Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-11
Public charter
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 800
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a teacher
it is great school overall. I love dress code policy of the school. No bullying. It has great diversity; Asian, white, black, hispanic, middle eastern and european students even though 45% of the school white. The school is giving chromebooks to students so they can research and do projects. Of couse only educational websites are allowed. Most of the teachers are friendly. It is academic good too but they need to improve it more.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 4

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. It has very friendly and warm environment. I have two children at the school. We had a great year. Teachers are very nice and dedicated .They really care about children and try to give the best education possible for the students. The principal is very friendly and accessible to parent .Front office personal is very helpful. School is ethnically very diverse which I like. There are a lot of extracurricular activities at school. In general I am satisfied with HSPS


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is a terrible place for high school students. To say that this school prides itself on academic excellence, integrity, strict dress code policies and character building, it is very disturbing that this school would allow students who exhibit bad behavior, disrespectful, and bully type behavior to run rampant in the high school population. There are a group of girls who practically run the high school and have managed to run a lot of the good students away from this school. There has been several complaints brought to the administrators and nothing was resolved. There are a few teachers who have witnessed the bullying in their classrooms and did nothing to stop it. As a matter of fact, a few of the teachers sponsored ahigh school banquet and awarded the main students who cause trouble awards and accolades as if to put a stamp on bad behavior. These students are rejects from Round Rock ISD and Austin ISD where a few of them were expelled and can never return to those This is not a safe and positive environment to learn in on a daily basis. Until those students are kicked out like the other districts have done, the enrollment will continue to decline.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My review is based on personal observations at this school, not hearsay. There is a lot that goes on at this school that is kept secret but would be very upsetting to most parents. Volunteer! Staff does not pay enough attention to the older students which can and does affect the younger children in a negative way. Certain "pet" students are allowed to disregard rules and uniform if it doesn't suit them. Administration is not adequately qualified to handle the numerous amount of students with psychological/behavioral problems. Front office women are moody, disrespectful, unprofessional. They "forget" to file important papers and quite often "lose" them, blaming parents or each other. They gossip about students and their families. They all lack the skills and personality to perform well here. The younger one is so bad that most people avoid her. Principal is nice but a poor leader. He doesn't know how to discipline his staff or guide them to be a part of a strong team. The school is not kept clean. The construction is shoddy and is in constant disrepair. Certain children may do okay here, but on the whole, most leave and go back to their local district or private school.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Great School, great academics, great teaching staff, my child is excited about going back next year. Love the uniforms, they save money and help to reduce distractions. This creates a better learning environment for the kids. This school listens to parents and makes improvements all the time. We couldn't be happier.


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
My son can't wait to attend this school for his second year. He is happy and is being engaged academically. He has made huge leaps in reading and math due to the curriculum, teaching quality, and academic culture this school has.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a teacher
Teachers in this school are as a family and they try to do their best for all students.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is just plain horrible. It seems exciting when you first start here . But, you will be constantly disappointed here. Everything mentioned negatively in the ratings is true.


Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 4

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
I cannot be more please for having my three kids in the school. This is there second year. The teachers are committed and the school offers FREE tutoring when the students need it. The uniform has saved us lots of money and a way for students to all look the same no competition. Great discipline. No bullying. Also great preparation for STAAR. I highly recommend this school especially I have my an elementary, intermediate and high schooler all in one school.

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin 2

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
I have two boys one in 3rd grade one in 6th and this is a horrible school. Kids aren't allowed to wear pants without a belt and are stopped in the hall and given DPS points if they forget. This is done in right before school and so then they are tardy from waiting I'm line. They are not allowed to wear hoodies or jackets with hoods. No colored shoe laces. They are all confiscated until the end of the day. The teachers are all Muslim dressed which I wouldn't have a problem with except that the children aren't allow to wear hoods but they all have them around their heads. I have sent emails and called to try to complain all to no avail. You can't even walk through the hall as a parent with your child unless a teacher is present. You aren't allowed to walk through the school without a teacher present. They have these mini computers they call chrome books and teachers have assigned assignments but the school administration took all the sites a kiddos would look to search for information away without telling anyone. The kids were unable to complete their work. My boys have been here 2 years & will not attend next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin
13415 Fm 620 N, Austin, TX  78717
(512) 284-9880
Last modified Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin is a Charter school that serves grades K-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harmony School of Political Science and Communication - Austin Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top