front office personal is very helpful. School is ethnically very diverse which I like. There are a lot of extracurricular activities at school. In general I am satisfied with HSPS
1 person found this helpful

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is a terrible place for high school students. To say that this school prides itself on academic excellence, integrity, strict dress code policies and character building, it is very disturbing that this school would allow students who exhibit bad behavior, disrespectful, and bully type behavior to run rampant in the high school population. There are a group of girls who practically run the high school and have managed to run a lot of the good students away from this school. There has been several complaints brought to the administrators and nothing was resolved. There are a few teachers who have witnessed the bullying in their classrooms and did nothing to stop it. As a matter of fact, a few of the teachers sponsored ahigh school banquet and awarded the main students who cause trouble awards and accolades as if to put a stamp on bad behavior. These students are rejects from Round Rock ISD and Austin ISD where a few of them were expelled and can never return to those This is not a safe and positive environment to learn in on a daily basis. Until those students are kicked out like the other districts have done, the enrollment will continue to decline.
3 people found this helpful


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My review is based on personal observations at this school, not hearsay. There is a lot that goes on at this school that is kept secret but would be very upsetting to most parents. Volunteer! Staff does not pay enough attention to the older students which can and does affect the younger children in a negative way. Certain "pet" students are allowed to disregard rules and uniform if it doesn't suit them. Administration is not adequately qualified to handle the numerous amount of students with psychological/behavioral problems. Front office women are moody, disrespectful, unprofessional. They "forget" to file important papers and quite often "lose" them, blaming parents or each other. They gossip about students and their families. They all lack the skills and personality to perform well here. The younger one is so bad that most people avoid her. Principal is nice but a poor leader. He doesn't know how to discipline his staff or guide them to be a part of a strong team. The school is not kept clean. The construction is shoddy and is in constant disrepair. Certain children may do okay here, but on the whole, most leave and go back to their local district or private school.
5 people found this helpful

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Great School, great academics, great teaching staff, my child is excited about going back next year. Love the uniforms, they save money and help to reduce distractions. This creates a better learning environment for the kids. This school listens to parents and makes improvements all the time. We couldn't be happier.
1 person found this helpful

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
My son can't wait to attend this school for his second year. He is happy and is being engaged academically. He has made huge leaps in reading and math due to the curriculum, teaching quality, and academic culture this school has.
1 person found this helpful


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a teacher
Teachers in this school are as a family and they try to do their best for all students.
1 person found this helpful

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is just plain horrible. It seems exciting when you first start here . But, you will be constantly disappointed here. Everything mentioned negatively in the ratings is true.
2 people found this helpful

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 4

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
I cannot be more please for having my three kids in the school. This is there second year. The teachers are committed and the school offers FREE tutoring when the students need it. The uniform has saved us lots of money and a way for students to all look the same no competition. Great discipline. No bullying. Also great preparation for STAAR. I highly recommend this school especially I have my an elementary, intermediate and high schooler all in one school.


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 2

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
I have two boys one in 3rd grade one in 6th and this is a horrible school. Kids aren't allowed to wear pants without a belt and are stopped in the hall and given DPS points if they forget. This is done in right before school and so then they are tardy from waiting I'm line. They are not allowed to wear hoodies or jackets with hoods. No colored shoe laces. They are all confiscated until the end of the day. The teachers are all Muslim dressed which I wouldn't have a problem with except that the children aren't allow to wear hoods but they all have them around their heads. I have sent emails and called to try to complain all to no avail. You can't even walk through the hall as a parent with your child unless a teacher is present. You aren't allowed to walk through the school without a teacher present. They have these mini computers they call chrome books and teachers have assigned assignments but the school administration took all the sites a kiddos would look to search for information away without telling anyone. The kids were unable to complete their work. My boys have been here 2 years & will not attend next year.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
I have three kids at HSPS and I couldn't be more pleased with the level of education they are getting. The curriculum is challenging, the teachers are well qualified in the subjects that they are teaching and with a uniform policy in place I save allot of money on clothes. We've been at this campus since the opening three years ago and I can see where and why this school got criticism but just like any new organization you have a learning curve. The school has come a long way and I am very satisfied with their level of communication, discipline, curriculum and teacher retention. As a parent the number one asset of a school to offer is the quality of it's teachers. I am impressed with how far my middle schooler has come with the help of their on site ELA specialist and the constant and much needed attention that the teachers give to all my kids. We've gone from failing TAKS tests in public schools and not being able to work independently to understanding concepts, working independently, passing the STAAR with high scores not just barely making the cut and reading at higher grade levels. For my family my mind is at ease that my kids are getting the best education they can.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin
13415 Fm 620 N, Austin, TX  78717
(512) 284-9880
Last modified Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin is a Charter school that serves grades K-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top