Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lanier High School

Public | 9-12 | 1554 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

I graduated from Lanier in 2013. While I enjoyed extracurricular activities at this school, the education I received was sub par in comparison to other high schools in Austin. A student could excel academically at Lanier and get automatic acceptance to a University in Texas because of the top 10% rule and find themselves unprepared for the rigor of university classes. It happens far too often. Lanier needs to do a better job of preparing students for the future, instead of making sure they pass the standardized tests. On another note, teachers are deeply invested in their students' lives and care about their success. But there are many young teachers who are hired and leave Lanier once they grow as educators. As for the students, there are students who don't care, students who come from broken homes and shaky backgrounds. They are mainly minorities from lower income families. While nothing is defined by race, there is a negative connotation placed on Lanier because of the attendees. Basically, this school needs to be fixed. Replacing some of the administration would be a great starting point.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2009

I used to be a student at Lanier, I wasn't an A or B student, but I have learned alot. The teachers at this school are very caring and when it comes to problems they are always their to help mainly the counselors and principles.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

It was a great learning enviorenment, lots of oppurtunites for us less fortunate students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2008

I am a current student at Lanier and i am thrilled to be here. I transfered from Anderson High School just to go Lanier High School. Lanier offers a safe enviroment and dedicated teachers which is hard to find at other schools. Everyone is dedicated and teachers are really helpful. The coaches help you out also, we have very good athletes at our school. Now the TAKS scores have been low for a couple of years now, but were improving and the new students are dedicated. You should have seen the amount of people that got commended this year, it was almost half of the school, and the rest of them atleast passed. Many students try and they get rewarded for it. Every school has its good and bad students. I am proud to be a student at this school, and want to graduate from here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2006

Lanier is a good school, with hard working teachers. Its only fault being the overall quality of students at the school. AISD does not bus, therefore the population of Lanier is stuck in two molds. Low econmics and monoculturaly. IF AISD would push for diviristy it would be outstanding.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 3, 2006

My son, a senior @ Lanier has done exceptionally well academically. He has been accepted at UT & several other colleges. He has worked extremely hard to have achieved this. Along with Gear up & honors programs & AP classes.He also took the early start college classes. The teachers work very hard with the kids, but the kids have to be willing to do the work. Unfortunately a lot do not bother. Your child can do well @ Lanier if they really want to, if they do, you will find all the teachers more than willing to help them achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2005

Lanier has it's fair share of problems, but it also has it's good points. I graduated two sons from lanier. They both were in honors classes and they both played football. I think this helped them stay on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

It is a great school that is coming up good academically and now athletically!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2005

We have just moved to the Austin area and really studied the schools in the area. We were looking for a smaller school for the one on one with the teachers. We talked to the Coaches, Teachers and Principal. They are looking for the best in all the students. Lanier high school is trying so hard to make things so much easier to help all the kids in having as many activities at the school, like having the SAT tests at the school, being one of the schools to have free dual college credit classes, teachers recognising one of their students in a reception dinner and honoring the student for their achievments sponcered by State Farm. I could keep going. Everyone that works at this school wants the best for all their students. I am very happy with the everyone there. The tenyear is very impressive at this school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

I can only say, that I am thankful that Lanier is under new leadership/administration. I have seen this school go from a Blue Ribbon school to an academically unacceptable school in the past 5 years. My son graduated shortly after the school was deemed a Blue Ribbon school and now I have a duaghter attending the same school and it is not even acceptable academically! I love the fact that the school has a great diversity, I only hope that the new leadership can turn it back around to a Blue Ribbon school! It's sad that the previous principal was so concerned about what the students thought of him verious what the need! At this point I will not allow my youngest child to attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

Lanier is a great school. It has a great cultural diversity that is very unique. The principal is the best in Austin. He has a very special way of getting the students to respect him, but at the same time he can connect with his students in a very special way. He is respected and admired by most if not all of the students. I'm graduating this year and everything thanks to my teachers, counselors and staff that were always there helping me out. I think that Lanier has a great potential to become one of the best schools in Austin. Everything depends on the students and how hard they try to be the best. I love my school and I'm glad I go there because Lanier has impacted my life in a very positive way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2004

I think that the leadership is one of the strongest points at Lanier. The staff is caring and concerned for the students. The principal is the best in Austin. He will bend over backwards to help a student. I think that the staff tries to teach kids to respect themselves and others as well as teach them the curriculum set before them. The worst part about Lanier is the lack of parent involvement. It is a travesty. Parents want to blame teachers for their students actions when they need to look at themselves. Get involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

I think this school is ok. The classes are a bit overcrowded, but the school has so much diversity. I like the way there are all kinds of ethnicities there. I think the teachers can do better in teaching the students there more, rather than just handing out worksheets and letting them do them on their own. I am a student there right now, and I think one of the problems at this school is that the students are not getting into the classes they should be in. The counselors need some work. At the beginning of the school year, my schedule was so messed up and no one tried to help me get it right. I'm graduating this year, and I think if it wouldn't have been for myself looking up what classes I needed, I wouldn't be graduating. The school itself needs a bit more attention.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2004

I think lanier is an overall 'alright' school. The teachers could have better attitudes about teaching thier students. The school worries more about what the kids are wearing or what they are talking about on thier cell phones rather than what they are learning. That should be changed. Then they add new rules that are un-called for just because of a few students wrong doings. Then the principal acts fake when it comes to what other people think about the school rather than the students. Another mistake is that they try to provide more good looks for the school instead of better or enough supplies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2003

Lanier is a great school, I know this first hand. I saw the changes w/ my own eyes, during the years I studied there. It disappoints me to read the negative comments shared here. I can tell you this though; it takes everybody to make positive change. It takes faculty who truly care, who will inspire local involvement and share Lanier's proud history w/ the students that walk the halls today, it takes parents who will get involved and encourage their sons and daughters potential and ability to make change happen, and students who are not afraid to take ACTION and make change happen.


Posted September 26, 2003

During the years the school is in decay. There's more violence, drugs and gang activity on and in close proximity to the school. I don't know what the principal is doing about it, but his lack of leadership is taking its toll on the neighbors. Almost every day something bad happens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

I think Lanier is a great school.


Posted May 22, 2003

The principal is more concerned about what everyone thinks of the school than actually being involved with the students.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

445 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

264 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

251 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

252 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

252 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male87%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%

Science

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
24%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

425 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students67%
Female71%
Male64%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education29%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students74%
Female77%
Male70%
Black or African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education33%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African American81%
Asian88%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students46%
Female52%
Male40%
Black or African American49%
Asian14%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education20%
Not special education47%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted44%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students29%
Female33%
Male25%
Black or African American33%
Asian14%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special education0%
Not special education30%
Limited English proficient (LEP)6%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Gifted/talented87%
Non-Gifted27%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students66%
Female72%
Male59%
Black or African American60%
Asian47%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education44%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)41%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students34%
Female40%
Male27%
Black or African American23%
Asian13%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged23%
Special education17%
Not special education35%
Limited English proficient (LEP)12%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
Black or African American88%
Asian89%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education64%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students56%
Female54%
Male58%
Black or African American50%
Asian60%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education21%
Not special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students52%
Female46%
Male58%
Black or African American47%
Asian90%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Special education32%
Not special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted49%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 82% 52%
Black 9% 13%
White 4% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 29%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 13%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • KATHERINE RYAN
Fax number
  • (512) 832-1203

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Payton Gin Road
Austin, TX 78758
Phone: (512) 414-2514

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oakmont School
Austin, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT