Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
All my son's teachers. Miss Houck. Mrs . Ramirez. Mr.Dickson. miss Bourque. Miss Taylor. Miss G. Miss Tackett .and the front office secretary! Thank you very much for teaching my son this year.Hod bless you all!

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
We need to teach them at home respect from others. I can see in my don how he talk about daily basis and I can see how the school.is doing.and the school is doing fine


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
When you are from another country you can see how the school is and see how is the way the kids are...

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
They have rules...wear uniform is a good point.and the diversity. ..ethnicity. .and they all the same...

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
We are very happy with the teachers! I have one boy in 5th grade. The teachers keeping updates about homework and others subjects. They are very easy to contact and they are very quickly to respond to your concerns. I like all the rules !like a professional from another country ( Latin America ) I like the way to teach in hps!the teachers teach them.like parents we don't expect that school or teacher's fix the holes in ours kids this is our job.they going to the school to learn no to be teach how to be...this is our job!!! Some parents make a lots complaints about all the rules ..rules are good for the sake of my kid.the faculties are very nice..and they doing a great effort to the new drop off and pick up system. We are very please with Harmony political and Science


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
My child is in pre-k in a public school and we are excited to join HSPS for next school year. We have always met with parents who are very impressed with this school. They were also questining the cons -like too many rules - But they were very pleased after all. Good student good comment !!! People should judge theirself first.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 4

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. It has very friendly and warm environment. I have two children at the school. We had a great year. Teachers are very nice and dedicated .They really care about children and try to give the best education possible for the students. The principal is very friendly and accessible to parent .Front office personal is very helpful. School is ethnically very diverse which I like. There are a lot of extracurricular activities at school. In general I am satisfied with HSPS

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is a terrible place for high school students. To say that this school prides itself on academic excellence, integrity, strict dress code policies and character building, it is very disturbing that this school would allow students who exhibit bad behavior, disrespectful, and bully type behavior to run rampant in the high school population. There are a group of girls who practically run the high school and have managed to run a lot of the good students away from this school. There has been several complaints brought to the administrators and nothing was resolved. There are a few teachers who have witnessed the bullying in their classrooms and did nothing to stop it. As a matter of fact, a few of the teachers sponsored ahigh school banquet and awarded the main students who cause trouble awards and accolades as if to put a stamp on bad behavior. These students are rejects from Round Rock ISD and Austin ISD where a few of them were expelled and can never return to those This is not a safe and positive environment to learn in on a daily basis. Until those students are kicked out like the other districts have done, the enrollment will continue to decline.


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My review is based on personal observations at this school, not hearsay. There is a lot that goes on at this school that is kept secret but would be very upsetting to most parents. Volunteer! Staff does not pay enough attention to the older students which can and does affect the younger children in a negative way. Certain "pet" students are allowed to disregard rules and uniform if it doesn't suit them. Administration is not adequately qualified to handle the numerous amount of students with psychological/behavioral problems. Front office women are moody, disrespectful, unprofessional. They "forget" to file important papers and quite often "lose" them, blaming parents or each other. They gossip about students and their families. They all lack the skills and personality to perform well here. The younger one is so bad that most people avoid her. Principal is nice but a poor leader. He doesn't know how to discipline his staff or guide them to be a part of a strong team. The school is not kept clean. The construction is shoddy and is in constant disrepair. Certain children may do okay here, but on the whole, most leave and go back to their local district or private school.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Great School, great academics, great teaching staff, my child is excited about going back next year. Love the uniforms, they save money and help to reduce distractions. This creates a better learning environment for the kids. This school listens to parents and makes improvements all the time. We couldn't be happier.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin
13415 North FM 620, Austin, TX  78717
(512) 284-9880
Last modified Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top